We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
+44 1773 832016
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 380: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went for a family meal this evening, usually the food quality has been good here however tonight we have felt been let down with the quality, quantity and overall presentation. My partner had steak and chips which came with peas but specifically said not to give peas as he hates them and asked for more chips. When the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph B
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited the other night. The pub has a good atmosphere but was not particularly busy. The food is of the quality you would expect for the price. Well worth a visit. The two for a tenner menu is excellent value. Real ale is available on the bar. Service is ok but the young staff would benefit from an obvious supervisor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Basle123
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Called in here on a the way home from Christmas shopping as a last minute decision. So glad we did . Again this place didn't fail to please . Lovely and welcoming , the Christmas decorations were great . We were seated by a very smiley waitress ( I wish I had taken notice of her name ) and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank exhausted
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Exhausted Thank you for taking the time write such a lovely review, we all really appreciate your kind words. I am pleased you and your partner enjoyed your food especially the burger, one of my favorites too. Please join us for New Years eve, it's a great night with a real party atmosphere, but book early as we sell... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have eaten here on many occasions and have always enjoyed my stay, I don't know how people find so many negative things to say, the staff are always attentive and polite, even if the service isn't as quick as usual I wouldn't complain as it is clear to see the staff are buzzing around attending to others and in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Josie A
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Josie Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The team work extremely hard and sometimes under enormous pressure, especially with all this illness around, and yes sometimes we get it wrong but will always put it right given the opportunity so thank you for your kind words, we all really appreciate it. We look... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked a table for a family get together Sunday 20th, as a large party we were asked to pre order our food, which we did, we still had to wait an hour before our starters came, 2 of which were missing. wed been told it was leek and potato soup..it was tomato!! we asked 3 times for mustard which... More 

Helpful?
Thank alisontunnah
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Alison I am so sorry we failed you on your recent visit. I have personally emailed you. Regards Anthony More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

well it's a long time since we last ate in the greyhound and it will be a long time till we go in there again...our granddaughter had the chicken dinner from the childs menu which was ok apart from the massive hair in the yorkie ..ugh. my wife and I had the Wiltshire ham and eggs which weren't presented very... More 

Helpful?
Thank barry h
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Barry I am so sorry we failed you on your recent visit. I have spoken with the head chef so he can investigate why this happened and to ensure this doesn't happen again. I have emailed you personally. Regards Anthony More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Waited over an hour for food, only arrived after complaining twice, then had to wait ten mins more for gravy, again only arrived after complaining. never asked if we wanted any more drink. food was ok!

Helpful?
Thank ecrosshs
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Ecrosshs I am so sorry you had to wait so long for you food. I'm not sure what day you dined with us so i have messaged you personally so i can investigate thoroughly. I have passed your comments onto the head chef to review. This is not our normal standard we pride ourselves on so i will address... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have eaten here regularly over the years and found it to be good value for money. This time I ordered the ribeye and my wife a sirloin steak. It was a Friday lunchtime and the pub was more than half empty but it still took 40 minutes for the meal to be served. The steaks were... More 

Helpful?
Thank geoff956
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Geoff Thank you for you review. I am sorry we failed you on this occasion. As you state you have eaten with us many times over the years and it has always been good so i can only apologise again and reassure I will investigate as to why you had to wait and your food was luke warm. As... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went today with friends, for lunch. Easy parking. Lovely atmosphere. Drinks were served quickly but had to wait about 30 minutes to have food order taken. Good quality food at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank DLGJ
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear DLGJ Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sorry you had to wait to be served I'm not sure why that happened but i will look into that. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Anthony More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was nice, but shocking service. The trouble is that all of the staff were so young, they don't know how to resolve issues. Just goes to show that employers need a team that includes the young and the older. Experience is gained through time in the job and it can't all be taught in the classroom.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
Anthony R, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Ian Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed for food. We do have a good mix of staff and like to give the younger ones an opportunity to gain experience by working with the more experienced team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Anthony More 

Travellers who viewed Greyhound also viewed

Clay Cross, Chesterfield
Alfreton, Derbyshire
 
Clay Cross, Chesterfield
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Higham
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 832016
Description
The Greyhound is situated on the A61 between Chesterfield and Alfreton in very beautiful surroundings. We serve the tasty Tavern Table food menu which proves to be very popular amongst customers, especially the famous rotisserie chicken, cooked fresh in house all day. Our food is served till late on weekdays and weekends, and outside a roomy beer garden, patio and children’s play area are just perfect for when you want to take five and have a sip of your favourite tipple! So please drop by the Greyhound when you can!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Greyhound and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Greyhound staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?