We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori

) #35 of 99 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea $$ - $$$ Indian, , Asian
109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
+44 1424 219159
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (23 reviews)
“sag aloo” (3 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Balti, Asian, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant served really good food at a reasonable price. A pleasant atmosphere and excellent service. The only criticism was the draft Kingfisher was a bit dodgy.

Thank Conqueror17
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and for your kind comments and feedback.

Reviewed 22 June 2017

A most enjoyable evening meal, especially Mo, who was very attentive in making sure I enjoyed my meal. I like the fresh orange, as a courtesy dish, which cleans the palate very well after the main course. The Kulfi Ice-cream was also delicious! Hmmm! 😋

Thank Jeannette A
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users with 5 Stars! We're glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 June 2017

heard really good things about the restaurant, and the takeaway food. Ordered a small meal for me and the boyfriend, he had a chicken naga, which was beautiful; loads of chicken, vegetables and very spicy just as he likes. I ordered a king prawn korma;...More

3  Thank She_ra1985
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Particularly enjoy the Tikka Massala here and more recently the Dansak. Can often have quite a wait for takeaway, but this is understandable, they do offer a 10% discount on collection if you can't wait.

Thank Bexhillred
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our take-away service and for your kind comments and feedback.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Well the staff really need to smartern up. Thier uniforms were scruffy and shoes needed a good polish so goodness knows what the back of house is like. The guy who took our order was apparently the owner, well I felt as though I was...More

1  Thank Bish59
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review, we strongly dispute the factually incorrect comments in your review and believe them to be posted to the wrong location or to be vexatious. All our staff are well presented and we have excellent standards of dress. We have excellent...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I have been going to/ordering from this restaurant for years and I have yet to find a curry house that beats it! The food is delicious and the staff are so attentive and caring. I moved to a nearby town for a few years and...More

Thank ek8w
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Shiplu and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users with 5 Stars! We really appreciate such high praise from a valued, regular customer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Very tasty curry, my hungry family loved it. We were very impressed with the fast delivery, I thoroughly recommend them.

Thank 994ruth
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent takeaway and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users with ***5 Stars***!

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

I have eaten in the Shiplu for over 20 years. The quality of their curry is always of a high standard and personally I recommend their dansak . The staff are always attentive and the management very helpful and approachable.

Thank Eric A
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your custom over many years.

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We decided to visit the Shiplu as we normally visit the chilly tree. I have say the food was very nice but overly expensive in my opinion.

Thank barrytowner
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your review

Reviewed 2 April 2017

We have been here many times and enjoyed it but tonight it was not to be. Slow service and Luke warm food. Sent the rice back as it was cold and not much warmer when it was returned. The curry however was tasty but we...More

3  Thank LadyMorgana2015
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you were not happy with your dining experience on this occasion. Please don't let one less than satisfactory experience deter you from returning again, considering what a good time you have had on many previous...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chilli Tree
1,121 reviews
.09 km away
The Culinaire
166 reviews
.53 km away
Wickham Bistro
64 reviews
.57 km away
Bentleys Steakhouse
450 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bexhill Beach
418 reviews
1.04 km away
De La Warr Pavilion
658 reviews
.85 km away
Egerton Park
207 reviews
.87 km away
Bexhill Museum
131 reviews
.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MrGPL
24 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MrGPL | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry but we have been using shiplu for over 20 years now, we had the worst meal ever on this occasion AND on a previous visit with friends as well, [ had to complain to the sloppy english staff ,very embarrassing... More
4
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$26
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 219159
  • E-mail
Description
“We welcome customers to the best Indian Restaurant around. Our beautiful restaurant, attentive service and genuine hospitality is the ideal plae for a memorable night out. We guarantee you will want to come again and again and again. Every time you do, we will assure you of the same warm welcome, great food and wonderful atmosphere.”Eat in and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, along with our spectacular, mouth watering dishes, as the staff and surroundings take you through the mystical journey of India. Our 150 seat restaurant also provides a 20 seat waiting area where customers can enjoy a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant is equipped to welcome disabled customers. Our Authentic Indian Cuisine is targeted to the curry lovers and the first timers. Once you’ve tried a curry at the Shiplu, you’ll be a convert and regular customer. For parties of 10 or more, we recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment or waiting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing