We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chop House - Grand Rapids

190 Monroe Ave NW, Ste 410, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2619
+1 888-456-3463
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good18%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“filet” (33 reviews)
“cowboy steak” (10 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
190 Monroe Ave NW, Ste 410, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2619
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We enjoyed the dinner and we both liked our steak. It was a relaxing and awesome birthday dinner. The atmosphere has a touch of class without us feeling that we need to dress up in a three piece suit. I cant remember our waiter's name...More

Thank Tony R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant may be between the top places for dinner in Grand Rapids. Steaks was expected and nice beer. ... but that's all. Do not expect any real excitement.

Thank svtrip188057
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A group of twelve of us dined here on a Saturday night. We were seated in the basement dining area which was a neat setting for a large group. The waitress gave the impression of not being very experienced but was pleasant overall. For dinner...More

Thank mtdk316
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This was my first time at the Chop House and they did not disappoint! The service was amazing from the moment we stepped in the door. Our dinner was cooked to perfection and of great portion. The manager stopped by our table to make sure...More

Thank HWILLIAMS2701
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for the great review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Chop House. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Lisa Hunt Guest Services Head Supervisor Mainstreet Ventures Inc. lisa@msventures.net (888)456-3463

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Came here for my birthday, specifically for the 50% off special. The appetizers were great. Had lamb chop lollipops and lobster bites. I wish we had just ate appetizers! Entrees were scallops which were some of the best I've ever had and beef wellington. I...More

Thank shaleciabrown
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at The Chop House. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Harry Johnson, and we would really like to speak with you personally. If possible, please contact Harry...More

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Great steaks - yes. Wine - excellent list, with a good smattering top to bottom in most categories. Very good service - of course, as you should expect that at these prices. Sadly, the place with by far the best calamari in town had no...More

Thank Russ H
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello, Thank you for the great review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Chop House. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Lisa Hunt Guest Services Head Supervisor Mainstreet Ventures Inc. lisa@msventures.net (888)456-3463

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had a nice dinner at the Chop House. Steaks were good. Corn dish was very tasty. Augratin potatoes were a bit bland. The wait staff was very informed and attentive. The side dishes are served family style and I feel they are very overpriced....More

Thank MRB0204
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello, Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at The Chop House. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Harry Johnson, and we would really like to speak with you personally....More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

The Chop House makes a big deal about presentation--e.g. all entrees are served at the same time, with a voila, by multiple staff. However, my steak was just okay, which wasn't a good value considering the price. Sides are served family style. SO expensive; won't...More

Thank jamom49506
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Came here on the suggestion of a local friend who raved about the food. Walked away unimpressed. The food was average - nothing except the dessert, a creme brûlée cheesecake, exceeded my expectation. Started the evening at the bar where I enjoyed a nicely prepared,...More

Thank Mark C
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at The Chop House. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Harry Johnson, and we would really like to speak with you personally. If possible, please contact Harry...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

An upscale restaurant that doesn't know what a purse caddy/hanger is. The waiters solution was to check the purse in the coat room. Lol. A weak start. The Ahi Tuna and lamb chop lollipop appetizers were spectacular. Quality of the lobster appetizer was below average...More

Thank Drgole
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House - Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at The Chop House. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Harry Johnson, and we would really like to speak with you personally. If possible, please contact Harry...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sundance Grill Downtown
200 reviews
.18 km away
Ruth's Chris Steak House
274 reviews
.01 km away
Cygnus27
150 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Side Bar
6 reviews
.30 km away
Art Prize
465 reviews
.11 km away
Gerald R. Ford Museum
828 reviews
.41 km away
Grand Rapids Public Museum
530 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
IndianaNana
8 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MSVRestaurants | Property representative |
Hello, We do offer gluten free options. Please call the restaurant directly at (616) 451-6184, to speak with a manager about which gluten free options that we offer. Thank you! Best Regards, Lisa Hunt Guest Services Head... More
0
Votes
Jason L
15 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MSVRestaurants | Property representative |
Hello, Yes, we do have a $25.00 corkage fee. You are able to bring in 1 bottle per 2 guests of drinking age. The wine cannot be on our restaurants wine list. Please let us know if you have any other questions. Best... More
0
Votes
formerbarista
16 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DC5Star | Reviewed this property |
I do not have a copy of the dessert menu, but it had a great variety and all in my party thought they were delicious.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$80
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 190 Monroe Ave NW, Ste 410, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2619
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Kent County  >  Grand Rapids
  • Phone Number: +1 888-456-3463
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing