We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Traversa Pousada 22 | Ihla Do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
+238 981 00 57
Website
Today
18:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was our first night and walked into 'town' to find a restaurant. Came across two in this side street which were very busy so decided can't be bad if so many people. They said it would be 5 mins wait for a table and we said we would walk on and come back. We wanted to view the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food..awesome service.. highly recommended 😍 PIZZA WAS AMAZING ... great wine list... lovely lay out of restaurant and the place is always packed. Reasonable prices and good night out

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate out every night and thought this was the worst food over the week. I had the seafood pasta. It came with two prawns in. It was bland and the pasta was beyond al dente. Partner had carbonara which she hardly touched. Disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn8999
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First i want to introduce myself,my name is Cesare,italian, and i live in Santa Maria, Sal, from 8 years,im not a big friend of the two italians owners but i know them as the town is very small and we all know each others. I have eaten in all the restaurants in Santa Maria and i guarantee that Leonardo is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cesare B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recommend by a local rep as one of the better restaurants in Santa Maria. Certainly priced at the higher end of the town but ate much better next door for at a much more reasonable price. Would not just avoid recommending but would encourage anyone asking to choose another location for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Darkand5tormy
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Entered as a single guest which seemed to confuse everyone, team in general not customer focused, service is hit and miss, witnessed someone (presumably owner or manager) handling a guest complaint which was in general badly managed - no empathy or apology given, witnessed a fight in kitchen between chef and team member (very loud) - in general watched other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhys O
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

After long journey to Sal Cape Verdi took taxi into Santa Maria for evening meal. Ushered into Leonardo's and thought what could go wrong with Italian. In fact quite a lot. Overpriced starters at 10€ poor and main courses of pizza and an octopus dish just plain awful. Happily we have found other restaurants better value and they know how... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grahame G
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We asked to sit inside the restaurant and we were placed where we could see full run of kitchen. I have no issues with that! Unfortunately, what I do have an issue with is watching a couple of female kitchen staff rub their noses and putting their fingers/nails in the mouth and hair (whilst wearing blue gloves- defeats the object)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diagostar
Leonardocafe, Direttore at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, this is an important note for use. We discuss immediately with the kitchen about this terrible episode. Sorry. More 

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We visited this restaurant after reading some of the reviews and it didn't disappoint. Admittedly the tempura starter I had was not the best, but my partner had a dish of mussels which we both thought was excellent and the sauce was delicious. We both had the tuna, which was cooked to our liking, rare for me. well done for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
rochdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Visited this restaurant with friends celebrating a birthday, we had heard that this was the restaurant to visit whilst in Santa Maria, how wrong it is! Firstly staff were unhelpful and rude, asked for garlic bread waitress replied sharply no, chips same response. Waited ages for drinks to be served. After waiting 30 minutes food had still not been served,... More 

Helpful?
Thank janetroch
Leonardocafe, Direttore at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear mr o ms janetroch, I see that you and you friends don't stop you terrible behavior. Your feedback is useless, because you wrote only what you want. We told immediately on the table: in Italy we don't serve garlic bread! Leonardo is Italian restaurant, is written everywhere, do not you noticed? On the menu there aren't garlic bread, french... More 

Travellers who viewed Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$16
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Street Parking, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Traversa Pousada 22 | Ihla Do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
  • Location: Africa  >  Cape Verde  >  Ilha do Sal  >  Santa Maria
  • Phone Number: +238 981 00 57
Description
Chic and comfortable, the Leonardo Cafe can give its customers the taste the flavor of "made in Italy". Located in the center of Santa Maria a few steps from the sea, you'll enjoyintimate and relaxing atmosphere for lunch and dinner, with a wide range of wines.
With these words Leonardo da Vinci referred to his hometown and to the areas on the hills of Montalbano where the land yields genuine products and good will.Here, where hills, villages, priories, villas and farmhouses are surroundedby vineyards and olive groves, the presence of the Great Genius can still be felt.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?