We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Donaghue's Irish Pub

1696 Water St, Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 1B3, Canada
+1 506-773-7004
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (23 reviews)
“beet salad” (2 reviews)
“shepherds pie” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1696 Water St, Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 1B3, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

I have been here a few times now and the meals have always been excellent. The service was great even though it was a packed house. Would go here again.

Thank Ruth H
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Our business group stopped in here for a big dinner before driving back to Fredericton. We all ordered different things, I had the beet salad which was very good. Service was fast and friendly, drinks came immediately, and prices were quite reasonable. I think the...More

1  Thank Jason N
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Jason N, Thanks for the review! Although we try our best to hit it out of the park with all of our dishes, some just don't stand up to others! We are in the process of designing a new menu and we hope you...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

I've been going to odonaghues for years and it's changed hands a few times. We went for the first time since new management this October. The blackened haddock (my fave) is no longer on the menu but there was a similar haddock plate so that's...More

Thank hddyn
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi hddyn, Thanks for the feedback. Yes the pan seared haddock is smaller by a few ounces as it is prepared in a pan. It would also seem visually much smaller compared to the fish and chips due to the batter that would be on...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We were driving around Miramichi around lunchtime looking for a place for lunch and saw O'Donanhue's and thought we'd give it a try. We weren't disappointed. My husband had the seafood chowder and said it was delicious. I had pulled pork on flatbread. I wasn't...More

Thank DebraJeanne52
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi DebraJeanne52, Thanks for leaving a review! Happy to hear you enjoyed everything when you visited us. You are correct, our prices are marginally higher and that is due to our use of all fresh ingredients. We avoid serving frozen and prepared foods like many...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We ate here today for the very first time. We ordered beer battered fish & chips. It was pricey at $16.00 each but excellent tasting, so worth it. It was very busy but our meal was served relatively fast. Tartar sauce was the best we...More

Thank Lorne M
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi Lorne M, Thank you for the feedback! Yes our fish and chips seems pricey until you see it land in front of you on the table. It is at that point our guest tend to understand why. We hope to see you again!!

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and ordered sea food chowder and something called "donair". Both were overpriced experiments by someone who's heard of the dish but never actually seen it done. The neighboring table had fish and chips and that looked great.. But out chowder was...More

Thank 11,542
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

11542, Thank you for visiting us. I will certainly take your feedback of our chowder lacking seafood seriously and have brought this to our chef's attention. It must have been an unusual occurrence and apologize. As for the chowder (broth) we do not use corn...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed in the Chi 2 weeks ago and one night my coworkers and I went to that pub for supper and drinks. The chowder is expensive at $14 but it's good. A better suited price would be 9$ which would be consistent with the...More

Thank GUY613
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi GUY613, We appreciate the feedback! Happy to hear you enjoyed our seafood chowder. We don't know how 1809 is preparing their chowder but we do know that if you can buy seafood chowder for less that we are selling it there is good chance...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely patio. Decent fare. Their champ needs some seasoning/butter - not too flavourful. Also be warned, Strongbow on tap is 8.50 a glass. I would understand that for a can, sure, but the quantity had was not an adequate portion to price.More

Thank leahgmac
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi leahgmac, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback and take what ou rpatrons say very seriously. After all we are in the service industry. That being said, sometimes it is a matter of perception. We have adjusted our champ up and down...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed O'Ds for lunch with friends from work and we enjoyed lunch. I ordered the Donair Flat bread , others ordered Greek Chicken flat bread, burger and club. The food was very fresh and hot. Great fresh, quality ingredients. The only critique I have is...More

Thank chrisandlesley03
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi chrisandlesley03, Thank you for the review, appreciate the feedback! I met with our chef and prep chef to discuss your experience. The herbs and seasoning used in the flat bread dough must have been a one off thing but we will make sure it...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Nice old style pub. Usualy with small acoustic Band. Good place to have an evening lunch and a beer.

Thank Rénald Haché M
Stephen L, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Rénald Haché M, Thank you for the kind review! We also have full bands Friday and Saturday nights, Join us sometime!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Miramichi
Rodd Miramichi River
518 reviews
.31 km away
Fundy Line Motel & Restaurant
33 reviews
6.74 km away
Econo Lodge Miramichi
126 reviews
7.73 km away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Miramichi
505 reviews
7.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
1809 Restaurant & Bar
225 reviews
.23 km away
Napan Baykery
34 reviews
.24 km away
George's Pizza & Subs
22 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ritchie Wharf
94 reviews
7.62 km away
St. Michael's Basilica
30 reviews
.45 km away
French Fort Cove
51 reviews
5.98 km away
Middle Island Irish Historical Park
17 reviews
2.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from O'Donaghue's Irish Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$27
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1696 Water St, Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 1B3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  New Brunswick  >  Miramichi
  • Phone Number: +1 506-773-7004
  • E-mail
Description
Pease join us to experience a friendly relaxed dining environment. We offer a full menu, Irish inspired and fresh. Live entertainment Thursday Night, Friday Night, Saturday Night and Sunday Afternoons. check our facebook page or website for current list of events. Slainte!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing