We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fowlers Farm

) #14 of 99 Restaurants in Braintree $$ - $$$ , British,
Cressing Road | Cressing Rd, CM77 8DH, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
+44 1376 551560
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (10 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
“pudding” (13 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cressing Road | Cressing Rd, CM77 8DH, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 572 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Attended tonight with my wife and son. Was seated quickly and handed the Menu's. I immediately thought it was quite expensive but we ordered anyway. My son and I ordered mixed grill and my wife an 8oz rump steak. Mixed grill was £16! See picture...More

Thank David B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great meeting place for diverse friends and family to get together for a nice meal and a chat. The round table is just perfect for communication and ambience. The food wasn't bad either and the service was just excellent!

Thank Elis T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite its outward 'worldly charm' appearance and inviting interior this restaurant is let down by mediocre food and only slightly better service.

Thank Adrian H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here a number of times and has always been a pleasant experiences. Great atmosphere, nice staff and beautiful inside and out. Just a shame its on such a busy road.More

Thank Paige W
General Manager A, Manager at Fowlers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Paige! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very fortunate that we get the privilege to work in such a beautiful historical building and the case of it being on the busy road is a shame but we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The GF and I stopped here before going onto Freeport shopping village where we had planned to eat. The lure of something different and sitting in a pub garden appealed. We sat outside and ordered drinks at the bar which were served quickly and at...More

Thank gilescorenwannabe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

this restaurant it used to be very good. but some how it doesn't really feel the atmosphere when we came here the potion of meal had decreased the size what a shame it is my localMore

Thank saintelina
General Manager A, Manager at Fowlers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your visit. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the atmosphere and portion size, I would love to invite you back to try us again as we feel the pub...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was nice to have a restaurant that was a little different close to this premier inn. Food was basically good, but expensive for what it was. Also, portions are small and attention to detail was lacking. I had to request the dressed salad which...More

Thank DJMDeb
General Manager A, Manager at Fowlers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello DJMDeb, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love hearing what our customers have to say. I'm sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience with us at Fowlers Farm. I can only apologise on behalf of the kitchen...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We ate here on Friday night at about 6:30pm (spontaneous dinner out) and it was quite quiet really, mainly people drinking not many eating. Staff were quite disinterested. Food came out fast. Food on the whole was okay We had 2 beef burgers which were...More

Thank ChloeLaurenStringer
General Manager A, Manager at Fowlers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Chloe, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We take appreciate any comments made. I'm sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your hollow veggie burger and the onion rings. You are correct, we do make the...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Called in for the late lunch menu after shopping. .....the pub was fairly quiet, the service was good and the food was very well cooked. The portions are not huge but ample for us , I even managed my pudding !! Will definitely eat here...More

Thank londonpeppa
General Manager A, Manager at Fowlers Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello londonpeppa, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We greatly appreciated any feedback given to us. I love a good pub lunch after a hard day of retail therapy. I'm glad to hear that the portion size was good for you and...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Visited as a group of 8 and we may have just gone on not such a good day for the restaurant / pub. Service was slow yet when presented the food was extremely nice and the staff were friendly but had possibly to much to...More

Thank world_is_your_oyster
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Las Iguanas Braintree
179 reviews
.79 km away
TGI Friday's
403 reviews
.77 km away
Prezzo - Braintree
310 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Notley Country Park
334 reviews
4.48 km away
Railway Carriage Museum
8 reviews
5.26 km away
Gosfield Shopping Village
56 reviews
6.47 km away
Paycocke's House and Garden
118 reviews
6.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ruththomas7 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can, there are benches there and it is nicely tucked out of the way. Sorry for the delay in replying.
1
Vote
adventure4567
13 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carol S | Reviewed this property |
I do hope not
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cressing Road | Cressing Rd, CM77 8DH, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Braintree
  • Phone Number: +44 1376 551560
Description
The Fowler's Farm in Braintree is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing