We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greyhound

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
+44 1773 832016
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (5 reviews)
“the pub” (22 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

After reviewing this place back in August and welcoming the new manager, we visited yesterday evening, OMG at a popular meal time there were 2 members of staff on duty who were supposed to allocate tables,serve drinks, take orders and deliver meals!! I seated my...More

1  Thank aw19612017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went up for drinks no peroni glasses no white wine bar staff rude and don't care Shocking customer service

2  Thank Jade C
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jade Please give me a call and I will be happy to discuss this further with you. Kind Regards John Crowder General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here with a couple of friends, was seated promptly and our drinks order taken and arrived quite quickly. My friends had the gammon which they said was lovely. I had the lasagne and ordered a portion of chips. Which looked lovely, although on eating...More

Thank Ninja_queen666
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ninja_queen666 I am sorry to hear that the lasagne and chips were not to the standards you anticipated. I will look into why you was not given a check back. I am glad that you enjoyed your puddings. Please accept my apologies and please...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in this pub on a chance visit, on getting out of the car food smelled appealing, ordered 2 drinks (Quite expensive) and 2 Sunday lunches one chicken and one beef, first of all it came with no potatoes which we queried and were promptly...More

3  Thank sueO5330QO
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue05330Q0 I am sorry to hear of you disappointing visit to us. I am glad that the team promptly sorted the bill for you. I will speak with my kitchen team and look into this. Please accept my apologies and do not hesitate to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called here with my girlfriend and her mother but ended up wishing we hadn't. Seated ok and drinks and food orders taken fine. When our starters arrived the soup for the girlfriends mum was delicious but the trio of starters chosen by me and the...More

1  Thank scott b
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Scott b I am sorry to hear of your disappointing visit with us. I can assure you this is not our usual standards here. I will discuss in detail with my kitchen team the standards you received. I am glad that the service you...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Went with my friend for dinner. We both had burgers & sweet potato fries - which were delicious. The food and service is excellent and has a great atmosphere, highly recommend for a Sunday lunch.

Thank Sarah W
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sarah Thank you for your great comments. I will pass your feedback onto my team Kind Regards John Crowder General Manager

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Called in at this pub/restaurant on the way back from Derby at about 4pm. It was easy to find a table at this time and we perused the menu for a while. A guy came for our order of drinks and we gave him our...More

Thank Sammie134
Management_greyhound, assistant manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write the kind review you have left, I am glad that you had a lovely experience with us here at the Greyhound. I will pass your comments along to the team, we hope to see you again, Many...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Really tasty pub food. Excellent choice of food and drinks. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in this family friendly pub. Special mention to Tyler G and his amazing service. He could answer all questions and made sure we had the best service ever. When a drink came...More

Thank Katie P
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I will pass your comments onto the team especially Tyler! Sorry about your drink not arriving but glad that he rectified this for you. We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Went for a anniversary meal today, the staff was very welcoming. It didn't take long for the meals to arrive, they was lovely and well presented. Thank you to all the staff

Thank Jennifer W
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Congratulations on the Anniversary! and thank you for your lovely comments I will make sure these are passed onto the team! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 August 2017

After an earlier visit to this restaurant I received a very nice apology from the manager who invited us to return for another meal. This we did yesterday and were very pleased with the meal we had. Although there seemed to be a shortage of...More

Thank Margaret E
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments I will pass these onto the team. I am glad that on this visit we managed to restore your faith in us and hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough Inn at Brackenfield
300 reviews
3.12 km away
The White Horse at Woolley Moor
301 reviews
3.22 km away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant
121 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wingfield Manor
13 reviews
4.30 km away
The White Hart Inn
43 reviews
4.40 km away
Chuckles
11 reviews
4.57 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
98 reviews
5.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Winniemiller
17 July 2016|
Answer
Response from roz1409 | Reviewed this property |
Birthday meal or not, if something is not to your liking then you should tell one of the staff, if not at the table then make an excuse to leave the table and see someone at the bar, another drink or going to the loo is an... More
0
Votes
willow1970
12 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rita H | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest that you phone the Greyhound Inn.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Higham
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 832016
  • E-mail
Description
The Greyhound is situated on the A61 between Chesterfield and Alfreton in very beautiful surroundings. We serve the tasty Tavern Table food menu which proves to be very popular amongst customers, especially the famous rotisserie chicken, cooked fresh in house all day. Our food is served till late on weekdays and weekends, and outside a roomy beer garden, patio and children’s play area are just perfect for when you want to take five and have a sip of your favourite tipple! So please drop by the Greyhound when you can!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing