We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ark

West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
+44 1273 517808
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (66 reviews)
“paella” (18 reviews)
“patatas bravas” (10 reviews)
Open Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Three of us had dinner here at the end of day one cycling from London to Paris, whilst we waited for our ferry to Dieppe. It had rained all day and we were drenched and exhausted. We couldn't have dreamt of a better welcome or...More

Thank Helen C
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are very happy to dry your clothes for you! We have many London to Paris cyclists visit us, many completing this arduous task for charity, so it is with pleasure that if the British weather is inclement on your journey, that we will make...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is beautiful but went for a birthday meal and the waitress was so miserable and quite rude in the way she spoke VERY UPSET! Ruined my birthday meal! Half past one i went and wasn't busy but very un-freindly waitress!More

2  Thank millie1232018
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I sincerely apologise if my waitress was not friendly. I have made enquiries to the staff regarding this incident & none of them have any recollection of being anywhere near rude. I have impressed upon all my staff the importance of their role in front...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Oh wow. Walked in and was greeted by the friendly staff and a quirky surroundings. Immediately felt very welcome. Great choice on the menu and the food was AMAZING when it arrived. Tapas fish platter and burgers were ordered and we were not disappointed. Great...More

Thank carolgparsons
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much! I love every aspect of my business, & I hope it is demonstrated in the whole ethos of The Ark. The decor has been designed, & lots of it handmade by myself. It is fantastic when we as a team receive...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a find! If ever you find yourself in newhaven this is the place to visit wether to be for a drink or for food! We initially popped in for a drink but the food coming out filled the restaurant with such a lovely aroma...More

Thank Bryony G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited The Ark on several occasions previously for a drink I was already aware of the lovely atmosphere and friendly staff that occupy this place. I suggested to friends we should have a meal here and was not disappointed. We were made aware of...More

Thank Andy B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently visited here over the easter bank holiday, we were a family of 18. The ark was very busy and all tables full. The staff working seemed to take it in there stride. The ladies working were very friendly and sorted any dietary needs...More

Thank Emma E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The one lady running the bar, taking the orders and serving was charming and very efficient. The quality of the food was dreadful, the worst ingredients can ever remember. A HUGE disappointment, we will certainly NOT retuen

4  Thank bwille
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in at the weekend for a couple of drinks not having been to the Ark for a few years. It's undergone a really nice makeover compared to the Ark of years gone by. It looks like the owners are running it as an upmarket...More

1  Thank bluesforeverSussex
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for popping in to see us. We constantly strive for the best, we provide excellent beers, wine & food, in a bar/restaurant which is uniquely decorated. Newhaven & its people deserve the best, which is why we offer premium products, such as Estrella. However,...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We booked here Mother's Day following a number of lovely meals here before, we were a group of 8, with 3 mothers, partners and children, we the adults ordered from the set menu, the roast shirt rib of beef and lamb shank were particularly tasty,...More

Thank Ben C
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much from all of our team! We care enormously about maintaining our standards. We are an family run, independent bar/restaurant, & everyone who we employ has dedication to our business. Special occasions are a huge responsibility to get right, & meet people’s...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Very disappointed with our family meal this evening. The Ark has been my families and friends favourite pub for a long time and we have enjoyed many occasions with excellent food and service. However today was very poor. Restrictive menu which we understood (however not...More

6  Thank Julie A
Dietcoke163, Owner at The Ark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Good Afternoon, I will contact you personally regarding this matter. Kind Regards Penny

Nearby HotelsSee all Newhaven Hotels
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
936 reviews
.97 km away
The White Lion Hotel
84 reviews
3.55 km away
The Avondale
101 reviews
4.26 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
704 reviews
7.40 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Padella D'oro
133 reviews
.14 km away
Luna Rossa Italian Restaurant Cafe & Bar
213 reviews
.67 km away
Newhaven Coffee House
56 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Newhaven Fort
256 reviews
.77 km away
Paradise Park
349 reviews
1.14 km away
DFDS Seaways - Ferry Crossings Newhaven-Dieppe
194 reviews
.16 km away
The Jolly boatman
8 reviews
.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
14 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dietcoke163 | Property representative |
We do Sunday lunch, as well as our full menu. We also have a Daily Specials board. Our menu is comprehensive, & will accommodate all tastes. If you would like to book please call The Ark 01273 517808 Kind Regards
Paul S
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Penny P | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Yes we do have gluten free options, one of which is an aubergine & chickpea curry, please ask our staff as there are also other tapas options. Thank you for your enquiry.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Quay, Newhaven BN9 9BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Newhaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 517808
A beautiful bar & restaurant, with riverside views, serving food all day, every day, cooked by our professional chefs daily. Traditional & Tapas menu. Table service inside. A lovely large beach garden. Customer car park. Live music Wednesday & Saturday evenings, & Sunday afternoons. Bar opens at 11am & closes at 12 midnight.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing