We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vale Royal Abbey Arms

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Oakmere $$ - $$$ , British,
Chester Road | At Junction of A556 and B5152 Abbey Lane, Oakmere CW8 2HB, England
+44 1606 882747
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chester Road | At Junction of A556 and B5152 Abbey Lane, Oakmere CW8 2HB, England
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked a table for 6pm Sunday but wasn't really required as quite empty but for some reason wre seated by families with young children (not bothered about that and they were having a great time) but if you are just out for a quite meal...More

Thank Chantal M
Reviewed 2 days ago

We went to the restaurant expecting good food at competitive prices after its recent takeover and refurbishment. It was a clean,pleasant environment but the service was slow,even poor at times.It had been a busy day but we had expected better. The starters did not arrive...More

Thank SunSenegamb
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Dreadful food and service so disappointed special family meal a disaster from start to finish !! The food was luke warm obviously left under the hot lamps . Complained to the manager who did not really care , left fuming .

Thank MalcolmXYZ
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The manager is a credit to the brewery, demonstrating a genuine warmth and welcoming nature which is so rare these days. He was extremely accommodating; as he pointed out they have real chefs not just microwave operators and therefore; could change the menu to suit....More

Thank Natalie W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been visiting the Abbey for years. On my latest visit last Wednesday I was very disappointed. I ordered drinks, one of which was a large gĺass of house wine. On reading what offers were available it was wine night wereby if you order...More

Thank timsga
Sam S, General Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tim, I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with your last visit. Unfortunately that offer does have to be entered in one transaction or through a tab set up & i'm really sorry to hear you had a bad pint, especially after we've recently...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

About 20 ladies from our church have had a superb evening out - so well looked after by Peter and his staff Wonderful varied choice of menu to suit all tastes, appetites and purse Certainly recommend the venue - ample parking and space to be...More

Thank CrazygrandmaCheshire
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Crazy Grandma of Cheshire. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon! :) The Vale Royal Abbey Arms

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub has recently been totally refurbished and under new management. It is a credit to Peter and his team. They give a friendly warm welcome every time we have gone in and make a fuss of our dog. The dog area is next to...More

Thank Boyle's B
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you all again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to go to this local pub, as it was near where we were staying. Especially as the write ups since it's refurb sounded good. The venue looks good inside and serves a good pint and has an extensive menu. We were soon offered a...More

Thank R W
Sam S, General Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review. Sorry to hear your visit wasn't up to our usual high standards, I would like the oppurtunity to look into this further if you could provide me some details of the date and time of your visit...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delighted to have stumbled upon this gorgeous pub and beer garden. Kids chasing rabbits, dog friendly, snuggle blankets, delicious food and great staff (Peter the manager especially). We will be sure to return to this little gem. 👍👍

Thank nibs1974
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on our way to Chester for a few days. and decided to stop for lunch , We were made very welcome, The food was excellent especially the fish board ( salad mixed with salmon , smoked salmon( 2 good slices), bread rolls and...More

Thank johnatjohnstreet
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fishpool Inn
1,871 reviews
.93 km away
The Hollies Coffee Shop
444 reviews
2.12 km away
Alvanley Arms
625 reviews
3.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reclaimed World
25 reviews
2.12 km away
Delamere Forest
598 reviews
2.37 km away
Cotebrook Shire Horse Centre
248 reviews
3.58 km away
Blakemere Village
364 reviews
3.85 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Fosbyr26
hi can we eat inside and bring our little dog along ?
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from mikeikin | Reviewed this property |
Yes of course it's pet friendly and have bowls of water for the poochies 😊
0
Votes
Joanne B
Have just been treated appallingly after visiting this so called business. We found a table but had to move as they decided it was reserved. They offered us a table in a walkway....hardly suitable with a german shepherd with us so we ventured outside finally where 2 tables were eating their dinner only to be told by bar staff that no food is to be served outside. We pointed out that people were dining outside that very minute but got brushed off. Will not be visiting this ill mannered place again and for sure am so incensed at the appalling way we were treated will be sure to be notifying the brewery JW Lees. Dont waste your time with this place as the management clearly dont care about your custom
19 February 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Hamilton A | Reviewed this property |
Well that wasn't the experience we had, but we didn't take our dog with us to eat in a pub. I guess the Abbey Arms must feel lucky your thoughts weren't as bad as your only other review "Disgustingly filthy" a KFC somewhere... More
2
Votes
SailorJerry69
Do you have any entertainment?
1 February 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Shaun t | Property representative |
We have a live band playing Easter Friday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chester Road | At Junction of A556 and B5152 Abbey Lane, Oakmere CW8 2HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Oakmere
  • Phone Number: +44 1606 882747
  • E-mail
Description
Part of JWLees brewery, providing a warm, friendly welcome to diners and drinkers alike. Situated in beautiful Delmaere with a large beer garden and plenty of parking. We serve the best Ales from JWLees along with fresh and tasty food made & a great selection of wines and spirits. Not to mention we are dog friendly. The perfect place to stop after a long walk!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing