We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
+44 1477 544732
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 467: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

An amazing dinner. The Beef Wellington was so delicious, and cooked to perfection. Staff couldn't be more helpful and my daughter was accomodated with her changes to the menu to accomodate her fructose intollerance. We had the lobster and prawn cocktail to start with and although good the prawns were from frozen and a little tasteless. Lovely wine menu and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Better food now it's been took over, food is above average price , can be busy on fri/sat nights , nice landlord though who will sit and chat with you.

Helpful?
Thank sarah b
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great pace to eat, quite a varied menu, good beer and lovely warm atmosphere. When you walk in you get an immediate sense of home. We have eaten in there three times now and it has always been good.

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Bolton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped for a quick bite to eat and s drink on a long drive home. Was pretty busy, was told we couldn't sit in a certain area as it was the "restaurant" even though we'd ordered food, it looked just like the rest of the place. Weird. Ordered large Sangiovese and a sharing platter of pates (no chutney), shrimp &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
Forfar
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived two hours later than expected due to the closure of the M6. received a warm welcome at reception. Room in good shape although bathroom a little dated. Evening meal good with pleasant service although we gave up waiting for an offer of dessert and just asked for the bill. Continental breakfast only adequate but service very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jean C
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hi Jean, Many thanks for leaving us a review - sorry to hear about the pesky M6 holding you up. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks, The Bears Head Team More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here last night to celebrate my dads birthday and to be honest it was great! The table we were sat at was tucked away giving us that sense of privacy, the waitress was very friendly and smiley (which is always a benefit!) and although the menu wasn't vast there was plenty for every one! I has the soup... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jowaterman
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for leaving us a review - I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy more of our specials! Many thanks, The Bears Head Team More 

sandbach
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yes been here a few times with NO complaints booked for boxing day food was well cooked and excellent and dry food as they were very busy that day service very good 10 out of 10 from me I had the steak which was perfect

Helpful?
Thank john_bSandbach
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hi John, We're really pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experiences with us especially on Boxing Day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks, The Bears Head Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called here on our way home after a long day out, the worst roast we have ever had, we are both suffering with ill stomachs, I think that we had what was left at the end of a day, the worst £60 ever spent :-(

Helpful?
Thank chrisnvik
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hi Chris, As I was the manager on duty on Sunday evening I am concerned after reading your review. I received no complaints on the evening in regards to any of the roast dinners or their quality and I can assure you we served over 300 meals that day of which we have had no further complaints. Had you mentioned... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we were a party of 19, and it was Sunday Lunch time the service and food were both good. Alice was so helpful and although we were tucked away in an area for just our party we were not 'forgotten' as can so often happen when your table is not in direct line of sight. Will definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed this Sunday dining with us. I will pass on my thanks to Alice for all of her hard work. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, The Bears Head Team More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A huge thank you to Alice and colleagues at the Bear's Head. Every meal was delicious: generous portions and fresh hearty food. Alice and team couldn't have done more for us - so friendly, helpful and lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Karen E
Rachel T, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review - I will pass on your thanks to Alice as well. We look forward to seeing you back at The Bears Head soon! Many thanks, The Bears Head Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Bears Head also viewed

Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to The Bears Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Sandbach
  • Phone Number: +44 1477 544732
Description
The Bear's Head in Brereton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bears Head and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bears Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?