We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roost Cafe and Bistro

262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
+1 207-646-9898
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (46 reviews)
“cuban pork” (24 reviews)
“flan” (11 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

This is about our fifth or sixth time dining here, we return because the food is excellent and it's celiac friendly for my daughter. HOWEVER, I noticed some of the negative reviews and I think it depends on perspective. Do not come here if you...More

Thank TLH61293
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate your support and fondness for Roost. thanks for writing. Have a great Christmas, Rob and Aldo

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate lunch here on a Sunday afternoon a few weeks ago. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. But from that point on.....service was horrible!! It took about 20 mins for someone to even acknowledge our table. The server said there was a...More

Thank travel46081
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello travel46081, our sincere apologies for this experience at Roost. This is not our usual service as you pointed out that you have had otherwise a good experience with us. We hope that our "off day" will not be a reason, not to return and...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant because my daughter is Vegan & gluten free & they advertised some options. We phoned ahead & were reassured that they could accommodate the dietary requirements. They went beyond our expectations. The chef prepared a special entree for my daughter...More

Thank SJWeston
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I have eaten wonderful meals at The Roost and at this last visit it was mediocre at best. It was also expensive when one considers the quality of the food. Maybe it was because I ate in the bar and not the restaurant. I hope...More

Thank fr0gbaby
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Morning frugbaby, I am disheartened by the lack on consistency on our part. There is absolutely no reason why an appetizer should be over fried and a meal goes out cold. We appreciate the feedback as this is something that never is good. We...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

There were four of us and we all enjoyed our meats from fish to brasied Short ribs. Services was good and dinning was comfortable.

Thank dpm194901
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you dpm194901. Your comments are much appreciated and we are very glad that you and your dining guests enjoyed your experience at Roost. Thank you once again, Rob Pinkham

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Six of us ate here last October 2016 and we really enjoyed it. We made reservations for this year again and it was terrible. They were not crowded, had a small party in the back room, but we waited an hour to finally order lunch....More

Thank Ira K
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Want to have a nice meal but don't want to dress up? This is the place. The food is outstanding the service is wonderful and you can go in jeans/shorts, you'll fit in either way. I love their Tortilla Stack, I have try many items...More

Thank chingle63
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you chingle63. Your comments are very much appreciated. So glad you enjoy the food, service and atmosphere. You nailed it... come in for a fantastic meal, but leave the "dressing up" for another time. We are in a beach resort area, right? Thanks again,...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Very calming, good service, and great food. The only thing is that they had HIGHLY endangered or farmed fish selections. :0(

Thank ColoradoLysh
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Roost has been a favorite of mine for years. For the last two years, my fiancé and I make it a dinner stop on our Fall trip to OGT. We had a reservation & we were immediately seated. That was the end of our good...More

2  Thank Cgina23
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stopped here for breakfast as a 3rd choice (first 2 had a long wait) and quickly found a table. The blueberry and buttermilk pancakes were served nice and hot -- right off the griddle. However, they were not "light" but "heavier' than we prefer;...More

Thank Jim W
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lobster Shack
876 reviews
.72 km away
That Place
643 reviews
.26 km away
Cove Cafe
329 reviews
.39 km away
Jonathan's Restaurant
772 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marginal Way
4,303 reviews
.65 km away
Ogunquit Playhouse
869 reviews
.37 km away
Perkins Cove
1,976 reviews
.69 km away
Ogunquit Museum of American Art
379 reviews
.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Matt M
Dear Mr. Pinkham: I'm not sure how you can say "all the other reviews," if you take the "poor" and "terrible" reviews equal about 20% of the reviews posted. Another 20% defined it as average. We appreciate getting good food for a good value for our money. It seems that was not apparent for us and others. I may indeed be incorrect on the seating numbers, but July Fourth weekend, one would think that :excess" space would be in demand. I do not wish to get into a pissing match here. I try to be as forthright as possible with my reviews. If a place excels, I will post it as such, even noting minor missteps. But if a place is deserving of poor marks, I will post that too. Yes, it is subjective, but I've eaten in some awesome low and high end places, and I've eaten in some horrible high end and low end places. Please accept my and the other less than wonderful reviews as constructive criticism and use it for the betterment of your establishment. I hope you succeed in that task.
19 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AldoandRob | Property representative |
Dear Sir, I get all what you say.And we do, listen to all the reviews, regardless of the # of stars given. And we do meet and take away a bit of humility when we make mistakes, but use the review to improve. I do believe... More
0
Votes
Di30
8 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Henry D | Reviewed this property |
I am an occasional visitor, so I am not able to answer. Try contacting them through their web site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Ninety Eight Provence)
    (Ledge Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Ogunquit
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-9898
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and welcoming Cafe and Bistro where our philosophy is hand-crafted, a la minute entrees and appetizers that are exquisite, yet affordable. We pride ourselves on classical cooking techniques with contemporary flavors and creations that are perfect for a bistro. Our Summer hours are as follows: Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch: 8 am - 2 pm Pub Fare: 2 pm - 9 pm Dinner: 5 pm - 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing