We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$21
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
321
190
113
70
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
321
190
113
70
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yorkshire pud roast dinner steak pigs in blankets cheshire oaks the pub family meal lovely food carveries mandy marstons medium
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Stayed up in Chester at village hotel & came across this pub after going to Chester zoo. Food was lovely staff were super friendly. We ended up coming back 3 times. Each time speedy food service, friendly staff no issues getting a table & nice...food Would def recommend 💯More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Chelsea, Thank you for your amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and decided to dine with us on numerous occasions. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really poor service not friendly at all. Wouldn’t go here again.. very local to me and wish it would have been nice enough to return :(

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, Did you mention this to anyone at the time of visiting? We didn’t have any complaints this week and staff are in considerably good spirits considering the temperatures that they are working in? Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to go and have a late lunch today with my son. We said we wanted to sit outside. At first the woman who came to us at the door wasn’t happy I wanted to take a paper menu to look at outside. I...was told if you’re outside you have to use the app. I said I find it difficult to read on the app. I then realised I had no data on my phone so I asked about available WiFi and she ignored my question. I said well can I order with you and I was told that if I didn’t order on the app I would have to sit inside and eat. There was no accommodation for those of us without internet. What was the problem with me ordering with her and eating outside? Because I had no internet connection I had to eat inside? How ridiculous. She was very rude and matter of fact about this and didn’t try and help at all. We left and went to Nando’s where they were extremely polite and accommodating. I was allowed to order in person and we could sit outside. I will never come to old oak farm again. Appalling customer service.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I think this review may be slightly fabricated. Whilst on shift we are dealing with the hardest thing that has ever hit our industry. We have certain procedures in place that help us adhere to government restrictions. On Monday these restrictions will be eased once...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was grat. Staf Martyna very kind, helpful and friendly. Cant wait vitit again. See u again soon

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. I will be sure to pass this on to Martyna. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

We booked for a family Father’s day Sunday lunch 4 Adults and 2 children. In time of COVID-19 you do not expect a dirty table and food on the floor but it’s what we got. We asked if we could move to another table but...we’re told no other table was available despite being half empty. We were told the other tables had been allocated for later in the afternoon. It would have not been difficult to move us to a cleansed area & allocate our table for a later sitting!! The outcome was the table & floor was cleaned but this delayed the start of ordering. The overall service was very slow but eventually someone arrived to take our drink orders…. Which were taken and confirmed. The adults drinks arrived however one glass was dirty, more than water marks from the dishwasher, & it took ages to get a clean one. We had to chase up the children’s drinks which arrived 15 minutes afterwards. It took a further 20 mins for someone to take our food orders & I stress that the pub was not over busy at this time. No apology or explanation was given. We arrived at 14:00 and food orders were taken at 14:48. This is tollway unacceptable. The children’s meals and a single adult meal eventually arrived followed shortly after by two chits for the Carvery. Again we waited for ages & finally managed to attract the attention of a waitress to query why one meal hadn’t been delivered & it was at this point I requested to speak to the manager. It turns out that a mistake had been made & the meal had not been ordered!! More frustration & annoyance. We had gone to have a family meal for Father’s Day with family who had a 180 mile journey back home & we did not appreciate this shoddy service. Eventually we all managed to get our food which was ok but nothing spectacular. Having finished out main meals it took another 20 mins to attract attention to get the table cleared and Dessert orders taken. These thankfully arrived promptly. As a result of speaking about the lack of cleanliness & overall service with the manager, he did remove the cost of the “missed meal” & reduced the overall food bill by 20%. Overall the total time for Sunday lunch was 2:45hrs!! Totally unacceptable! Whist I accept that mistakes can happen, a fact that the manager acknowledged, but the lack of cleanliness is very hard to over look especially in these current times. Incidentally the pub stated that they follow all Covid-19 procedures but our experience re the table have proved this is not the case. Overall this was not an enjoyable experience & I was extremely embarrassed to subject my son & his family to this. My recourse, therefore is to publish this truthful account and then not go back. I will certainly not be recommending anyone to go to Old Hall Farm.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Damian, I feel like there are some things that were missed off out of your visit review. Please can you give me a call on 01513573941. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

We ordered 2 mix grills and 2 steaks which was delicious Well done to the kitchen staff for delicious food Our waitress was a new lady very polite and welcoming never got her name also mandy and Lauren and Katie doing the drinks

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your amazing review! We are glad that you keep coming back and the team (new and old) continue to deliver and meet your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 15 June 2021

In the area and having had a brilliant meal on our last visit we called in today for lunch. Their Covid system was explained, we were booked in and taken to a table. The staff who attended us were excellent, friendly and professional. I had...the curry and my wife the light option fish and chips, both meals were hot, well presented and enjoyable.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Hi Peter. Was lovely to see you and your wife yesterday and we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you both again soon. Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Been in a few times for drinks only. Covid Safe. Fast Service. Good Beer and more importantly ‘Service with a Smile’ . Looked at the menu and the prices seem very reasonable

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Hi Rod, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are always happy and smiley when we see our customers enjoying themselves! (Even underneath the masks!) Hope to see you again soon. Dan

Reviewed 30 May 2021

Just had the best pub carvery I can remember. The meat (I had roast beef) is succulent and full of flavour. They use small joints that are slow roasted for that extra tenderness. Great range of vegetables to choose from; more than your 5 a...day! Add to this very polite, friendly and cheerful staff, offering efficient service and attention, all set in a comfy traditional pub setting; well, what more could you ask for! Plus they sell draught Wainwright and Pedigree beers. Overall a highly recommended venue!!!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Old Hall Farm, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Hi Roger! Thank you for your kind words. It is really nice to know that the work us as a team and the company are doing is really paying off. Hopefully see you next Sunday! Many thanks Dan

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

I recently visited Old Hall Farm during the current restrictions, allowing outside dining. The outside area is large with plenty of room between the tables. All the tables were recently renovated and the whole area was clean and very inviting. The staff were all following...guidelines and were welcoming, polite and friendly. The food is delicious and freshly cooked. I have been to this family pub and restaurant before and although the current situation is difficult, the staff managed to make us feel a little bit of normality. Old Hall Farm is the perfect place to visit after a shopping trip and is by far the nicest and most welcoming pub restaurant in the area. Big shout out to Dan, Lauren and the team for always going above and beyond for their valued guestsMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Dan Pacheco, General Manager at Old Hall Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Hi Janet Thank you for your truly amazing review. The team has spent countless hours making sure the pub looks great inside and out. We hope you are able to come back soon! Many thanks Dan

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
844 reviews
.58 km away
Premier Inn Chester East
20 reviews
1.85 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port - Cheshire Oaks
1,198 reviews
3.16 km away
Highfield Hall Hotel
92 reviews
4.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Rouge - Cheshire Oaks
1,958 reviews
.25 km away
TGI Fridays - Cheshire Oaks
1,186 reviews
.07 km away
wagamama
642 reviews
.20 km away
Zizzi
513 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet
3,020 reviews
.37 km away
Blue Planet Aquarium
2,732 reviews
.55 km away
The Coliseum Shopping Park
50 reviews
.45 km away
Lindt Chocolate Shop
23 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
677katmarie1
24 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Melissa_Cropper | Reviewed this property |
In the front garden yes, not allowed inside the restaurant unless a guide or assistance dog due to health and safety.
0
Votes
angleseysocialmedia
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from iand409 | Property representative |
Afraid not
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Hall Farm

Old Hall Farm is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5