We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

$$ - $$$, British,
Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
+44 1277 249911
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I had book with head booking on the phone for 1630 not a problem, arrived and could see it was a bit hectic with painters on the out side, our waitress was wonder full but unfortunately the food was terrible and four times she...More

1  Thank Jonny P
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jonny P, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I am very sorry to hear that the painters and tradesmen were an issue, normally during the soft part of the remodel the works...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for family Sunday lunch. All food was presented well and tasted fabulous. I had the roast beef and the portions were sizable. Staff were very accommodating and friendly Will always return to this place if we are in the areaMore

Thank Callum B
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Callum B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Greyhound, Little Warley. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We are closing for a refurbishment next week, would be great if you could come back and see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a family of 4 with friends, a family of 3. Right from the off very attentive staff who made us feel very welcome, took our orders without rushing and checked regularly all was ok. Great selection on the menu for all 3 courses...More

Thank Honeymonster777
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wrote a while back about my bad visit here and how the food/service had gone downhill but am glad to say that it has once again improved and my family and I enjoyed a lovely meal here last week. Very varied and tasty menu....More

Thank NCoopz
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ncoopz, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Greyhound, Little Warley! It means a lot to us that we have improved and made ourselves better. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Received a warm welcome when we arrived and shown our table etc, the restaurant didn't  appear particularly busy. Drinks and food order taken with starters arriving in a good timely fashion and they were fine.  A good welcomed gap between starter and main, one of...More

Thank Mr-Worldwide-Innit
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mr-worldwide-innit, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I am very glad to hear that Hayley looked after you and did everything she...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Average for a Harvester restaurant The veggie mains option is limited Salad bar a bit unkempt Large car parking

Thank Popcorn99
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi, we believe that you have filled in a review for the wrong restaurant, we are not a Harvester we are a Vintage Inn. Have a nice day.

Reviewed 28 September 2017

I have eaten here on a few occasions in recent months and found the service at best mixed. The food however has always been good, both in quality and price. The chicken pie topped with puff pastry at £9.95 and fish and chips at £11.50...More

Thank GKTravellers
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Greyhound, Little Warley. I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team. Thank you again we hope you have a nice day.

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Not been here for awhile as used to live nearby. Still a nice looking hostelry on the common and both food and staff do not disappoint. Our friends had a nice lunch today with us too! Their first visit!More

Thank juanita1946
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Juanita1946, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Greyhound, Little Warley! Juanita1946, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We went to the Greyhound at 6pm on Sunday 24th and were so disappointed . They had run out of Turkey and Lamb . As there is a Set Sunday Menu , we were surprised . We both had Beef and both portions were fatty...More

Thank Gail657
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Gail657, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I thought I would visit the Greyhound and oh Jesus mother of Mary was I impressed. Service was faultless went above and beyond. And the steak was out of this world, if I could have this on my death...More

Thank Joewoop
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Joewoop, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Greyhound, Little Warley! Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Masons Restaurant - Brentwood
804 reviews
2.48 km away
Boars Head
517 reviews
2.68 km away
Izumi - Oriental Buffet & Grill
465 reviews
1.62 km away
The Fat Turk
413 reviews
2.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thames Chase Forest Centre
124 reviews
4.82 km away
Hopefield Animal Sanctuary
184 reviews
4.65 km away
King George's Playing Fields
85 reviews
3.16 km away
Warley Place Nature Reserve
44 reviews
2.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mooie1983
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Louisa N | Reviewed this property |
Yes. We had two boys in our group. One 6 other 9.
1
Vote
Kay B
25 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Kevin Q | Property representative |
hi we have just changed our policy and dogs are welcome in the bar area of the pub. kevin gerneral manager
2
Votes
gemma r
5 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GTS_11 | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry I don't know....but they do have a garden, that I do know.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Borough of Brentwood  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 249911
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing