We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
+44 1277 249911
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 350: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took the family out for lunch and visited the Greyhound for the first time in about three years. It was a really poor experience: when we walked towards the entrance you could smell the cooking fat, once inside the door it looked lovely, but there was a strong smell of the fluid used to clean the pipes, which is rarely... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9april9
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was full and short of staff, hence service was poor, Starters all good, but main courses close to cold and under cooked or over cooked It would have been more sensible for manager to restrict bookings and give better service They did deduct cost of 3 meals, but no consolation So not going back

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi David P, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Greyhound, Little Warley take our reviews very seriously. I'm sorry to read we let you down on your visit yesterday. I have taken your feedback on board and will review this with my management team. Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and do... More 

UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us had lunch here today. We often visit The King's Head which is also a Vintage Inn pub but very rarely come to The Greyhound. We were all really impressed with the quality and value of our meals. Considering there was only two members of staff serving and the pub was busy, service was pretty good. There's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sewelyn
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. Its always nice for the team to hear when guests have enjoyed the experience so much and left a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Over the years, we have eaten at The Greyhound on numerous occasions, mostly out of convenience as we live close by. The food has never been great but more recently was bordering on Ok. However, a recent visit with family proved that it is now, once again, ploughing the depths of truly awful. The 'new menu' was the old menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to lave a review. I'm sorry that we let you down on your recent visit. We have just recruited a number of new chefs into the business and will be turning around the quality of the food produced. I apologise with the several out of stock items this is due to supplier issues... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been regular visitors to the Greyhound but after a series of bad experiences we had stopped going. Friends said it had improved, so we deceived to give it another chance. Very disappointing. Items missing from the menu, no lemon for the fish (no apology given), they were not busy but the service was very slow. The staff had... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahfletcher2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Im sorry that we elt you down on your recent visit. I have been through your feedback with the team and rectified the issues you encountered, so your next visit will be of the usual high standard we expect. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pub with a lovely atmosphere, varied menu and a good standard of food. Best chips ever! The place is dog friendly (bar and garden), the staff are friendly and I have never been disappointed by the food. The pub also provide high chairs. Only disappointing aspect is that they seem understaffed which is a shame as the pub is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for such a glowing review we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We are constantly review staffing numbers to make sure we have enough staff on to look after you and your dogs. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Upminster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Visited on a cold wet snowy day for lunch. Welcome was warm and we had no trouble being seated although we hadnt booked. Lunch was very nice, good food at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. I'm glad you had such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Went here last Saturday with my partner for Valentines meal. We ordered a sticky platter to share for starters. Not all the items of the starter was on the plate, plus it is called a sticky platter, there was no resemblance at all to a sticky platter on the plate. Chicken wings cooked in a deep fat fryer and no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nab7872
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry we let you down on this visit. We have re trained our kitchen team and recruited new chefs to ensure that the quality and speed is improved. More 

Grays Thurrock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Took my family for a Sunday afternoon dinner, long wait, and when my steak arrived it was well cooked when I ordered rare! Long wait for second steak and my family had finished there's by then, Will not be going back!

Helpful?
Thank Steve T
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thank you for leaving a review about your recent visit. I'm sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit. I have a new head chef started and she is in process of retraining the team and recruiting a few more chefs to help ease service and provide a better quality product for you. I'm sorry your visit... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Shocked if I'm honest at some of the bad reviews on here. Have been to this place more times than I can remember and have always been met with quality food, good service and left with a full stomach. Yeah sure there were a couple things sold out off the menu, but plenty of other choice..

Helpful?
Thank DanielMackay1985
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. Im please to hear you enjoy your meals with us. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Upminster, Greater London
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 249911

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Greyhound and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?