We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke of Gloucester

) #13 of 147 Restaurants in Crewe $$ - $$$ , British,
University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England
+44 1270 539380
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Called in on a Saturday lunchtime in preparation for a visit to Gresty Road . Even with a hotel opposite there was plenty of parking, that said the restaurant was not at all busy emphasised more so by being a large open venue. Staff were...More

Thank Grandparentsontours
Reviewed 4 days ago

Been here many times whilst staying at the hotel next door. Staff are very friendly but the food is disappointing as portions are small and average fast catering style. The pub needs more cleaning as tables often covered in beer rings and salt/food - removing...More

Thank marmalade47
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off for dinner with work colleagues. Whilst the staff where friendly and helpful unfortunately the food was a let down. Five of us ate and none of us were impressed with the meals. I chose chicken wings to start which were ok, but the...More

Thank clairehI988QE
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I was glad to see your favourable comments about the front of house team and I will be sure to pass those on. I was dissapointed to read that you didn't enjoy the food however and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good for the price you paid. The Staff were friendly and helpful. Over all a good experience

Thank Kathryn H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was excellent, good choice on menu and the special lunch menu. Weren't rushed to order, we enjoyed a nice leisurely lunch

Thank GrannyM_12
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very accommodating and friendly staff, particularly Sharon and Megan. Food very good, promptly served in a very relaxed atmosphere.

1  Thank caroleacarroll
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the pub with the family for a roast dinner the staff were really friendly the food was excellent you couldn't fault a thing will definitely be going again

Thank Peter J
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited the restaurant a few months ago now as my partner had to survey the pub and also a few other local pubs due to what businesses do. After the survey we thought we would get some lunch as it seemed...More

Thank AlisonNewton
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Went here after attending a conference. Staff were very welcoming and there is a nice relaxed atmosphere. Food was average but drinks are well priced in here. Worth a visit on a sunny evening!

Thank Andy W
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Very friendly staff and nice surroundings. However I ordered the small portion of fish and chips. I expected to get a half size piece of cod but was amazed to get something that was closer to a fishfinger. I picked the fish and chips becuase...More

Thank RubyAmethyst
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's always helpful to receive feedback and from your comments we have reviewed the portion size of the small fish and chips to make sure it is value for money. I was pleased to see...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Haslington Tandoori
29 reviews
1.47 km away
Rookery Wood Farm
519 reviews
1.42 km away
Haslington Bakery
42 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crewe Heritage Centre
126 reviews
1.46 km away
Grand Junction Retail Park
29 reviews
1.40 km away
Good Time Charlies
35 reviews
1.50 km away
The Sydney Arms
8 reviews
1.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
normanorminton
22 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Joe L | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do have full disabled facilities. Kind Regards Joe
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England (Formerly Tje Duke of Gloucester)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Crewe
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 539380
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing