We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Not Your Average Joe's

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
61 State Rd, Dartmouth, MA 02747-2919
+1 508-992-5637
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 21:00
Mon - Tue 11:00 - 21:00
Wed - Thu 11:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hadn't visited NYAJ's in about 10 years and was treated to a lovely meal. Especially delicious was the tuna wonton appetizer and the shrimp fettuccine dinner. Service was particularly superb by our waitress. I certainly will not wait another decade to eat there again. In fact, I may plan a visit again very soon.

Helpful?
Thank NobodyMan
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not Your Average Joe's original location is a great spot for good food. Pizza or entree, all the food is terrific. Often crowded so go early.

Helpful?
Thank smpfen
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent. There were 8 of us and 1 child. Service was excellent!! Good delicious! Had salmon.Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Muriel H
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had Christmas lunch with my sister & as always service & food was outstanding. Always greeted by a pleasant hostess & would recommend Joe's to anyone who is trying Joe's for the first time. They surely won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once you enter the door, you are greeted warmly.....even if there is a wait, it always seems to go fast. If you don't have time to wait, you can call ahead and reserve a table for your party. Have done that several times and always with a wonderful result ...can be for 2 people or more. The servers greet you... More 

Helpful?
Thank beautifulsky4
Not Your Averag... J, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for this wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the food and the service when you have stopped in to see us. I hope that we'll see you again real soon. Happy Holidays, Jimmie More 

Pleasant Grove, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

We typically don't like chains, but this is the original store. The staff was friendly and the manager came to our table to check on things. The food was great and the servings were over the top. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
NYAJoes, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Thanks Stacy! We don't like to think of ourselves as a chain and I am glad you don't either. Come on back and see us soon. Jimmie More 

Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Season special is Harvest Mac & Cheese. It is a very good mac & cheese with mushroom, spinach, squash mixed in. $15.99 is a little steep for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Deb873
NYAJoes, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Harvest Mac & Cheese but it sounds like you got the version without chicken. That should have been less expensive if that was the case. If so, please contact me at guestrelations@nyajoes.com and i'll try to make things right for you. Jimmie More 

Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

NYAJ is my favorite place to bring clients & colleagues. Service is premium; the fare tempts your adventurous side and never disappoints. My favorite dish is the Chicken Oscar - not on the menu anymore but they will make it anytime I ask. That alone makes me feel like a VIP.

Helpful?
Thank Shelbel711
NYAJoes, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Hello - I am so pleased to hear that we keep you coming back and I appreciate the fact that you bring friends and family with you. I know that we'll always do everything possible to make you feel like a VIP, so come on back real soon. Jimmie More 

Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
193 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

The first Joe's we ever visited, and have been back many times over the years. Smaller than most, but food is always fine and quality is consistent. Very friendly staff and good for families.

Helpful?
Thank Don C
NYAJoes, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Hello Don, I am pleased that we keep you coming back to our Dartmouth location. It was our first and has been going strong since 1994. The reasons you gave explain why! See you again real soon. Jimmie More 

Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We always enjoy a visit to "Not Your Average Joe's" in Dartmouth. Our server today, Samantha, was pleasant and informative. To start the meal, the bread and dipping sauce are always a favorite!! My husband then enjoyed a seasonal barbecue platter consisting of such items as seasoned ribs, a scoop of barbecue chicken salad, a slice of barbecued meatloaf, cucumber... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan1177
NYAJoes, Guest Relations Manager at Not Your Average Joe's, responded to this review

Hello - So glad you enjoyed our special Summer BBQ menu and had such great service to boot. I will be sharing your praises with Samantha's General Manager so that he can recognize her for a job well done. Come on back and see us again real soon! Jimmie More 

Travellers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 
North Dartmouth, MA
Dartmouth, MA
 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$21 - US$30
Cuisine
American, Pizza
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:30
Saturday
11:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 State Rd, Dartmouth, MA 02747-2919
  • Public Transportation: Local stops along the RT 6 bus line.
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 508-992-5637
Description
What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Not Your Average Joe's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?