We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 28/07
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$55
CUISINES
Bar, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
118
102
77
39
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
118
102
77
39
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie lovely afternoon tea christmas dinner lovely venue wine list
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with teenager and five year old, plus grandparents for Sunday Lunch. Service friendly, professional, attentive - a grown up setting with a children’s menu and very family friendly. Food excellent with good variety of choice including inventive vegan dish. Will be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 2nights and are in the restaurant on Monday. Contrary to other reviews we found the staff friendly and helpful. The food was reason able priced and good. The burger was exceptionally and the linguine delightful. Breakfast was also good.The rooms are basic but...clean and comfortable. We will say againMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Francesco Bartolomei, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ianmann1, Thank you for your nice feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay and I hope to see you again at The Talbot. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei General Manager

Reviewed 23 June 2021

We booked for lunch..the meal was ok but the male waiter was very rude, odd and seemed completely untrained. When asked for another sachet of vinegar he said'what' and then threw it down on a plate at table.That was our 1st contact with him. He...never used a tray once .. not even to deliver cutlery to next table. Initially we were served by a nice waitress. He turned his back on us when one of us went up to ask for the bill after waiting for a long time to be asked if we would like another drink... we would have liked one.His service to other tables ( only 3!) was poor so latter part of our visit was distracting and disappointing.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Francesco Bartolomei, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear angeagu1, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not experienced our usual good service standards. I hope you can give us another change and that we can be able to welcome you again at The Talbot. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 11 June 2021

We were a group of walkers and were looking forward to our first pub lunch since lockdown. Two of us have to eat gluten free food. The menu was limited to the general lunchtime menu and the cooked chicken dish had a (gluten-containing) crumb crust....(She did offer me the dinner menu but my husband was on the lunch one so I felt I should comply, especially as the lady taking the order said they had gluten- free bread.) So I opted for a smoked salmon sandwich with salad. When it arrived I could see straight away that the bread looked hard and one bite confirmed it! It was unspeakably inedible - dry, hard and unyielding. Two others at my table tried it and agreed. I glanced round to another table and my (gluten-free) friend there, without any communication between us, had done exactly the same as I had and left her bread too. By this time all waiting staff had disappeared and there was no opportunity for recompense. At the end when a waitress cleared the plates I told her how inedible their GF bread was. She barely apologised but said it was the bread they always served and no one had ever complained before. I am a member of the Coeliac Society so I know there are better breads made by Schar or Juvela (although Juvela is for people who can get their GF food on prescription which most people in Surrey can't, but is available in big Tescos) . GF bread can also be toasted making it quite a bit more palatable; given this option, I would happily have chosen it. What a pity that a county pub in a beautiful village with a delightful ambience should be so unaware of/ disinterested in customer satisfaction.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Francesco Bartolomei, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Jill M, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the gluten free bread was not to your taste. We are looking to improve our gluten free bread offer, although we have a great variety of dishes that are not containing...More

Reviewed 17 May 2021

We went for a lunch here after lockdown when we could sit inside but it was fairly disappointing. For a start it was freezing inside as the doors and windows were open and the heating wasn’t on so it was quite uncomfortable. The food was...average. We went because we hoped for something more interesting than a pub but the food was very bland. The vegetarian menu was boring and unseasoned, obviously covered in pesto as all uninteresting vegetarian food seems to be at the moment. The steak my husband ordered was ok but the accompanying veg was poor quality and £23 for a steak is a lot considering it wasn’t great. We hoped it was going to be a bit special judging from the website which looks great but in reality it was just a pub and perhaps our expectations were off but I wouldn’t return based on what I experienced today.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Francesco Bartolomei, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear 855GemmaD, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your meal was not to your expectations and I am sorry that you did not mentioned anything on the day, we could rectify your meals. We could have also moved you to...More

