We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
850 Louisiana Ave S, Golden Valley, MN 55426-1614 (Hwy 94)
+1 763-542-9922
Website
Today
13:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 13:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 21:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 14:00
Fri 16:00 - 22:00
Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Clinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful meal with our group of 55. Great food, great "show" (Teppanyaki), great service, very reasonable prices. Our high school students absolutely loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We have had many different chefs at this location, but have to say, Antonio is- if not THE best- he is one of THE Top Chefs here. He puts on a good show, gives his all, anticipates your needs (more yum yum sauce, etc.) is fast and always gets your order right! I sincerely hope Benihana is aware of his... More 

Helpful?
Thank GussyMinnesota
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Nice atmosphere, good fun to have the chef prepare the teppan-style meal in front of you, complete with some juggling, flames, and sound effects, depending upon what was ordered. Lots of smiles during the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Greg E
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I eat at Benihana with my family quite often at all three locations in the Twin Cities. My daughter loves the fire and the heart with fried rice while the chef prepare the food. We will definitely be back. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Galie J
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had Dinner here for my cousin's birthday and missed our reservation. However when we arrived the staff was very accommodating and seated us after a short wait. The food was delicious and Chef Rafael really helped in making my cousin's birthday celebration memorable ! The Hibachi preparation was entertaining and my nieces really loved it. Total thumbs up !... More 

Helpful?
Thank jocy187
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had a group of 10 people celebrating a birthday for the 6pm seating on a Sat night. The server, Helen, and the chef, Pedro, made our experience so much fun! Their passion and competence was such a joy to see. Pedro was a real showman with a great sense of humor. Helen was a real sweetheart and so attentive... More 

Helpful?
Thank M0mMurphy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

New Years Eve - 7:00 reservations. We arrived well before our reservations but were told they were running 25 to 30 minutes late. Finally got seated. Food was ok. Was told the Yum Yum sauce was fantastic - not so much so. Show as fun. But considering how much it cost - the show was not really worth it. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

We apologize for the poor experience. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. We sincerely hope you will return to visit us at any one of our locations. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. More 

Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Benny, what up?? We've never had any trouble...until tonight. 730 reservation, we got seated after 8, chef showed up at 9, grill not hot, didn't start cooking until 920. Yikes! Chef was pleasant and efficient. Food was very good. Our waitress was so so. I mentioned our disappointment to the manager. She was apologetic and did her best to help.... More 

Helpful?
Thank THartman17
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

We apologize for the poor experience. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. We sincerely hope you will return to visit us at any one of our locations. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. More 

Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016

The reservation was confirmed for 5 and we checked in at 4:45...but had to wait until 5:30 to get seated. Not a good start. Once we were at the habachi table, the service kicked in. There was someone right away to explain the menu, take drink orders and get us our food (what happened to also providing us with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank LandofHopesandDreams
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016

It is our family's (party of ten) tradition to go to Benihana for our November birthday's. The birthday coupons are valid for dinner for 30 days after your birthday. This was our 8th consecutive year going to the Golden Valley location and when we went to present one of the birthday coupons it was "expired"...after looking closely it expired in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 845KStraveler

Travellers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Bloomington, MN
Maple Grove, MN
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
16:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 850 Louisiana Ave S, Golden Valley, MN 55426-1614
    (Hwy 94)
  • Location: United States  >  Minnesota (MN)  >  Golden Valley
  • Phone Number: +1 763-542-9922

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?