We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Imperial Hotel | Jomo Kenyatta Highway, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
+254 57 2022661
Website
Today
10:30 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the old imperial hotel which has very old, dated furniture. The place could do with some livening up. The service staff were a bit confused at first but warmed up and gave us excellent service through out our meal. We ordered traditional/staple food to avoid disappointment- fish, ugali (maize meal) and local vegetables. The food was prepared well,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KenyanStarfish
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2016

Had dinner at the Victoria,tried their fresh water fish from lake victoria,was very fresh and well prepared,staff was very polite and at our beck and call all through out our dinner

Helpful?
Thank Senkumba E
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

My 30min stay at this place was not disappointing. Though I did not eat, my cold tusker was served with a lot of care and within time. Expect me back when I come to kisumu

Helpful?
Thank Calvins O
London,Kenya and all about
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dropped in on a Saturday evening,only 2 other tables occupied,waited 15 mins then went to the bar to get a drink before the waiter came rushing.Left to seek a place with more of a crowd to watch a WC game.Waiter informed me,wifi ws 100/- for 15 mins.Quite ludicrous in hospitality today.Thankfully Java has opened just down the road. Putting the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Byron78
Francois v, General Manager at Victoria Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Valued Patron Thank you for your review, I apologize if our services has not met your expectations. I can assure you this is not the standard Victoria Terrace is known for. I am going to take your valued comments and work with my team to ensure this does not happen again. Our Wi-Fi is for FREE with any meal... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

On the sports ground side of the Imperial Hotel in the centre of town, and not beside the lake as the name might suggest, is this very pleasent and proffessionally run bar & restuarant. There is a small pool which is situated in the cool shade of the hotel buildings with umbrellaed tables around it. The staff are very efficient... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
Francois v, General Manager at Victoria Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Mr Andrew Thank you for your valued feedback in regards to your experience at Victoria Terrace, we are glad you have enjoyed your experience and look forward to host you again soon. Kind Regards Francois van Wyk General Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you are looking for the coldest beers in Kisumu or a great Burger then this place is it ! They have a swimming pool as well for those warm days .

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas M
Francois v, General Manager at Victoria Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Mr Lucas Thank you for your valued feedback, we are pleased to hear you have enjoyed Victoria Terrace and looking forward to host you again soon. Kind Regards Francois van Wyk General Manager More 

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visited Kenya from South Africa and stayed in Kisumu, I really enjoyed every meal at Imperial Hotel, not only was the food excellent, but the presentation and service was very great. I really highly recommend a stay at the Imperial Hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rykie H
Francois v, General Manager at Victoria Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Rykie Thank you for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experience at Imperial Hotel & Victoria Terrace. Kind Regards Francois van Wyk General Manager More 

Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My son brought these chicken burgers from Imperial Hotel, takeaway. Firstly, the packing was great, well organized. Then the quantity was filling, we were really stuffed. This is a good option for a quick and large meal eat in or takeaway from the center of Kisumu. Price was OK, definitely our first choice next time! They also have a beef... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hsbirgi

Travellers who viewed Victoria Terrace also viewed

Kisumu, Nyanza Province
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 

Been to Victoria Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
African, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Reservations
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 22:30
Monday
10:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 22:30
Thursday
10:30 - 22:30
Friday
10:30 - 22:30
Saturday
10:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Imperial Hotel | Jomo Kenyatta Highway, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nyanza Province  >  Kisumu
  • Phone Number: +254 57 2022661

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Victoria Terrace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?