Reviewed 4 April 2021

On the eve of my recent marriage, we booked accommodation for a family member here in October last. So, the three of us met up for a meal in the restaurant on the night before the big day. All three of us were very pleased...with what we had. We all had three courses off the a la carte menu; I had the sirloin steak and it was very good. A good bottle of wine was also consumed! As I live in Ripley, as soon as lockdown ends, I think we will definitely give this restaurant another visit. Recommended!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Francesco Bartolomei, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear kenc, Thank you for your nice feedback. I am happy to hear that you had enjoyed your meal and I hope to see you again after we reopen on the 17th May. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for 2 at what appeared to be a lovely looking restaurant. However upon arrival, we told waitress our reservation name, at which point she took the menu then walked off forgetting to say welcome or follow me.... so we stood there waiting...not knowing what to do (assumed she was checking table out etc) but no she just said here. The waitress was a lady with long blonde hair with an accent, whom clearly decided that wearing a mask either under her chin or underneath her nose was perfectly acceptable in COVID times, and whilst serving and talking to us. I did not raise this with her as I didn’t want to cause a seen in public. Her colleague managed to wear her face mask appropriately all evening but she definitely had an attitude of I can’t be bothered. Her waitressing skills definitely let this restaurant down. Not only was the mask a problem but she felt it suitable to answer a colleague by shouting the answer to her whilst standing right next to me (twice!). She then proceeded to ask us if everything was alright whilst clearing another table and also informed us it was last orders whilst clearing someone else’s table as opposed to coming up to us to check personally if we’d like anything else. This waitress definitely needs more training. The meal itself was ok but I will definitely not be attending again even if it we were offered a free meal. Do not waste your money coming here. The service was appalling and the food alright.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Manager_TheTalbot, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear MRawling, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced our usual high standards, I have addressed your comments to the staff and she apologize about it. We are always following the COVID rules and all our guests...More

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Had an afternoon tea voucher for my birthday. The restaurant were brilliant at extending it for me no questions asked as I couldn't use it before its original expiry date which was in lockdown/covid. Live locally and never visited before, setting was lovely and they...have coped well with the social distancing. Food was quick and looked lovely although a bit disappointed there was only 3 finger sandwiches each and no choice of fillings. Scones were nice and plenty of jam and cream which was great. Cakes were delicious, banana cake was, lovely and lemon drizzle so moist. Overall it was nice but glad I had a voucher and hadn't paid for it myself as might have been a little disappointed.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Manager_TheTalbot, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear caz79surrey, Thank you for your nice feedback. I am really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your afternoon tea, I have passed you comments to the team. I hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei General Manager

Reviewed 21 October 2020

I was a little apprehensive about travelling and staying in a hotel during these weird times. I planned a 2 night stay at The Talbot to fit in with a flying visit down to Sussex to see my parents. I need not have worried about...cleanliness. Upon arrival there was sanitiser everywhere and the room was spotlessly clean. Saturday night dinner was a little nerve wracking as Londoners had taken the opportunity to escape Tier 2 restrictions to visit Surrey and the restaurant was filled to capacity. Tables were safely spaced by we personally felt a little anxious. The staff however were attentive and lovely! We had a really pleasant evening meal on Sunday and a hearty Monday breakfast; by which time the hotel had quietened down considerably. The beautiful Autumn weather and our trip to RHS Wisley before driving home finished off a wonderful weekend. Its a tricky time for us all at the moment but the Talbot staff are doing their best to keep their guests safe! Thank you Pete and KerryMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Manager_TheTalbot, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Dear Pete & Kerry, Thank you fore your nice feedback. I am really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and meals. I hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei General Manager

Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

A very nice dinner, calm ambiance. Spacious tables with safe distance in between. Tasty food - all dishes were good- specifically the grilled hallumi and beatroot salads , the Seabass fillet and the baked Jerusalem artichokes and the chocolate brownie . Very fast and courteous...service . Good value. Convenient parking. Very good Covid-19 hygiene practices.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Manager_TheTalbot, General Manager at The Talbot Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2020

Dear 361oris, Thank you for your nice feedback. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your meal and service and we are hoping to see you again. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Woking Central
605 reviews
5.02 km away
Hilton Cobham
2,062 reviews
5.05 km away
Woking Hotel
120 reviews
5.10 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
976 reviews
5.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Jovial Sailor Public House
338 reviews
1.60 km away
The Clock House
739 reviews
.26 km away
Pinnock's Coffee House
548 reviews
.34 km away
Toby Cottage
503 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cellar Wines
33 reviews
.06 km away
Ripley Green
17 reviews
.39 km away
Papercourt Lake
17 reviews
1.53 km away
Newark Priory
23 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joseph k
17 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Francesco B | Property representative |
Hi Joseph K We have the iron and ironing board in every bedroom but not a pressing service. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei
0
Votes
Daniel J
5 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Francesco B | Property representative |
Dear Daniel J, Yes we do sell by the bottle. On draught we sell Aspall. Kind regards Francesco Bartolomei General Manager
0
Votes
cjbviolin
21 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Francesco B | Property representative |
Hi, Breakfast on Christmas Day is from 8am to 10am.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Talbot Inn Restaurant

The Talbot Inn Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5