We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wren's Nest

Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
+44 1457 890910
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average26%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“stuffing” (5 reviews)
“roast meats” (4 reviews)
“yorkshire pud” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Why is there a 3 .99 mark up on the food Sundays? Sunday menu price guid is on the right just above kid section in smaller writing! 10 out of 10 for diverting the eye as we are taught to read left to right. So...More

Thank Johanne R
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Johanne, so sorry to hear of your disappointing visit yesterday. Our Sunday carvery is priced at £7.99 with kids eating for £1. I'm disappointed to hear of the food quality issues you experienced, please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and use...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here with the family for a Sunday meal. First of all the Sunday prices were hidden away in the corner so fish and chips mon to sat is £4.59 yet Sunday is £7.99 for a fish that's been under a heat lamp for...More

Thank wilson301191
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Wilson401191, I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed. Please be assured that we will be addressing the issues you have raised. If anything ever falls short of your expectations, please speak to a Duty Manager who will replace anything that isn't quite right....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great priced carvers, excellent choice of meats and veg combined with fantastic service. Can not fault the place and would recommend to families.

Thank Luciafaithtravels
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review! We hope to see you again soon - Lianne.

Reviewed 6 March 2018

This public house sits beautifully on the Derbyshire Countryside. Friendly staff greet yoiu on your arrival. The bar is the place to place your order of the vast menu on offer. They have a fantastic breakfast menu. This is ideal if wanting a good hearty...More

Thank Tracey W
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

wow thanks so much, Tracey W! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! Thankyou for the lovely review, Lianne - GM

Reviewed 27 February 2018

Been eating here now for a few years....our last visit the food was very good.. Meat well cooked..plenty of veg,a good value meal... Staff are always freindly....only criticism needs up dating..

Thank Sue O
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thanks so much for the review, Sue O! We are happy you have been dining with us for a long time, thank you for your continued patronage.

Reviewed 22 February 2018

You get what you pay for at the Wren's Nest. The bill is cheap and the food reflects this. Don't go if you a special night out but if you're happy with bland/ inexpensive food this is just perfect.More

Thank hcb2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for the feedback, hcb2017. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food - our aim is to ensure that all of our guests leave happy and satisfied. If anything is ever not quite to your liking, please let a member of our friendly...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

It's a carvery. The food is pretty much bog standard carvery. It's cheap and simple. Meat and overcooked veg piled high on a smaller than average plate and smothered in what may, or may not, be gravy from a packet of some description. I'm not...More

Thank MrElmo
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thankyou for your honest review, Mr Elmo. If anything is not cooked quite to your liking, please let a member of our friendly team know. We will be more than happy to replace for you.

Reviewed 30 January 2018

This offers great value for money; cheap food & drinks. Plenty of food on offer and great kids choices. The carvery is especially nice.

Thank vic565
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks so much!

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Wren’s Nest is basically a pub plus carvery. The decor is what you’d expect from a large pub, and is comfortable enough. The day we we went the only ale on tap was the house ale, which seemed poor for a pub. The food is...More

Thank BruceTheSheep
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi BruceTheSheep, thanks for reaching out to us. I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal, if ever anything is amiss please don't hesitate to bring it to the attention of the duty manager - we will be more than happy to replace...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018

This is a family restaurant with a very reasonably priced carvery, plus other menu. It is always busy but it is possible to have a very quick meal, due to the fact that all you do is pay at the bar, then queue at the...More

Thank Proo3
General Manager A, Manager at The Wren's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Glossop Hotels
Travelodge Glossop
494 reviews
.81 km away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
145 reviews
2.22 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Tameside Hyde Hotel
504 reviews
4.48 km away
Springfield Hotel Marple
91 reviews
8.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Napoli Ristorante
404 reviews
.64 km away
Ayubowan Restaurant
410 reviews
.48 km away
Panaderia By Dowds
75 reviews
.50 km away
Logan's
79 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manor Park
102 reviews
1.30 km away
Howard Park
16 reviews
.67 km away
Prince Of Wales
11 reviews
1.04 km away
Lauras Coffe Lounge
9 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wren's Nest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wren Nest Retail Glossop Brook Road | Surrey Street, Glossop SK13 8GN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Glossop
  • Phone Number: +44 1457 890910
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing