We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Townhouse

) #92 of 98 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea $$ - $$$ , British,
1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
+44 1424 211730
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good20%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
5 weeks ago
“not our cup of tea, great for the young ones!”
3 Jun 2017
“The Town house rubbish”
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a real sports bar and great for the the young ones, but to go in for a quiet drink? no. its noisy and the people in there need to shout over either the music or the TV's .. food is well priced though.

Thank Fidelma66
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This place is rubbish don't go This place has just had a refurb and is still the pits the staff have not been trained how to look after their customers and don't care

2  Thank andyshields2017
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

First things first, i highly disagree with the precious reviews! Visited this pub on many occasions since it re-opened its doors! Ive eaten here many times (the garlic flatbread and cheese and bacon burger are my personal favourites) and i can honestly say it nothing...More

Thank rachaelcarter1996
Reviewed 24 May 2017

After waiting nearly a month for it to re-open, I was hugely dissapopinted at the revamp this outlet has under gone. It was widely used throughout the week when the previous owners had the establishment, and we visited on numerous occasions as the visit was...More

Thank Robin P
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Came in for a drink and found prices change from one bar staff to next, seems first undercharged by 50p. When two drinks cost nearly £9, then over £9 one begs to question why..instead of 'customer service' telling you very sorry we made a mistake...More

Thank hilsxx
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Generally filled with people either watching some sort of sporting event or singing loudly and drunkenly into a microphone unless that wasn't karaoke and was in fact some sort of live music, which would be even worse. If you want somewhere to have a quiet...More

Thank Fist_ace
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

A fantastic lunch for the family with great food at even better prices. Everything youd want on the menu from a pub and all meals were lovely! Highly recommended!

Thank Kevinb2147
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Many thanks for your kind words, we do try our best and the team will be happy to hear your positive feedback. Thank You

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Came in for lunch with friends. The waitress didn't clean our table when we sat down. It looked like it had been there a while. The food itself was good pub food and very reasonably priced. We did have to ask for cutlery too. Overall,...More

Thank Rachie C
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Visited for first time with my son Matthew and family. Very good service and food. Will hopefully be back for Sunday lunch tomorrow 👍

Thank 42Patsy38
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Be careful. Price on menu is not necessarily price charged as 'stickers' may have been removed. Not the cost involved but the principal. When challenged the owner was very rude and had I not been with friends I would not have stayed. Although I work...More

Thank guestling2016
TownhouseTeam, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you for your remarks. Unfortunately due to a printing error on the menus corrections have to be made after printing to reflect the actual prices. We are not trying to mislead anybody and the price difference in point was a pound. You were offered...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Athena's Fish & Chips
275 reviews
.16 km away
The Culinaire
160 reviews
.11 km away
Wickham Bistro
59 reviews
.16 km away
Bentleys Steakhouse
436 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bexhill Beach
406 reviews
.72 km away
De La Warr Pavilion
643 reviews
.40 km away
Egerton Park
197 reviews
.50 km away
Bexhill Museum
122 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Niamhbarfoot
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from TownhouseTeam | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for contacting us, unfortunately we are a licensed premises and as such we are governed by certain conditions.....one being "any one under the age of eighteen must be accompanied by an adult" even then there... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$9
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 211730
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional English pub serving good quality traditional food, all cooked to order and served all day.We also offer a selection of real ales plus a large selection of lagers. For the finer weather days we have an exquisite beer garden with different zones for different moods, chilled and relaxed, alfresco dining and social meeting place, real flame heating and a fire pit provide a little respite against the English climate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing