We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Astley Arms

$
Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Marine View, Seaton Sluice NE26 4JX, England
+44 191 237 0057
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beef,gammon,turkey,fish take your pick and add as many vegetables and accompaniments as you desire. I always opt for the saver size plate as I have no self control ! Carrots,cauliflower.peas,swede,stuffing,roasties,mashed potatoes,onion gravy,mushy peas etc etc. Staff are lovely, I mentioned that the serving spoon handles were quite warm and immediately they were changed( not that I was complaining). Decor desperately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to the Astley and enjoy the food and service thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have eaten at the pub on a few occasions now and i find that the food and drink is reasonably priced. The carvery runs 7 days per week and on all the days that i have been it seems to be well organised and there's a good selection of Meat and Vegetables. The pub has a pleasant family friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlecCanwell
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The all you can eat breakfast buffet is very good value. After a long walk, It's hard to fault, fill up on bacon, sausages, fried eggs etc, as much tea or coffee, plus toast and jam for pud, a once in a while treat for sure. The Sunday carvery is all top value, go for a bit of each meat,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David F
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for you great feedback hope to see you soon More 

Choppington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice handy place to visit. Plenty of room. Always made to feel welcome. Very good choice in the carvery, Choice of Beef, Gammon or Turkey as well as sausages or fish. If anyone wishes to they can also have a meat free meal.. As a pensioner with a good appetite the prices are excellent. When finished meal, staff quickly clear... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandy75
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we will look forward to welcoming you again very soon More 

Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Went with the family for our Sunday Lunch as there was a carvery meal on offer. They had 3 meats on offer and you could have a "slice" of each if wanted. Along with roast and mashed potatoes there was a fine selection of vegetables on offer. At £7.70 and kids charged £1 it was excellent value. If you didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Very happy to hear you enjoyed it hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Visited for tea tonight and can't explain our disappointment. Food had clearly sat there all day , everything dry and stale . Turkey was inedible it was so dry . Frozen Yorkshire puddings . I wish I had a took photos - worst meal we have had in a long long time Real shame this place has gone down hill.

Helpful?
3 Thank lucylou3333
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback I will pass this on to the kitchen staff who will be sorry to hear this as I am. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We always go to a Crown Carvery if there is one in the area. My husband had a voucher to spend for his birthday, so really enjoyed the experience. Only downfall is the ice cream maker noise.

Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit hope you had a great birthday More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Have dined here quite a few times.My wife had the chicken,its huge.I had the steak pie.Although the pastry a bit thick and not mutch meat.It was ok.The veg loverly and a good choice.the cauli cheese fantastic.the staff ever cheerfull.The place is spotless.it's legend

Helpful?
Thank coolertraveler
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit hope to see you again soon More 

newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

we used to regularly meet up as a family and eat here. We have enjoyed a few Christmas lunches here and it has always been lovely and friendly. However now the management has changed the atmosphere and service are just not there. There is a very loud person behind the bar that we could hear all the way through our... More 

Helpful?
Thank amanda c
Newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Been here many times now as the carvery is always good, and well worth the 4.49 you pay, went today and it was absolutely outstanding. Food all fresh and hot, friendly staff and a great atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank Alix W

Travellers who viewed Astley Arms also viewed

Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Astley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$6
Cuisine
Bar, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine View, Seaton Sluice NE26 4JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Seaton Sluice
  • Phone Number: +44 191 237 0057
Description
Unlimited breakfast served from 08:00am to 11:30 each day including bank holidays (excluding Christmas Day) Carvery is served each day between the hours of 11:30am until 21:30 (Prepaid bookings on Christmas Day) Childeren Under 10 eat free every Sunday and bank holiday Mondays one child per full paying Adult.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Astley Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Sunderland, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Astley Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?