We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsmans Pack

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
+44 1433 650253
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 381: English reviews
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This Inn is very conveniently located on the outskirts of Hatersage and I managed to book a room for Friday night at the last minute, almost a miracle now that it is May and weekends in the Peak District get fully booked early on, so in general I would recommend you book in advance, don't take your chance like me!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marco B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for a drink before dinner in another local restaurant. A great ambiance, lovely friendly staff, comfortable place. Had a peek at the menu and was tempted to stay for dinner but had already made a commitment elsewhere. Will return soon for the food!

Helpful?
Thank stephensQ3355LO
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an evening meal for a party of twelve. The feedback from the party was not good. The chips looked like they had been fried at least 3 times as they were very greasy and very soft. A disappointing evening. We will not be returning

Helpful?
Thank Kemarg
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I do hope you will return too give us another chance and please let us know at the time if you have problems with your meal so we can rectify the problem straight away. Hope too see you again soon,... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub, great beer, indifferent evening meal, helpful friendly staff, lovely breakfast, room great with tea/coffee facilities and didn't have to look too far to find a power point to charge my phone, but ... the water pressure in the shower was too low to have a refreshing shower and as we were there on a Thursday night, with rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ingamells
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were kept up by Quiz night, for future reference if you prefer a quieter night Thursday and Fridays are our busiest nights for drinking. Hope this helps! Thanks Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Creswell
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called here after walking Stanage Edge,sat outside on the lovely Patio next to a stream,we sampled the cask ales,burger and chips n gammon n chips,the chips we very nice and they were real chips with skins on and not frozen,the staff were very friendly we would definitely go back if in the area again

Helpful?
Thank Sue Chattaway
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and were even able to enjoy our patio area! Hope to see you again soon, Thanks Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was good, and it was a cozy place to have a meal after walking Stanage Edge. We sat inside but there was also outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank MrsElfa
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank Your for your review. Ash General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most disappointed in my meal especially after hearing good reviews. The chicken sandwich was merely a soft bap, ala warbutons, with tasteless chicken. A few crisps and a sprinkling of salad. Not good for nearly 8 pounds. Poor value. Left hungry. Would have been better with a sandwich from the petrol station in the village. Although famous for the pies... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. It was myself who served you yesterday and didn't feel at the time, you gave the impression you did not enjoy the food here. I can only ask that if you feel unsatisfied with the food at the time please let... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place we stayed for three nights lovely comfortable room lovely food and excellent staff will definitely be going back .

Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back. Thanks a lot Ash General Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing special, but OK for one night. Breakfast also satisfactory, except for vegetarian sausages, which I wouldn't recommend! Rooms basic. Wouldn't stay for any longer.

Helpful?
Thank Robgoxford
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will have a look into the vegetarian sausages and see if we can get an improved product. We hope that the room was at least comfortable for you but apologise if you thought that your room was basic. Kind Regards Ash General Manager More 

Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off here for a swift drink after a wander around Hathersage up to see Little John's grave. Friendly staff and a decent pub.

Helpful?
Thank SirMass
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack. More 

Travellers who viewed The Scotsmans Pack also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Scotsmans Pack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hathersage
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 650253

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scotsmans Pack and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsmans Pack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?