We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Roma's Back Door

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
200 E Comstock St, Owosso, MI 48867-3102
+1 989-725-5767
Today
11:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 21:30
Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Roma's has been in Owosso since, at least, 1970. The owners are very proud about everything, especially the service! Salad Bar

Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Roma's used to be one of the premier restaurants in Owosso. But based on the menu we saw they are pricing them selves out of our dining price range. We stopped on a Friday evening and the restaurant was busy but not packed. Our server was prompt and friendly however the shirts the staff is wearing is getting old. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Way to over priced for what it's worth. Salad bar is small with the worst bagged salad. Garlic bread with cheese has slices of cheese on it... Nice building

Helpful?
Thank Miranda M
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
296 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The Italian themed salad bar was just OK. The spicy black bean wrap came barely warm. The water was cold! Only our second visit here, not recommending it.

Helpful?
Thank Dayzdx8
John O, Owner at Roma's Back Door, responded to this review

Hello, It is disheartening to hear that you have a negative outlook on our restaurant. It is out of the norm for our guests to dislike our food, as our dishes are normally a big hit! I will be bringing this back to our kitchen to make sure that all dishes are served at the proper temperature. If you would... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016

Ordered take out. Great pizza. Took about 20 minutes, so not bad. Had a Gin & Tonic while we waited.....Afraid it wasn´t the best...tasted pretty watered down.

Helpful?
Thank Raesansan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Great Italian food. The ambiance is perfect for a romantic date or a nice family dinner. I can't wait to easy there again.

Helpful?
Thank Gracegirl3
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
296 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

My spinach mushroom pasta had not great sauce with tiny pieces of I don't know what. I told waitress it wasn't what I was thinking it would be. She took 10% off that dish on bill. That is the only thing she could do with no manager on duty. The salad, pasta, pizza buffet was just OK. The chopped eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dayzdx8
John O, Owner at Roma's Back Door, responded to this review

Hello, We regret to hear that you had been so disappointed! From our buffet choices to our dishes off the menu, we do source the highest quality ingredients to ensure our customers enjoy their meals. We apologize that this did not occur during your dining experience and you had found fault within the dishes you had sampled. All feedback is... More 

Corunna, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2016

Homemade pastas and original dishes. You could not get better Italian food anywhere near the quality of this place. They have a dinner buffet, a full bar, and an outside patio area for the summer months. Cozy atmosphere and also a big room for large parties.

Helpful?
Thank chennoa1
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

Good selection of local brews; food just edible. Am still in recovery from what was billed as Veal Parmigian, but bore little relation to the real thing.

Helpful?
Thank David K
John O, Owner at Roma's Back Door, responded to this review

Hello DKatz43, We thank you for your compliments on our variety of local brews! We are disappointed that the veal parmigiana did not fare as well in your eyes. As with all dishes we serve, we use top of the line ingredients to create truly delectable dishes and our veal parmigiana is held to this same high standard. We apologize... More 

Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2015

We happened upon this place by accident and were very happy we did. The lunch buffet was delicious - wonderful homemade soup, expansive salad bar, pizza, chicken cacciatore, lasagna, bbq chicken, etc. Loved it all! The server was friendly and attentive and we would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank MimiandPapa2862

Been to Roma's Back Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 200 E Comstock St, Owosso, MI 48867-3102
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Owosso
  • Phone Number: +1 989-725-5767

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Roma's Back Door and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Roma's Back Door staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?