We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Bar, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
+61 7 4093 9939
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose this restaurant because of its view. The service was so-so but the food was bad. I ordered lasagna and husband ordered steak with mashed potato. Lasagna was tough and tasteless. Steak was overcooked and mashed potato was terrible. I mean, how hard it is to cook lasagna and mashed potato??? I never ate food worse than this. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah77s
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was poorly cooked, a embarrassing disgusting marsh potatoes you would not tell what kind of meat you were eating and a salad out of a $2 Coles salad bag dry no dressing and nothing to dress it with. When speaking to the owner about the poor quality and overpriced food he walked off as I was explaining to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mokush' V
Ray G, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your meal. We make our mash potatoes fresh on the premises. We served over 3000 people during this holiday season and you are one of the kind who assume who is the owner and naming him rude without considering the hardship behind every small business. You had the menu with all the... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived in Kuranda, hot & humid as always strolling through the Kuranda village to arrive at the restaurant which was just Was a Feral experience from the time we walked in. Not one staff member smiled when we walked in, delivered dirty water glasses after a 10mins on the table, menu had a bit of variation but when the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Ray G, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

Most of places in Kuranda are closing by 2.00pm. We cater till 3.30 pm in order to accommodate visitors who are not rushing and having a late meal. If the meal was not to your standard, we could change it upon your request. It is constructive to communicate whenever there is an issue rather than complaining on social media! More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

$97 for 3 heavily over salted meals!! We were conned by the title 'Rainforest View' and after sitting down we realised it was an old patio area with some trees. After perusing through the menu we had a 'Seafood basket' where all items were obviously not fresh but packaged frozen items. Next up was the 'Ocean Spray' which was another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon F
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I only came to this restaurant because we wanted to get out of the heat and it advertised as, "air conditioned" I don't think they were working, but we were so hungry so we stayed. The restaurant looks tired and rundown, the decor at the restaurant is old and outdated. We decided to eat out on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizbo91
Ray G, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

We have four split large air-conditions indoors. The restaurant is open view from the verandah and because this is the hottest time of the year, even all four air-conditioned cannot respond to the heat! We have a large menu with many options which offers from fast food to take-away or a la carte menu. I assume you have chosen the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for some drinks and a light snack. It was lovely and staff were very friendly. We were able to sit outside and watch everyone was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Toasted ham cheese and tomato sandwich $12.95.. they have a $0.90 charge for toasting.. charge for milk? Go elsewhere

Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin D
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was ok but overpriced. Portions where very small. They advertise the place as air conditioned, not where everyone sits to eat. So many places to go, try them!

Helpful?
Thank Lars D
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rubbish, overpriced food. The food was so plain, I may as well have eaten a cardboard box. A few of us had foccacia, however i would better describe it as a crouton, it was that dry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was horrible. Waste of money Steak was over cooked. Mash potatoes were out of a packet. Nachos has hardly any salsa sauce....

Helpful?
Thank Nazza1985

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Australian
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Kuranda
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4093 9939

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?