We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alice's Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 Nolans Point Park Rd, Lake Hopatcong, NJ 07849-1901
+1 973-663-9600
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Wed - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 142: English reviews
Long Valley, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As above, chicken, lamb, hummus, all excellent. One hiccup: waiter mistakenly disposed of one leftover plate, even though we had asked to take it home. Although he genuinely apologized, he should have offered to make amends. A similar error at other restaurants resulted in a complementary drink and even a replacement meal to go.

Thank Aldo C
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a wonderful evening at Alice's. A member of our party had a dairy allergy and both the server and the kitchen were very accommodating. From the drinks, to the food, to the view, to the service, everything was exquisite! We will definitely be back!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

I am so happy to learn that our staff did not dissappoint you or the dairy-free member of your party. That is a level of service is something that we are so proud of. Thank you for your positive review and your future (fingers crossed) future patronage. More 

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This restaurant has had a bit of a bum rap. We planned to go to lunch and I was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. Wonderful view over the lake, which was blustery the day we visited. The enclosed porch area was a bit chilly as it was windy - wear warm clothes in cold... More 

Thank Maurice P
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am very glad that you tried us and enjoyed your experience. Thank you. I am sorry that you found the porch chilly - with this erratic weather we haven't taken steps to fully winterized yet and we hope when the season officially changes (now) we will have the door panels tightened and... More 

Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My husband I went to Alice's for a drink and maybe lunch. We walked in and told hostess we were going to have a drink. She said fine. The bar has 4 bar stools, 2 were taken and too much stuff on the bar to sit down. We asked the bartender if we could sit on the deck and have... More 

Thank CindyH089
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

I am profoundly sorry that there was confusion about getting your request for a table handled. Of course on normal days the bar is not authorized in releasing dining tables to patrons- this must be handled by the hostess station. We clearly made some critical errors. More 

Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Great view from outdoor deck overlooking Lake Hopatcong. Great spot for mid-week lunch on a very nice day. Visited on a Sunday in early Sept and weather and experience was excellent. Food is good - not great - but priced accordingly. Nice find - will definitely return!

Thank fencingdad
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

We look forward to serving you again in the future. THank you for your business and review. More 

Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

Lots of spicy food and not many choices. Ordered a special which was good, but I thought $34.00 was expensive for an entree in a causal restaurant. They redid the porch where we like to sit, but it was full and we had to eat inside. They took the wonderful bar along the railing where you could sit and watch... More 

Thank brooke b
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. I can't address all that you posted here - except that we clearly failed your expectations. Yes, we did redo the porch and legally we cannot make it bigger. Dining at the bar both upstairs and down is still an option - so i am sorry that this was... More 

Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
368 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

nice view of the lake outside. .the prices are a little high for what you get but its mice to sit and watch the boats and have a drink

Thank JohnGross
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

You get no bang for your buck here. The view is great, but this is not fine dining. We paid $4.50 EA. For 5 oysters from MA. If it was a belon, I could understand. The price is not on the menu so they try to slip one by on you w/these oysters. The cajun crusted Cod is NOT fresh.... More 

2 Thank kelly s
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that our quality doesn't live up to your expectations...we offer every customer fresh product made to order every time. Our cod IS fresh...im sorry if something about it made you think it isn't. As for the oysters - they are priced daily according to market which is customary with such items many times....i would have expected that... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

My sister-in-law and two cousins had dinner on the deck at Alice's tonight. The service, atmosphere, and food were impeccable. What else is there to say? The photos say it all.

Thank FreddyBeachTeach
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. See you again soon. More 

Caldwell, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

Uostairs inside seating was nice and open. Food was excellent. Outstanding and would go again. Live music downstairs was good after dinner.

Thank j t
Alice S, Owner at Alice's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. We are in a two year process of revamping our dining room to help in service, views and other. We are working on making the building a place to best serve customers..speed, consistency and table array. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Travellers who viewed Alice's Restaurant also viewed

Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Lake Hopatcong, NJ

Been to Alice's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$27 - US$35
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Nolans Point Park Rd, Lake Hopatcong, NJ 07849-1901
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Lake Hopatcong
  • Phone Number: +1 973-663-9600
Alice's overlooks Lake Hopatcong NJ and offers some of the best cuisine in North West New Jersey. American comfort, American classic made to order with local, fresh and seasonal ingredients. Downstairs lounge offers happy hours and two TVs. Small Private parties.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alice's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?