We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alma Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Willunga SA 5172 11 Hill St, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
+61 8 8556 2027
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dinner on Tuesday night. A really great country pub. Friendly staff with good service. Meals are always a good size - we can rarely eat everything on the plate. The self service salad bar was good, but we did have to ask for bread (minor detail and we are not that precious). Always love the beef porterhouse schnitzel. Needless to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fleurieu-John
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoy coming to the Alma. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on our friendly service and delicious Beef Schnitzel (locally sourced). We get our continental bread loaves from Willunga Bakery so only to happy to slice more when required! See you again soon More 

Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Called in several times over the weekend of Fleurieu Folk Festival, lunch, dinner and even to pick up a bag of ice. Each visit was accompanied by a pint (or more) of Guinness. Friendly staff, always smiling, great staff and reasonably priced great food.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Kevin for taking the time to review the Alma, we really appreciate your feedback about our Guinness, staff and meals. Like you a Lot of people during the Folk Festival appreciated us having Guinness on tap, we certainly got practiced in doing the shamrock on top. Thanks again More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

True old country pub with friendly hosts, good service and hearty meals. Self serve vegetables and salad bar was an included bonus. The open fire was a welcome treat as well. Loved the bread and butter pudding! Very reasonably priced menu and no frills family atmosphere. You won't get candlelit ambience but you will get a great meal that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank millington16
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes the bread and butter pudding is a chef's secret family recipe. Hope to see you again soon More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Great pub prices for good quality and quantity food. Fast service and friendly staff. Have live music on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Really nice country atmosphere with friendly people.

Helpful?
Thank Heather J
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, you have said pretty much what we aim to do! Really glad to hear that feedback. Thanks again, Melinda More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

The food is perfect. We were not disappointed. We came back again tonight as last night was so good. Really good prices for resturant style meals. Presentation very nice.Service was professional. Atmosphere was relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Sara K
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and glad to hear of your positive feedback on our staff and food. We do try and offer really great value meals. Hope to see you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Top place for lunch. Couldn't fault the meal or their salads. Full of flavor and cooked to perfection. Recommend it to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Horst M
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a great catch up with your family. Love the photo! Thanks for your recommendation! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016

Dinner at the Alma with a traditional salad bar and veggie bar on the weekend was a real treat! The food is real country pub great with huge servings. The staff were friendly and delivered our meals remarkably quickly. To top off our already enjoyable night they had live music afterwards. What a nice bonus!! The Mighty Night Owls placed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karalyn P
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

We love having live music and The Mighty Night Owls played an awesome gig. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meals, yes the salad and veggie bar are always very popular on Friday and Saturday nights! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

So just moved to the area and friends over from interstate. So made a booking. Arrived on time for booking. Staff inform me table been given away. Wait in bar area for 30 mins. Given terrible table next to bar with everyone approaching bar standing over us! Food well below average. Shame they cant even cook a steak. Last time... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikndave
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was the one that greeted you on Saturday night and I could tell that you were disappointed for not having your table ready. As I explained we were booked out in both dining rooms and an earlier booking of 10 unexpectedly went to 12 and I had to rearrange tables which unfortunately made your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

We enjoyed the food and the good service at the Alma Hotel. The Alma is a cosy country pub well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Fay V
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

It certainly is cosy in winter, hope you grabbed a spot by the fire! More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

Recently stayed in Willunga went to the Alma hotel for dinner on our first night. The meal was delicious. A very generous serve. Ended up going back there the next day and again enjoyed a great feast. Had a game of pool and soaked up the atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank taylorm1801
Melinda M, Owner at Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We do pride ourselves on having a great and welcoming atmosphere so I'm glad to hear that came across. Also that you enjoyed it so much you came back a second time, its amazing how often that happens! Thanks again More 

Travellers who viewed Alma Hotel also viewed

Willunga, South Australia
Willunga, South Australia
 
Willunga, South Australia
Willunga, South Australia
 
Willunga, South Australia
Willunga, South Australia
 

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Willunga SA 5172 11 Hill St, Willunga, South Australia 5172, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Willunga
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8556 2027
Description
The Alma Hotel was established in 1856 and since then has been serving the hungry locals and tourists alike. Great value meals, warm hospitality. Local wines by the glass,relaxed beer garden. Come and enjoy a traditional country hotel

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alma Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?