We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
331 1st Ave N, 331 1st Avenue North, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
904-241-2005
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sat 11:00 - 14:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

They have served good New England seafood, shipped in fresh from the Northeast. They have changed their menu not serving fried clams due to the cost. Now they are specializing on Maine lobster rolls.

Helpful?
Thank yanks1bucs
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016

Their lobster roll is definitely the closest thing I can find to New England cuisine in the Southeast. Absolutely delicious! It is a little expensive for a lunch, but it is worth it. It is very close to public beach access with indoor and outdoor seating. Make sure to check out their take-home meals that can be heated up in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2016

My husband & I recently visited for lunch. They used to be closed on Wednesday but have new hours. My only disappointment was a small menu change which removed clam strips from the menu. They do have other choices. I grew up in Cape Cod so I enjoyed the Lobstah Roll ( Lobster Roll for southerners!) My husband had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJmglS
chefjen46, Owner at A La Carte, responded to this review

Oh I am so glad you felt comfortable in my cozy cottage. You mentioned that we were expensive but we are the lease expensive in town for real Maine lobster rolls and it's all Maine lobster without any filler, $18.95 and the clam chowder 8 oz cup $4.95 and the Lobster Bisque $6.25 and the crab cake sandwich is all... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016

I went there last year just for the lobster roll, which shouldn't be so hard to find here, but sadly, is. I don't know what I was thinking not asking what kind it was ahead of time. I'd been drooling about a hot lobster roll simply done in butter on a toasty roll, so when this cold mayo based roll... More 

Helpful?
Thank hungarikee
chefjen46, Owner at A La Carte, responded to this review

Hi there I am the owner\chef and first I want to thank you. For coming in and trying us out. We ship our Maine lobster in from up north via FedEx,so you can understand the cost factor shipping in real Maine lobster for our Maine lobster rolls. We don't use Florida lobster for our rolls. Everyone has their own way... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2016

I love this place. It is a little "quirky" but the food is awesome. The lobster roll is my favorite.

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelLover99
Seekonk, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

Owner short order cook rude, yelled at us because we completed about the bad fish sandwich was dry and tasted old. Told us to leave and not come back. Would not give us something different unless we paid for it. No wonder everyone was complaining. No fried clams because chef retired, maybe I'd quit if she was as bad to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Victor F
chefjen46, Owner at A La Carte, responded to this review

I am so tired of telling people we no longer serving and fried items on our menu. We stopped serving all fried clams, haddock, shrimp, French fries. Please everyone get over it. Do not come to La Carte if you think you will get them. It's all explained on our Bio on trip advisor. This person who is complaining WAS... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2015

They should just close since she ran off Chef Roger as she is not a Chef or even a decent cook, she is a shoemaker at best.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanspencer2013
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2015

In terms of taste, the lobster roll was delicious! However, I can only give 4 stars because I was disappointed in the size of it. In comparison to a lobster roll that you'd get in Cape Cod or Maine, it was quite small for the price. With that said, I do understand that those places up north probably get their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

I discovered this quaint restaurant by a friend's recommendation. I ordered the Lobster bisque and Lobster roll... Absolutely found deliciousness here.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
RH, Ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

Very pricy. Had a chicken salad sandwich, lobster roll and 2 drinks for $37. Food was good. Smallest lobster roll we had ever seen. Personnel were nice, but won't be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank eda31324
chefjen46, Owner at A La Carte, responded to this review

So sorry you were disappointed with our Lobster Roll and the price. Our prices are priced accordingly with what I have to pay for the Maine lobster, shipping Fed Ex fresh to my door overnight. All my other regular customers are raving over the Lobster Roll we are serving. If you haven't read articles lately lobster meat has gone up... More 

Travellers who viewed A La Carte also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to A La Carte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Cuisine
American, Soups, Seafood
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
Saturday
11:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 331 1st Ave N, 331 1st Avenue North, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Jacksonville Beach
  • Phone Number: 904-241-2005
Description
Quaint New England style cottage serving the Award Winning New England Clam Chowder, Maine Lobster Bisque and other daily soups. The popular authentic Maine Lobster Roll on Split Top Bun or Salad Plate, Lump Cake Sandwich or Salad Plate, 6-21ct Boiled Shrimp tossed in lite tarragon sauce served in Split Top Bun or Salad Plate, Cranberry Chicken or Tarragon Chicken Salad Sandwich or Salad Plate. Shrimp Louie Salad Plate, BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich. Baked Haddock Fish with a Lemon Basil Sauce Sandwich or Salad Plate. Marinated Flank Steak Sandwich with Boursin Cheese & Sweet Grilled Onions, Jumbo Grilled Hot Dog. Gluten Free Options Available. A La Carte is a classic Boutique seaside Beach cottage offering quaint seating inside and limited outdoor seating. Within the Boutique Shop A La Carte also offers Gourmet Dinners To Go in the Shop Freezers and a fine Needlepoint Shop"Jennifer's Needlepoint Nook" carrying Hand-painted canvases, silk&ivory yarn, patarnayan Persian Wool yarn ,Brown Sheep wool yarn, DMC Threads. Plus we have our own in house needlepoint finisher. A La Carte originally established in 1993, is the Best! Catering Event Design Business offering Quality Custom Menu's for your Social Cocktail parties, Receptions, Dinner Parties. We hope you come visit A La Carte and enjoy The delicious food, great atmosphere listening to soft classical music and dine inside at out checkered cloth tables or outside on the deck. Chef/Owner Jennifer Lobrano and Server Margie welcomes all to visit and enjoy.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of A La Carte and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from A La Carte staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?