We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merlin

5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
+44 1625 599959
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (14 reviews)
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Starter of Lobster and Prawn Pot was just gorgeous, you did not want it to end. Trio of Roasts for the mains was really good, the chicken, pork and beef was so tender. We will be back.

Thank June L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for dinner with my grandad, so glad it was me that had the Spitroast Chicken and not him! I had the worst case of food poisoning ever. It is the only thing I ate all day so 100% was the chicken. Will be...More

Thank Shawes123
Manager_TheMerlin, General Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to speak to myself on Sunday morning with regards to feeling unwell after having dined here at The Merlin. As explained on the phone we take all allegations seriously and a thorough investigation is taking place. I can assure...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the eggs, full breakfast and coffees when we visited early Sunday morning. It was very peaceful and hardly anyone in which was fantastic. The food was well presented and good portions. Give this place a go for breakfast if you haven’t already.

Thank richyrb
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was so nice to not have to ask what was vegan or whether they could make me something vegan and to be made to feel a nuisance! Such a lovely surprise to see a separate vegan menu and to have multiple options!

Thank laura1jane
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Merlin!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been coming here for over 15 years, never had a bad experience with food, staff or clientele. Children are in the main well behaved and definitely not running around throwing Yorkshire pudding at their Grandad. They have a specific menu for vegan diners...More

Thank Child-0f-Eve
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Child-0f-eve, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Merlin!

Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal yesterday with my husband, our daughter and her fiancé. The boys had the Sunday roast and the girls had wagyu beef burgers. Everything was delicious. We shared a dessert (selection of 4 different mini desserts) - amazing! The staff were friendly...More

Thank BeaverFamily
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Beaverfamily, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Merlin! It's great to hear that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations, and i will ensure your fantastic comments are passed on to our team. Thanks again for the recommendation,...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018

After many years of living in this area, I can't believe I have never been to the Merlin. I will certainly be going again. Very impressive and comprehensive menu with a separate vegan menu. Handy for us vegetarians. We both chose the Battered Halloumi with...More

Thank Stevejdp
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Stevejdp, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us, and i will ensure your fantastic comments are passed on to our team. We're looking forward to your next visit...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

My family and i have dined at the merlin on numerous occasions and decided to come with our friends who were visiting the area from down south. Service was great, really friendly and helpful. What made our evening was the food - the manageress came...More

Thank georgeandjoel98
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Georgeandjoel98, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Merlin! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our lovely daily specials. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Leighanna and the team

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Visited the Merlin a few months ago with a friend. We both had the Trio of Roasts which was all cooked perfectly. Attentive staff and relaxed surroundings made for a lovely Sunday. Will visit again soon.

Thank Alex_eh1994
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Alex_eh1994, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Merlin! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Thanks, Leighanna and the team

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We visited the Merlin on Bank holiday Monday and had a fantastic meal. The food arrived quickly and tasted great. They had a great range of cocktails, lagers and we were recommended a lovely local ale. The staff were really knowledgeable and the service was...More

Thank DeborahJones86
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Deborahjones86, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Merlin! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Leighanna and the team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Alderley Edge Hotels
The Wilmslow Lodge
429 reviews
1.33 km away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
315 reviews
1.36 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
443 reviews
1.50 km away
Kingsley Lodge
326 reviews
1.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Oakwood
334 reviews
1.03 km away
Yara Restaurant
370 reviews
1.09 km away
The Bubble Room
345 reviews
1.14 km away
Phanthong Thai
330 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alderley Edge Woodland Walk
99 reviews
.93 km away
The Botanist
108 reviews
1.04 km away
Corks Out
42 reviews
1.24 km away
The Market Co
10 reviews
1.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lws83
27 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rob M | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but if you call them they are very helpful. it's a lovely village. The Drum and Monkey did great food and I believe it has a nice outside area (if we ever get any decent weather) good luck
0
Votes
Laura D
7 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from MbplcGM | Property representative |
Hi laura D, Sorry we don't allow dogs into the bar. you are more than welcome to bring your fury friend and sit in our garden, our team will look after you. Kind regards, Jon B
0
Votes
Kerry M
11 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Lauzii | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it has a little bar area too if you're not eating but if you are eating I would book in as it gets busy. It has a nice relaxed vibe about the place too.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Alderley Edge
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 599959
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;