We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dead Fish

20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
+1 510-787-3323
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (18 reviews)
“crab” (90 reviews)
“seafood” (36 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is all over the board, some items are just NOT good, you need to get to know the menu and what is and isn't good. Nothing is fantastic that we've had except for ONE item (black squid ink linguini and clams). The atmosphere...More

Thank Glanz4
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the 4/5 rating, Glanz! We're happy you had a pleasant experience with us and appreciated our beautiful atmosphere. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with our dishes. We're disappointed we couldn't accommodate your needs and fix the problem. We hold ourselves to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a dinner here and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Highly recommend the place. Two had the crab burritos, one had the spicy shrimp and fettuccine. All were very pleased. Dessert was great too.More

Thank bullman63
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing the outstanding review, bullman63! It was a pleasure hosting you and providing you with a perfectly cooked meal. Serving our guests only the most exceptional cuisine is something we take very seriously and we couldn't be happier that you had such...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food....especially the crabs cakes and fish n chips! Great view! Friendly workers! The drive to Crockett is worth it!More

Thank Timothy M
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review, Timothy! We're happy your time with us was so wonderful! We care about our guests so we strive to offer the highest levels of service as well as fresh and delicious food. It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to this restaurant. It is conveniently located right off I-80. Parking is plentiful. Do not bring anything of value in your car since there are signs warning of break-ins. We were given our choice of seats. We chose a table...More

Thank Pansy K
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent rating, Pansy! We're so glad that you've enjoyed your time with us so much. It's wonderful to know that your interactions with our staff have been so positive. We strive to provide each guest with exceptional service and we're so...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017

We stopped for dinner at Dead Fish on a Friday night; it was busy but we got a table in the bar. The food was very good and we liked the atmosphere, reminiscent of a midwestern supper club from 40 yrs ago. However when we...More

Thank Janet L L
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

We are very concerned to read your review. A member of our team would like to speak with you further about your experience at our restaurant. Do you have a phone number or email address that a member of our team can reach you at...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Had the calamari steak Dore , I scarfed it down , the crab cakes were delicious! Their bread - YUM, that’s pretty much it. Service very good- nice to be back No pictures because like I said I scarfed my meal down!More

Thank Aneesa K
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for the review, Aneesa K! We're happy your time with us was so wonderful! We care about our guests so we strive to offer the highest levels of service as well as fresh and delicious food. It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Look outside for an expansive view of salt water, cliffs, and even sail boats, and enjoy the lively laughter if you're anywhere near the bar. We go several times a year mid-afternoon on Sundays. Many menu items are mediocre. Some rise above, like the crab...More

Thank DanK822
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for the fantastic rating, Dan! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

This was my first visit to The Dead Fish, and I certainly plan to go back, maybe for brunch next time. There was a huge crowd of people (make a reservation), and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the spectacular view without the...More

Thank Pamwiltravel
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for sharing, Pam! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us at The Dead Fish. We're so glad that you loved your meals and service. We aim to please our guests with our warm hospitality and delicious food,...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We didn’t have a reservation but sat at the bar which was great fun. Friendly attentive service. We had a beer and a wine and 2 crab chowders, perfect. Very popular place and we could see why.More

Thank Libran_Lovely
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for the excellent review! It's outstanding you had such an amazing experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our fresh and delicious dishes so much and that our team made you feel so welcome and assisted you in any way. We aim to...More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

By far my favorite place to dine. Great view, awesome service and the best crab. I try to visit at least 3 times a year. Never have had a bad experience. Best service I have ever had. Nothing bad to say about this place.More

Thank cindygianquento
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for the excellent review, cindygianquento! It's outstanding you had such an amazing experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our fresh and delicious dishes so much and that our team made you feel so welcome and assisted you in any way. We aim...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bull Valley Roadhouse
134 reviews
4.32 km away
The Nantucket
60 reviews
.33 km away
Ricky's Corner
6 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crockett Hills Regional Park
5 reviews
2.35 km away
Benicia State Recreation Area
65 reviews
3.90 km away
San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service
272 reviews
5.67 km away
Franklin Canyon Golf Course
5 reviews
5.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cynthiafong
22 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from KKLMinnesota | Reviewed this property |
I would Not recommend it! Too busy, too crowded! I would be surprised if it is allowed. I work at a restaurant , dogs are not allowed on the deck at all. We have a couple picnic tables down in the grass and if your dog is on... More
0
Votes
E4468HCjerryb
26 June 2015|
Answer
Response from GiantsFan23 | Reviewed this property |
I have never brought a bottle, but according to their menu, they do not charge a corkage fee. :)
0
Votes
Jan B
21 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Karen C | Reviewed this property |
Only service dogs, I believe. The "patio" is more like upscale cabana's although there are some tables and chairs, too.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
    (Pomona)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Crockett
  • Phone Number: +1 510-787-3323
Description
Enjoy spectacular views of the new Carquinez Bridge and serene San Pablo Bay while dining on the lushly planted patio with heated and cooled cabanas and twinkling lights. Unique weekend brunch with specialty cocktails. Specialties include 100% USDA Certified Prime, Prime Rib and whole Dungeness crab. Unique dining rooms for an intimate dinner or a large group. "We may have a funny name but we're dead serious about our food!!"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing