We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
+44 1622 738365
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (25 reviews)
“lamb kofta” (11 reviews)
“roast dinner” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Booked a meal for my immediate family to celebrate my wife's birthday last night. I had heard some good feedback on The White Horse, so was looking forward to our evening. Massively disappointing from the off. Bar very packed ( no issue there), but floor...More

1  Thank jd3032001
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have had such a negative experience with us and I will ensure we action any points we can that you raise in your review. I am working hard with my new team to ensure we are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were friendly and helpful, food was very nice - I had the buttermilk fried chicken stuffed with njuda sausage and my partner the battered halloumi. Partner liked the decent veggie options. Bill was very reasonable considering we both had three courses and coffees.More

Thank BRJ82
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you have enjoyed what we have to offer. I will make sure we continue to provide the best service and food we can. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit us again we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful food, beautiful decor, lovely staff. Great for our first date and first valentines! But also would be perfect for many other occasions. Would definitely recommend and definitely be going back

Thank _toz_br_
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback, We look forward to seeing you again! Many Thanks Emma Wheeler Assistant Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are looking for good quality food, then don’t go to the White Horse. The starters were not as per the menu, when we questioned this we were told the chef had said what we had ordered was not as per their menu in...More

2  Thank TravelfanKent
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. I will be making sure your comments are passed onto the kitchen. I can only apologise that you didnt have the best of experiences but I do appreciate the kind words said about the waitress. Many Thanks Emma Wheeler Assistant...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve been to The White Horse several times over the course of the last few months, twice with family and a couple of times with friends. The food is good and the location on the green is beautiful. However, the service here is consistently slow...More

Thank louisaalice92
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, we are currently undoing staff changes in the business and working on improving so this will be fed back to the team. Hope you will give ua another chance to show our improvements in the near furture. Many Thanks Emma...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were given a menu that headlines the 2 or 3 course options and price in bold The options for the fixed price menu are clearly written However the fact it’s not available at weekends is not. When seated this was not mentioned...More

1  Thank Aly T
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have left with this experience and I will raise your points regarding the offer being clearer at the top of the menu, also I will make sure I remind the entire team of when this offer...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was the first time we had been here and if I'm honest I won't be rushing back. The cocktails we had were just full of ice and tasted very watery from the start and they weren't cheap either! The food was ok but nothing...More

1  Thank Elaine K
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your visit with us was a disappointing one. Having recently taken over I am working hard with my new team to train and develop. Feedback like this is invaluable as I am able to share with them...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family on Saturday evening. The menu has a good choice and in the main meal fairly good, but let itself down with some dishes. We ordered a salad with Avocado and they forgot to add the Avo, one of the main ingredients. The...More

Thank PaulFromCambs
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed regarding some of the points you have raised in your review and I will be speaking to the members of my team to ensure our attention to detail is reviewed. I am sorry you have had these...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic meal at the white horse, one of our favourite restaurants! We've been on several occasions and often travel an hour out to visit the restaurant. Friendly service, fantastic food. Please pop in if your in the area!!More

1  Thank DWReviews17
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your 5* rating and review. I am delighted to read this is one of your favourite restaurants. As a team we are working hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their visit with us and it will continue to motivate...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here with 4 friends for lunch. It seems quite expensive for what it is. I had fish cakes, but doesn't come with chips or potatoes. I am not a big eater either. Fortunately the rest of the group had chips so I had some...More

Thank angie60Kent
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I will take all your comments on board and share them with the team. It is important to us all that we listen to our guest feedback and move the business in the right direction. I will make sure the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bearsted Hotels
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
961 reviews
1.04 km away
The Black Horse Inn
614 reviews
1.97 km away
Days Inn Maidstone
193 reviews
2.57 km away
Hilton Maidstone
1,737 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fish on the Green
836 reviews
.18 km away
The Oak on the Green
1,645 reviews
.18 km away
The Bell Inn
228 reviews
.81 km away
The Rose Inn & Delhi Spice
228 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bell Inn
35 reviews
.79 km away
The White Horse
40 reviews
.02 km away
Bearsted Golf Club
12 reviews
.29 km away
Tudor Park Spa
57 reviews
.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ella C
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LJGP | Reviewed this property |
Yes but not in the eating area
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone  >  Bearsted
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 738365
  • E-mail
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The White Horse - Maidstone serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing