We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chocolate @ No. 5

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Cafe, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
+61 8 8388 1835
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Thu 10:00 - 16:00
Fri - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although very expensive this was the best Mocha I have had since travelling in Europe. The coffee was delicious and obviously the chocolate of very high quality. Even the coffee art on the top was done well. The setting is lovely as it is a very old building. The bathroom is spectacular with the old wrought iron door handle, stone... More 

Helpful?
Thank doraCanada
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cozy cafe never fails to deliver. One could call me a chocolate snob and this gem in Hahndorf ticks all the boxes. I enjoyed a Venezuelan, single source hot chocolate. The perfect drink for a cold/rainy autumn day. I was in chocolate heaven. The coffees here are also yummy. Be sure to stop by. You cannot miss their bright... More 

Helpful?
Thank Biina64
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had waffles, hot chocolate and mocha which were all really good. The lady working there was very friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank elsiea07
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Hubby and i (and our family) have been regulars for a while and everything has always been absolutely flawless! About 8-9 months ago, my IBS informed me that i can't tolerate full cream normal milk in big 250ml+ doses. When we visited, i almost cried telling the lady i couldn't have one of her AMAZING hot chocolates so i just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Freyja T
Alison P, Owner at Chocolate @ No. 5, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the lovely words and your continued support! It's having customers like you and your lovely husband that makes being in hospitality worthwhile. I look forward to seeing both of you (and the rest of your family again)! :) More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely Magnificent products. So very friendly and Professional. Just a quick note: I was in Choc No5 when the when the group who made the poor review today was in. I was totally disgusted that this group of people used the cafe as a meeting place, used the facilities, took us space that is paying customers needed and they never... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole C
Alison P, Owner at Chocolate @ No. 5, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your support! It's actually quite embarrassing when people behave as badly as those "table occupiers" did (not having bought anything they can't in truth be called customers!!). We look forward to welcoming you again :) More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Made it very clear we we not welcome to the point of turning up the heavy metal music and accusing us of driving away other customers. In fact the other customer was my partner who felt uncomfortable and didn't like anything on the menu so said I am leaving while she had her meeting as an excuse. No offer of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Emma S
Alison P, Owner at Chocolate @ No. 5, responded to this review

Emma - just so everyone knows the real story, here are the facts: First and foremost, you were NOT a customer! You joined two other customers of mine at their table. So did another older gentleman. I was not aware that the customer who left was your partner. He wanted to sit in the other room which we do not... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Incredible truffles chocolate barks, gift packs but More than just amazing chocolate, great coffees, milkshakes, hot and iced chocolate and coffees, awesome cheesecake and so much more ❤❤❤ App won't let me add photos :(

Helpful?
Thank wendy d
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Tempted by the banana waffle but chose the chocolate brownie, extremely moist and fresh. Sometimes I find a Brownie dry & doughy but not at Chocolate No 5. Their desserts are the best.

Helpful?
Thank Pilchimon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We love the hot chocolates, iced chocolates and all chocolates there really. Quite expensive and they do charge for babycinos. Service is really average to poor though. We went when the Hahndorf night markets were on, and they clearly didn't want people there. They wouldn't serve anything that couldn't be done in a paper cup (which included iced chocolates). Someone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
Alison P, Owner at Chocolate @ No. 5, responded to this review

It's very clear that this was your first ever visit to Chocolate @ No. 5. Appalling is a very strong word to use and our service is by no means poor never mind appalling. You were one amongst 20000 people that arrived in Hahndorf and you have no idea how an influx of that magnitude affects the operation of each... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Hasty experience while the owner or manager grumbled repeatedly that they had closed 15 minutes ago! Arrived right on closing time and were grudgingly allowed to buy take away hot chocolate. It was very nice but in spite of vacating the shop to sit on a plastic chair outside in the shade for a few minutes (I did ask) we... More 

Helpful?
Thank GilaRivka
Alison P, Owner at Chocolate @ No. 5, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the hot chocolate :) We had in fact already closed when you and your family arrived. We know how disappointing that can be for a customer which is why (in our discretion) we SOMETIMES serve takeaway hot drinks whilst we are still in the process of packing up. It is unrealistic for you to expect a... More 

Travellers who viewed Chocolate @ No. 5 also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Chocolate @ No. 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian
Meals
Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide Hills  >  Hahndorf
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8388 1835
Description
Chocolate, waffles, chocolate drinks hot and cold, coffee ❤️

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chocolate @ No. 5 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?