We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Ratty's

202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
+1 252-633-2088
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good39%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (74 reviews)
“shrimp” (62 reviews)
“corn muffins” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Stopped in for dinner and ordered the blackened swordfish and my wife ordered the oysters. We also ordered an appetizer and salads, expecting them to come out first. Nope. Appetizer, salad, and entrees all came to the table at the same time. The food was...More

Thank TJ D
Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant is quite small. The service was good but the food was just average. The decor is dark and dated.

Thank KarenMGardenGrove
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decent food,. Friendly and fast service. Smaller place and a bit tight seating. Will stop by again in the future.

Thank Michael D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've eaten here twice and I have to say that the brunch is something to look forward to. Super friendly service the wait times are average unless you make a reservation. I had the eggs benedict both times and would have it again. Delicious!

Thank homerog187
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the service was ok and the decor was ok, the food was meh. I had the catch of the day- snapper with a baked potato and salad. The salad was fresh, but underdressed for its size. The baked potato tasted like it was left...More

Thank angiecummings01
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to finish a meeting that had started earlier in the day, we decided to complete it over dinner. This week night it was not too crowded and service was good. The menu had a good mixture of choices. We had a shrimp appetizer,...More

Thank barthur11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had Sunday morning breakfast here. My wife and I both ordered omlettes. I ordered mine with turkey and was surprised that it had roasted turkey breast in it, and not processed turkey! Good food and good service.

Thank Stewart M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was good but a little overpriced for the portion size. It was loud and I felt like we were being rushed due to it being graduation.

Thank Ginger W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here as a family twice. The food has not been good nor bad yet somewhere in between. It fills you up but leaves you wanting something more succulent. In a pinch, I'd eat here again yet hope to never have that moment....More

Thank FairFlock
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Time to eat. Friends have eaten here and recommended this place so let's give it a try. Good wine and beer selection, prompt service, clean and friendly. Good menu. Great atmosphere. 4 people, grilled swordfish, crab cakes, fish and chips. Soft shell crab. Empty plates...More

1  Thank backhoe409
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Morgan's Tavern & Grill
1,254 reviews
.16 km away
Bay Leaf
487 reviews
.21 km away
The Chelsea
712 reviews
.33 km away
Bakers Kitchen
741 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Carolina Creations Fine Art & Contemporary Gallery
80 reviews
.17 km away
New Bern Fireman's Museum
99 reviews
.39 km away
Bear City Fudge Company
43 reviews
.12 km away
New Bern Farmers Market
38 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Elizabeth W
This couple that gave Captain Ratty a bad review came in with an attitude in the first place, we were sitting right next to the hostess when they came in and overheard the whole conversation. They were rude, the couple didn't even give the young hostess a chance. It was very busy February 12th for dinner and there were several people waiting..they came in and expected to be seated.....then threatened the hostess that they will be getting a bad review on TripAdvisor. My only recommendation for the next time is to give the customer a longer wait period and hope that maybe a table will be ready before the time lapsed.
14 February 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Elizabeth W | Reviewed this property |
I felt the couple was completely out of line, nasty and used TripAdvisor to "payback" the restaurant for not giving them a time frame for getting seated.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$29
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  New Bern
  • Phone Number: +1 252-633-2088
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing