We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Der Dutchman Restaurant

720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
+1 419-886-7070
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (44 reviews)
“noodles” (23 reviews)
“mashed potatoes” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 319 reviews

Reviewed today

The staff was very nice and friendly and it is actually very big restaurant, the food is typical Der Dutchman fair. The broasted chicken was a tad bit over cooked and the buffet service area is a bit on the small side for the size...More

Thank 358williami
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Well they passed with flying colors! Shared the full rack of ribs with husband and it was just right. Ribs were tender, moist and the sauce was good. I would stop again when we pass through.

Thank Cheryl D
Reviewed 6 days ago

Went here with a group of 40 people on a Friday night. Reservations had been made, but when we got there at 6:00 we were told they had lost our reservation. It took about 25 minutes, but we were finally all seated in different parts...More

Thank Helen711
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To go Heather did a great job making sure that I received all the product I ordered, Bravo! I was disappointed in the quality of the food. Pickles came with the burgers but it was missing the other items such as lettuce, onion, and tomato....More

Thank Deborah V
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear that you received great service from Heather and that your partner enjoyed their broasted chicken. However, I’m sorry we failed to meet your expectations on your meal. While our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in for breakfast and was impressed with the size, décor, gift shop, and restrooms. We had Shannon as a server and she was superb. We ordered an omelette and some bacon and eggs and the both were prepared just as request, accompanied by some...More

Thank James R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here is to die for! We get the buffet and the food is fresh, homemade, and delicious! Prices are excellent! We paid $14.50 for all you can eat. Worth every penny!

Thank Corinne T
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Used to love eating here as a kid. Stopped with my family after staying next door at the comfort inn. They have a very nice facility with gift shop and a buffet with a decent amount of food but the food really was quite bland....More

2  Thank dpzguy
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear dpzguy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you found our food quite bland. It is our goal to provide each of our guests with the delicious food and warm hospitality we've long been recognized...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Supper near our hotel while traveling through Ohio. Convenient to I-71 and hotels in mid-Ohio region. Food was good but not remarkable, could have been served warmer. Michielle was our server, helped us navigate the menu, and was helpful as well as friendly. We would...More

Thank Larry H
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My parents and I have been going here for years. The servers are all really nice and friendly. The bakery is really yummy but the main meal food is terrible. My moms salmon was awful, she couldn't even eat it. My dad wasnt a fan...More

1  Thank Lynn C
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Lynn C, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal on your recent visit with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I'd welcome the opportunity to speak with you more about this and have the...More

Reviewed 27 March 2018

Visited on a Tuesday for lunch, was a good lunch but didn't live up to the expectations we have from dining many times at the Der Dutchman in Plain City. But our server was very nice and accommodating, as well as all the staff there...More

Thank ohiocouple2843
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Bellville
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
258 reviews
.14 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center Bellville
96 reviews
.33 km away
Knights Inn Belleville/Mansfield
4 reviews
.41 km away
Mid Ohio Inn
50 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Buckeye Express Diner
193 reviews
.27 km away
K.C.'s Steak & Ribs
73 reviews
.33 km away
Black Dog Tavern At Deer Ridge
86 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mid Ohio Sports car course
55 reviews
9.13 km away
Malabar Farm State Park
121 reviews
12.19 km away
Kingwood Center Gardens
164 reviews
12.91 km away
Ohio Bird Sanctuary
63 reviews
12.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
happycamper890
21 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
Der Dutchman will be closed on Christmas Day.
0
Votes
Carmee R
Dear Jeremy or top Manager of Der Dutchman, I have not been to this restaurant in at least a decade, I see there is a common thread here. The food has gone down hill and does not have the same quality it had years ago and is not hot on the buffet. I see that you keep asking people what the problem of their meals was, I can spot these same issues. Surprised you don't see it. I am a frequent reviewer on tripadvisor, so naturally, I looked your restaurant up because I am coming to the area and wanted to bring family. I am very disappointed to see these issues and will probably look elsewhere to dine. I wish you would take care of these issues to return this restaurant to the wonderful establishment it once was. I hope to return when I see the reviews are a steady stream of positives. Loved this place! Thank you for reading my comments. Carmee Ross
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
Dear Carmee R, While we always strive for perfect reviews, we realize that we will make mistakes from time to time. We truly value all of our feedback we receive and work hard to learn from it and improve. We’ve had a few... More
0
Votes
conmer43
20 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
$17.99
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Bellville
  • Phone Number: +1 419-886-7070
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;