We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Folly

) #1 of 31 Restaurants in Towcester $$ - $$$ European, British,
London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
+44 1327 354031
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hash” (15 reviews)
“guinea fowl” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

If any pub deserves 5 stars it's this one. They have looked after my grandparents who have been regular (and very difficult) customers for a number of years now, as well as the rest of my family. No other pub in the area is as...More

1  Thank Vobro
Reviewed 3 days ago

Fantastic Sunday meal that we had ,gorgeous pork and roast dinner, lovely desert too ,prefect for a lovely evening, will be booking again soon .The staff do a fantastic job at looking after us too

Thank juliebnorthants
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Julie for your lovely review. Great to hear that your anniversary celebration was a big success. We look forward to seeing you again, soon hopefully! Regards, Team Folly

Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited The Folly for the first time on 10.8.17 for a birthday meal. The inn is beautifully decoratied, the service attentive but not intrusive and the food delicious. What more can you want?! Try the dessert platter which is memorable and saves you the trouble...More

Thank Shirley D
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Shirley Fantastic review - thank you so much. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Team Folly.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited twice again on another trip back to the UK. Took my parents for lunch and we all really enjoyed the £17 lunch special. Also went back another day for dinner which was also delicious.Very attentive service and there is something on the menu for...More

Thank Alan W
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks Alan for high praise review which is much appreciated by all. We hope to see you again on your next return to the UK! Kind regards, Team Folly.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always love a meal here. Good food friendly staff. What more could you ask for? A free drink with meal maybe?

Thank CarpenterNicky
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nicky Thanks for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Team Folly

Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my daughter to eat last night , 8th August and although the staff were attentive the wait for our food once swiftly ordered was unacceptable. Very nearly 20 mins . The food when received was mediocre to say the least . Bairley warm...More

1  Thank ianbowden111
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Ian for taking the time to post your comments following your recent review. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment. We are very proud of our high standards and it is of great concern when a customer leaves disappointed. As our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i visited here with afriend. the atmosphire is lovely the service was good and the food was amazing but in my opinon over priced. we had a lovely meal but we thought that the prices were too high you could not afford to go very...More

Thank clairesilvey
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Claire Very pleased to hear that you overall you enjoyed your dining experience with us. As we only source high quality local ingredients, serve generous portions and cook all food to order, this is represented in our pricing. I am sorry to hear that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have passed the Folly on many occasion but never stopped. Out of interest we decided to see if it was a good as the reviews. We were not disappointed. Great food cooked and presented to a high standard. The staff were attentive but not...More

Thank kaye626
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kaye, thanks for the great review. Best wishes, team Folly

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

‘We visited The Folly, as we were staying in Towcester on route to the F1 Campsites. Last year we had popped in for desert only and had the tasting platter, which was so nice we booked for a full service this year. We were not...More

Thank stixnick
Robert J, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you managed to find the time to enjoy a full meal with us this year. Hope to see you for Grande Prix again next year. Kind regards Robert, David & team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here one evening for dinner. I highly recommend making a reservation, especially on a weekend as the restaurant is very popular. The food was absolutely amazing. I can highly recommend the pulled pork hash for starter - this was probably our favourite dish...More

Thank Louisa R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough, Towcester
139 reviews
1.29 km away
Dilraj Indian
268 reviews
1.12 km away
185 Watling St. Pub & Kitchen
449 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whittlebury Park - Golf Course
20 reviews
4.56 km away
The Canal Museum
155 reviews
4.64 km away
Silverstone Circuit
963 reviews
5.72 km away
Gayton Marina
10 reviews
7.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
supercritic2015
31 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
We are around 4 miles away - still close enough to hear the roar of the engines on race days!
0
Votes
Jacqui P
30 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert J | Property representative |
As explained many times in these reviews we are a RESTAURANT and diners take priority. When we are busy we simply do not have the space for guests looking for a quiet drink as EVERY table is booked. We are not a pub - that... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26 - US$52
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:15
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Towcester NN12 6LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 354031
  • E-mail
Description
The Folly is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by rolling countryside on the A5 opposite Towcester racecourse. The original building dates back to the mid 1700's and is the quintessential thatched English inn, full of character and understated style. The Folly is a destination venue for those looking for exceptionally good and innovative cuisine. Head chef David Horak sources local ingredients where possible and uses them in imaginative dishes based on great British classics with a contemporary twist. All food is cooked to order from fresh ingredients in our own kitchens. To the rear of the building the garden offers a secluded and safe area away from the main road. An ideal space for families and those with their four legged companions! On fine days al fresco dining is available here. Easy to find, ample car parking for up to thirty vehicles and easy access makes The Folly is an ideal place to meet up and dine with friends, family and colleagues.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing