We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowled Over Bistro

) #1 of 13 Restaurants in Cooktown $$ - $$$ , , Vegetarian Friendly
129 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
+61 7 4069 5829
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
129 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We usually come up to Cooktown every few months and every so often we eat at the bowls club. Wednesday we had lunch and it was lovely. My husband had the Spanish mackerel burger and I had the salt and pepper calamari. The calamari was...More

Thank bmjohno
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided on the bowling club bistro in Cooktown based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Arrived for dinner at about 6.30pm on a Sunday evening. Menu was general club bistro food. We waited an hour for our meal. Not sure whether understaffed or just disorganised. A woman sitting...More

Thank Katrina68
Kimberley S, Owner at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Katrina68, You can be assured that we hold the number one spot for restaurants in Cooktown based on our consistent excellent service and quality meals - the reviews you read were reflective of our usual high standards. However, we are but human and unfortunately...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My Husband & I ordered the most amazing Mackerel & Steak burgers today. A must if you are wanting a fabulously and deliciously tasting burger that isn't round and soggy like most burgers are 😃😃😃yummy👍👍👍👍

Thank Annemarie B
Kimberley S, Owner at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Annemarie B, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We are pretty proud of our burgers - they are certainly something special :) Thanks for reviewing us and submitting some photos as well! Best regards

Reviewed 17 June 2017

had a meal here during our stay here, beer was good, the crab brucshetta was interesting, had the seafood basket was filling and fine to eat. wife had the barrumundi she enjoyed it ,its a club resturant its fine

Thank peter c
Kimberley S, Owner at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review peter c. We're glad you chose us for a meal and drinks during your stay in Cooktown and hope to see you again some day. Best regards

Reviewed 13 June 2017

We stayed a number of nights at the Sovereign Resort and decided on a change of venue and menu for dinner. We chose the Bowled Over Bistro based on its TripAdvisor reviews. Whilst the caterers can't do anything about the setting eating here is a...More

Thank GraftonRiverguide
Kimberley S, Manager at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hi GraftonRiverguide, While I'm disappointed we only earned a three star review from you (and based on your comments, we may have been lucky to get that), I am very thankful that you took the time to give us a comprehensive description of your experience...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Tried out this restaurant on the basis of the rating of TripAdvisor. It seems there may be too many travellers to Cooktown with fairly low expectations. Our meals were overpriced and very average. The staff were friendly and the beer was cold. But not 4+...More

Thank John D
Kimberley S, Manager at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Hi John D, Thanks for your feedback about our restaurant - we do appreciate all comments good, bad and otherwise. It would have been good to know which meals you ordered that you felt were overpriced and average. We pride ourselves on excellent value and...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Not impressed with the meal we had barramundi chips and salad $29 so that nearly $60 for two a thin slice of fish small chips and tiny serve a tied salad not what we call a good bowls club mealMore

Thank getaway101060
Kimberley S, Manager at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hi getaway101060, I'm sad to hear you found our meal over priced and small in size. This is certainly not the usual standard of meals we provide. Our barramundi sells for $28 with a choice of two sides and is cut at an average weight...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Spent one night in Cooktown and decided to have dinner here. The food is a little on the exy side, but considering where Cooktown is located this is to be expected. My daughter had a pasta dish and I had a supreme pizza...and the pizza...More

Thank Chickababe04
Kimberley S, Manager at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thanks for your review Chickababe04. I do apologise about the excessive wait time you experienced on your meals - we are normally quite quick to get meals served. I'm guessing you dined with us on one of those nights when we weren't expecting to be...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent bistro food. Reliable and tasty. Good portion sizes. Good service and wide variety of beers on tap. Menu changes from time to time. Lots of local options available. Limited healthy / salad options. Love this place. Eat here regularly.More

Thank Joshua M
Kimberley S, Owner at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Joshua M and thanks for your review. We always value honest constructive feedback and appreciate you pointing out that our salad options were limited. As such we've recently introduced a new Calamari Caesar Salad and a Panzanella (Italian bread salad) as well as a...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Didn't get to play bowls but did get a chance to try the bistro for lunch. All good. Service quick and efficient

Thank Ross H
Kimberley S, Manager at Bowled Over Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

That's great to hear Ross H. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about us and we hope to see you again some day.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cooktown RSL Memorial Club
79 reviews
.03 km away
Capers Cafe
124 reviews
.14 km away
Restaurant 1770
122 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grassy Hill
350 reviews
.71 km away
James Cook Museum
331 reviews
.48 km away
Cooktown History Centre
54 reviews
.14 km away
Nature's Powerhouse
75 reviews
1.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bowled Over Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 20:00
Monday
17:30 - 20:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 20:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 20:00
12:00 - 14:00
Thursday
17:30 - 20:00
12:00 - 14:00
Friday
17:30 - 20:00
12:00 - 14:00
Saturday
17:30 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Cook Shire  >  Cooktown
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4069 5829
  • E-mail
Description
The Cooktown Bowls Club has new restaurant operators. Our large menu with nightly specials is sure to please everyone. Options for special dietary requirements. Open for lunch Wed to Fri and dinner 7 nights. Family friendly.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing