We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Causeway Shop

Back Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WE, England
+44 1433 620343
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
10:00 - 16:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Back Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Afternoon tea was very disappointing and poor quality- had much better in other local eateries.Would not rush back !

Thank jolytravellers
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Happened across this gem of an eaterie before tackling the Mam Tor - Loosehill walk Sandwiches, jacket potatoes, coffee and cake all fresh and lovely - reasonable prices in a beautifully decorated café Staff are great and offered useful expert knowledge on where to go...More

Thank Benjamindrfranklin
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Very poor afternoon tea. Not what was expected. It was bought on groupon this is the third time I have had afternoon tea and this was poor to the others and not much cheaper I would not call this afternoon tea. Very disappointed.More

Thank vernonjeanroy
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

I am sorry your afternoon tea wasn't what you expected as we give a choice of freshly made sandwiches made to order with a side salad,coleslaw, scones,jam,clotted cream, biscuits and tea or fresh ground coffee all for the fabulous price of £9.50 for TWO ....More

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Has potential, as it's in a great location (with outdoor seating) but quality of coffee, cakes and service was not as good as other venues we visited in Castleton.

Thank Nicola H
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Visited Castleton this week for a mini break . Called here for a cream tea , lovely place , excellent service & yummy cream tea .

Thank _s_allen228
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Many Thanks for your review

Reviewed 24 June 2017

Recommend the afternoon tea. We went with a groupon voucher excellent value. Lovely little shop. Castleton is a lovely place to visit lots to do

Thank joyd40
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our shop

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Visited on a sunny day after a very muddy walk. Because to get to the coffee shop you have to walk through the gift shop I felt really guilty. Castleton is very much an outdoor ton so it is shame when cafes and pubs are...More

Thank MadamPC
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for your review I am sorry you felt the need to sit outside as all our visitors/customers/walkers muddy or otherwise are very welcome onto our hardwaring carpets,

Reviewed 7 May 2017

It was the first time we had visited this cafe and me and my mum were very impressed, so much so that we went twice in one day!! On each visit we sat in the same spot, looking out onto the street and watching the...More

Thank liz12de2
Lynne N, Owner at The Causeway Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for a lovely review glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 18 April 2017

ordered food-----waited---waited-----waited and waited----asked WHEN its on its way-----waited ---waited ---waited after nearly a hour we asked for our money back-----had we waited much longer RIGOR would have set in it was not busy-----the hardest thing they was bringing out was TOASTED CIABATTA loved calling...More

1  Thank brian m
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

The staff seemed very stressed and unwilling to help. We cleared our own table as all tables had dirty crockery in them. Then when wanted serving was ignored by staff member, even thought at that point we were only people waiting. The cake selection was...More

Thank New_Ashburnian
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tilly's Of Castleton
186 reviews
.21 km away
1530
473 reviews
.10 km away
Ye Olde Nags Head
631 reviews
.05 km away
The Ramblers Rest
104 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
396 reviews
.15 km away
Treak Cliff Cavern
471 reviews
.24 km away
Peveril Castle
355 reviews
.37 km away
Speedwell Cavern
870 reviews
1.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Helen S
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michael A | Reviewed this property |
We did not have a dog but there was a dog inside whilst we were there.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Back Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WE, England (Formerly Cinnamon Bear)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Castleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 620343
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing