We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Der Dutchman Restaurant

720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
+1 419-886-7070
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (42 reviews)
“pies” (26 reviews)
“noodles” (22 reviews)
Opens in 29 min
All hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Always deliciously cooked food, and great service! My grandsons and I are especially fond of the buffet! We love the chopped salad and chicken! We go there often and I had never written a review previously, so thought it was about time! The apple fritters...More

Thank Sally S
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I stopped in for dinner and we were treated to an amazing buffet, and afterwards we shopped at the country / Amish store and bought some fudge and baked goods.

Thank Michael S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food (as always) was good. It's a nice family style restaurant. We've been there many times for business meetings. But the server consistently walked up to the table (rudely interrupting our discussion) many times. It was great to have service that often, but the...More

Thank Joseph H
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joseph H, Thank you for your review and visiting us in Bellville. Your kind comments about our food are very much appreciated. We'll work with our servers about being a little too invasive and being respectful of our guests' conversations. If you'd like to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In the past, we looked forward to dining at Der Dutchman. My daughter had never eaten there so, we planned a Mother/Daughter/Grand Daughter weekend, with plans to dine at Der Dutchman. What a disappointment! We arrived at 5:30 and the restaurant was crowded but, the...More

Thank MissGov88
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MissGov88, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I'm extremely disappointed and embarrassed to hear that you, your daughter, and granddaughter had such a poor experience with our buffet, especially after you spoke so highly of us on your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not as good as they use to be. Nothing like Amish. Amish are better cooks than this. Buffet so so. Blueberry pie nothing near blueberry. Their crust made me think of store bought pastry. Didn't taste done. Filling tasted like it had elderberry or blackberry...More

Thank Jeanne B
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jeanne B, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We strive to deliver exceptional food reflective of the Midwestern Amish and Mennonite Communities from which we originate. I'm sorry and saddened that we failed to exceed your expectations and honor the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I generally avoid buffets if at all possible but will make exceptions for good food and this one did not disappoint. Good fried chicken, potatoes, salad. The bread pudding was good too. I would have loved some pie but was full with the buffet so...More

Thank comerharris
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for donuts after lunch at the Cafe with the grills, so when my husband and I were planning a trip to Cleveland to see the Garfield presidential site, we stopped here for breakfast and the wonderful donuts. We did not have the buffet,...More

Thank Sightsee_Eat
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

On our way south and saw the sign, thought we would try it. We both had the buffet. What they had was good, fried chicken, meatballs,pot roast, stuffing, mash potatoes etc. there was not a large choice and the salad bar was good. For $15...More

Thank Tim M
Reviewed 15 October 2017

If you enjoy comfort food, this restaurant is for you! The menu is varied and the buffet has many items. Pie is only $2 when you order the buffet. Try the oatmeal pie--it's amazing!

1  Thank Tracy C
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Just had great lunch at this der Dutchman restaurant this place is very clean the staff is very friendly the food is great the chicken was best I ever ate the waitress was great beside busy she treated us well the manager was real nice...More

Thank pierre s
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Buckeye Express Diner
184 reviews
.27 km away
Black Dog Tavern At Deer Ridge
82 reviews
.75 km away
K.C.'s Steak & Ribs
68 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mid Ohio Sports car course
54 reviews
9.13 km away
Malabar Farm State Park
117 reviews
12.19 km away
Kingwood Center Gardens
159 reviews
13.00 km away
Ohio Bird Sanctuary
59 reviews
12.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carmee R
Dear Jeremy or top Manager of Der Dutchman, I have not been to this restaurant in at least a decade, I see there is a common thread here. The food has gone down hill and does not have the same quality it had years ago and is not hot on the buffet. I see that you keep asking people what the problem of their meals was, I can spot these same issues. Surprised you don't see it. I am a frequent reviewer on tripadvisor, so naturally, I looked your restaurant up because I am coming to the area and wanted to bring family. I am very disappointed to see these issues and will probably look elsewhere to dine. I wish you would take care of these issues to return this restaurant to the wonderful establishment it once was. I hope to return when I see the reviews are a steady stream of positives. Loved this place! Thank you for reading my comments. Carmee Ross
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
Dear Carmee R, While we always strive for perfect reviews, we realize that we will make mistakes from time to time. We truly value all of our feedback we receive and work hard to learn from it and improve. We’ve had a few... More
0
Votes
conmer43
20 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
$17.99
0
Votes
conmer43
20 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dutchmanhospitality | Property representative |
Hi conmer43, we are open on Thanksgiving, 11am to 4pm, and the Thanksgiving Buffet is $17.99 per person.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Bellville
  • Phone Number: +1 419-886-7070
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing