We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nags Head

) #31 of 138 Restaurants in Brentwood $$ - $$$ , British,
44 Brook Street, Brentwood CM14 5ND, England
+44 1277 260005
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good35%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“linguine” (10 reviews)
“salmon” (13 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44 Brook Street, Brentwood CM14 5ND, England
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Came here with my husband for our 36th wedding anniversary before we went away for the weekend. Hundred percent the best food and drink and ambience in Essex!!! And we have been all over. Incredible food, served quickly, fantastic friendly lovely beautiful staff, couldn't do...More

Thank susan0436
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on business and found this great pub. Food was really good with a good selection. I went for the pizza which was stone baked and cooked to perfection. My colleague had a cheeseburger and it was fully stacked!!!!! Really relaxed atmosphere with lovely staff....More

Thank Deke P
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Deke, So pleased to see you had sucj a fantastic time. The pizzas are delicious and made in house to order, including rolling and spinning the dough to its size and shape. We hope you visit us again. Thank you The Nags Head Management...More

A TripAdvisor Member
144
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My first visit to The Nags Head, I was not disappointed. They had a comprehensive menus and the food was very good. I would definitely return.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, Thank you for such kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Thr Nags Head Management Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit and what a lovely meal. Friendly staff very helpful. Great menu plenty to choose from. Food arrived hot & very tasty .Great roast dinners. Will definitely be going back.Reasonable prices.

Thank Dawn C
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Dawn, What lovely feedback. Thank you so much. The Nags Head Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for Sunday lunch, I haD the fishcakes and my husband and father in law had the steak. The food was okay, although difficult to understand how you can overcook peas! However someone needs to tell the chef that chopping up some gherkins and capers...More

1  Thank Diane C
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Diane, I am pleased you enjoyed the food but sorry you did not enjoy the tartare sauce made in house. If you would like to discuss things further please call 01277260005. Thank you The Nags Head Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

11 of us for Sunday lunch. Welcome and service given were very good and food was lovely. We all agreed the service and food had improved since our last visit 2 years ago and even then we had no complaints. As a group we meet...More

Thank lynpolly
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Lynpolly, So please to hear you had such a great time and noticed an improvement. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you The Nags Head Management Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bad service.boxed frozen fish.i made a complaint and asked to respond via email.no return email.just ignored.waited 30 mins for drinks.overall totally pretentious in every way.will never return.ruined my son's birthday

Thank charlie d
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Charlie, Sorry to hear this. please let me assure you that the fish is not boxed frozen. Please call 01277260005 to speak to a member of the management team if you would like to discuss this further. Thank You The Nags Head Management Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In just before 6pm to take advantage of 2 courses for £12 however was told can't have it as won't get food and pay before 6pm. Manager decided to take a stand and took the menus away from us. What a shame as the food...More

Thank beardandbean
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Beardandbean, I am sorry for this situation. We try to accommodate as best we can. Regarding the lunch time deal, our tariffs change automatically at 6pm. The manager on duty may not have explained this clearly enough so I apologise. We ask for a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated right next to M25 and a couple of good hotels. Welcoming Staff - nicely served drinks - god pub grub. Lovely garden at the rear - perfect for a sunny day.More

Thank Neil C
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Neil, I am so pleased to see you appreciate our delightful pub for what it is. Great food, amazing team and delicious drinks on a hot sunny day around the back in our lovely garden. Thank you so much for you kind words. The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great little pub with a varied menu and a good atmosphere. The food was tasty staff friendly and accommodating. I would like to try their Sunday lunch so will be returning at some point. They have a cute little garden area and...More

Thank Sara R
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sara, Wonderful to hear you had such a pleasant time at our establishment. We look forward to serving you again. Our Sunday Roasts are very popular. Thank you again The Nags Head Management Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull
525 reviews
.23 km away
MIZU Brentwood
335 reviews
.42 km away
Tudors Restaurant
67 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old MacDonald's Farm
807 reviews
2.87 km away
Hopefield Animal Sanctuary
166 reviews
3.01 km away
Weald Country Park
191 reviews
1.58 km away
King George's Playing Fields
74 reviews
3.25 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Danielle W
is there parking? cant find anything on the website
24 January 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Paul H | Reviewed this property |
Yes.. but go early on a Sunday as it gets full quite quickly, especially if the weather is nice.
0
Votes
Charlene M
Hi There, I complained about the level of service in my posting above titles “Nice food but really doesnt make up for the lack and unprofessional service!” and was replied back by the manager who said they would message me to follow up my complaint? I have no follow up which is even more disappointing!
26 February 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Kim0314 | Reviewed this property |
I didn't have any response. Would appear the service & food is hit & miss which is a shame we have been there many times & like the ambience very much.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$57
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 Brook Street, Brentwood CM14 5ND, England (Formerly Nags Head)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Borough of Brentwood  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 260005
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing