We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Inn

Four Lanes End, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8RB, England
+44 1298 871371
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“pie” (16 reviews)
“pudding” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Four Lanes End, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8RB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Food was nice enough, though marginally more expensive than similar pub grub in the local area. Burgers are substantial and tasty; their "famous" steak & ale pie nice in small amounts, but a little too much plain rich meat in hard pastry for my personal...More

Thank Hollow_Plugh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Despite being an obvious 'A' road stop-off, this pub delivers more, with decent home-cooked food (especially the pies), well-kept Robinsons ales and a friendly atmosphere. Dog-friendly too - really helpful barmaid Serena made sure Indie's needs were catered for as well.More

2  Thank Tblhse
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review. I have forwarded it on to Serena and the team. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Steak and Ale pie. We have a Pie of the Day on our new menu starting next...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with our 2 children. Read reviews prior to booking and expected decent/above average pub food. Ordered chicken and vegetable curry and spaghetti bolognaise. Worst meal I've ever been served. Have never experienced cabbage in a 'curry' before and I think there is a good...More

Thank catdw026
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to our little pub. As you mentioned in your review, we usually get such good feedback. I certainly don't understand how you ended up with a curry like you described, as you can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first question I ask myself is why we have never been here before when we are regular visitors to the area. We arrived mid afternoon on Sunday. All the usual bar favourites avaialble as were Sunday roasts - beef, lamb and a nut roast....More

2  Thank Tricky273
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Our pub manageress put your review on our staff forum, everyone was very pleased. It always means such a lot to the team when we get such a positive review. I was especially pleased to hear...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good pub fare, all the usual suspects are home cooked well. Decent selection of cask ales. When we visited our order hadn’t made it to the kitchen, but the landlady was really apologetic and offered us a decent discount, so all was well.More

Thank WeAreYork
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. Thank you so much for your feedback. I did hear about your order escaping the kitchen, and can only apologise for this. I certainly could never accept full payment for your order although I was fairly relieved to hear that we did manage to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter is gluten intolerant and dairy is a problem and they kindly worked around it and in fact had dairy free butter. A bonus for us having had a long drive behind us and an even longer one ahead, we felt we had a...More

1  Thank RobynBSydney
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello. Thank you so much for your review. I myself didn't even realise that Polly (our chef) stocked dairy free butter until recently. I am very proud of our little pub and it's wonderful team. It means a lot to receive such positive feedback. I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across the Anchor whilst waiting to check in to our cottage at the start of our Easter break. Such a lovely warm welcome meant we returned a number of times throughout our holiday and ended our holiday with a meal at the Anchor....More

3  Thank Becky1912
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello again. I must say, it was an absolute pleasure. It's wonderful to meet such lovely people. I have sent Serena (who sat 'Teddy' at the table) the picture you sent of your daughter and 'Teddy', and she was over the moon. I hope to...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Had a meal here on a fairly quiet Thursday night, shared a starter of Haggis Scotch egg, very good. Then Steak and Ale pie for me, it was good (I’ve had a few and I have a theory that you can tell if the food...More

1  Thank Glyn F
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello. Thank you ever so much for your great review. You mustn't worry if the chef has made their way to the bar after their shift. You will always be more than welcome to have a dessert after your meal as they usually wait around...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

always good to go back to the Anchor Inn if just for a pint or a meal, extensive menu, fine ales and helpful friendly staff.

1  Thank Peakparker
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello. Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review. Its always great to get such positive feedback. I look forward seeing you again soon. Rick

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Just eaten here, girlfriend had the steak pie which must of come out of the freezer and I had the T bone pork chop with mash, the mash potato was like a solid lump, over priced for a disappointing mealMore

Thank Mark H
Rick E, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. As I'm sure you are aware, we usually get such positive feedback. I was actually very surprised to notice that none of the many complaints that you gave us on the day were listed on your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tideswell Hotels
The Barrel Inn
176 reviews
4.39 km away
Monsal Head Hotel
441 reviews
5.39 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
372 reviews
6.70 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
523 reviews
7.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
High Nellys
144 reviews
1.01 km away
Red Lion at Litton
454 reviews
1.18 km away
The Merchant's Yard
281 reviews
.81 km away
The Village Shop
15 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Cathedral of the Peak
107 reviews
.88 km away
Flossy Teacake
16 reviews
.85 km away
Peak Volumes
9 reviews
.91 km away
The Star Inn Official
9 reviews
.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Loz L
11 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rick E | Property representative |
Hello. We serve food all day everyday until 9pm. For all enquiries or if you would like to make a reservation, please contact yme or one of my staff on 01298871371 between 0900 and 2300 7 days a week. Thank you for your... More
1
Vote
Bev L
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from CJSamp | Property representative |
Hi Bev, Yes we have a children's menu. You can find all of our menus on our website. We look forward to welcoming you soon :)
1
Vote
Andrew J
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Four Lanes End, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8RB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Tideswell
  • Phone Number: +44 1298 871371
  • E-mail
Description
.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing