We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Head

$$ - $$$, British,
Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
+44 1477 544732
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (8 reviews)
“chicken pie” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited for the first time last week with my girlfriend and some friends! Amazing service from start to finish! Food was beautiful and nothing was too much trouble! Can't wait to visit again! P.s my girlfriend is jealous of Emilie's hair!

Thank LukeMartin369
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Luke Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words. I will make sure to inform the kitchen, and Emily about her hair! LOL. Hope to see you again. Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 6 days ago

Turned away at the gate!! Been meaning to write this since September.When flying to Canada from Manchester to see my twin sister I didn't t know we needed to get an ETA (Electronic Travel Authorisation) so having arrived at the airport we were unable to...More

Thank Steve R
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Steve I am pleased to hear you had such a good stay and the staff were so helpful at making you feel comfortable while things were sorted for your travel. I will make sure to pass your comments on. Thanks again Stuart and The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant seems to have been updated and has improved. Parking is still limited and probably can’t be extended. My concern is the food and drink has been the same for many years and is dull and boring. I do like the option of the...More

Thank GraemeCoyne
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Graeme Thank you for leaving a review. I will make sure to pass your comments on to our menu development team. The menu itself changes twice a year. We had quite an extensive change just a couple of months ago but keeping with our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyable Sunday dinner. Food was delicious, quick service and lovely hot food. Steph waited on us and was a wonderful server. Will be back soon. Lovely jubbly!!!

Thank zzeel1
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi ZZeel1 Thank you for your kind review. I will make sure to feed back to my kitchen team and let Steph know as well. She is a little diamond. Thanks again. Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We actually stayed in the hotel and had our meal in the pub. This was about out 5th visit and the food has always been good. The tables are not on top of each other and the bar area is well decorated and clean. The...More

Thank Martin R
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Martin I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our lodge. We do always strive to make our guests as happy and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a really lovely time. Rooms are simple, nothing fancy but they’re clean and comfy and that’s really all that matters to me. Some small attention to detail could help like removing black mould in the bathroom tiles, it’s...More

Thank Yazz H
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Yazz Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please feel reassured when I tell you the minor details are now being addressed. I will make sure to pass your kind words back to my kitchen about the venison and your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've always liked this pub but I find myself coming back more and more often just recently. The staff have always been helpful but seem significantly happier and smiley in recent weeks especially since that awful and rude girl with the silly colour in her...More

Thank katiecart85
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Katie Thank you for your review. I will make sure to pass your comments back to Jordan and James as well as our kitchen team. Make sure you bob in soon and try our festive menu. Thanks again Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for fixed price lunch (checked on line and having had this lunch on various occasions it was just what we wanted) only to be greeted with moody staff who shoved a menu at us, when we inquired about fixed lunch were told that's...More

Thank ldeano2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning I would like to take the time to apologise for your visit yesterday. We had an issue yesterday with the electrics which took away most of our use of equipment in the kitchen. We tried to provide some sort of menu for our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We go quite often as it's easy enough to take our 1 year old. Food is to a good standard with a good children's menu too. Warm atmosphere and cosy on a cold Sunday afternoon.

Thank KS_1009
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi KS Thank yo for your review. I am pleased to hear you visit often and the food is at a g odd standard for yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Wanted a late Sunday afternoon lunch, and what a great place to go. Family celebration for lunch, really welcoming place. Great friendly staff who absolutely know how to look after people, natural good hospitality. Good atmosphere, excellent food, you must try the Squid and Prawn...More

Thank Andrew W
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Andrew Thank you for your great review. The bread sticks and prawn and squid tempura are proving very popular indeed. I am glad you enjoyed them. I have to agree with you on the Rhubarb Gin and ginger ale, it is one of my...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Swettenham Arms
795 reviews
3.76 km away
The George & Dragon
419 reviews
3.32 km away
Don Alberto
238 reviews
3.26 km away
Fortune City
94 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Delta Force Paintball Holmes Chapel
142 reviews
1.12 km away
Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve
155 reviews
2.17 km away
Pirates Paradise
40 reviews
2.75 km away
Red Lion Inn Goostrey
24 reviews
5.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Yazz H
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jenny Audlem C | Reviewed this property |
I’m sorry I don’t know about the rooms. If you phone the Bears Head they will tell you.
1
Vote
Carol B
13 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stuart R | Property representative |
Hello Carol, yes we do allow dogs in the bar area and you can eat in there too! We hope to see you soon!
1
Vote
blankey2015
22 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ukdaytrippe | Reviewed this property |
Average food price £6 starter and £10 main Manu available online
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Sandbach
  • Phone Number: +44 1477 544732
Description
The Bear's Head in Brereton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing