We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
+44 1245 250145
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (10 reviews)
“gammon” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked for a family reunion, the Plough provided us with a semi private long room on the ground floor for the afternoon. The plan was that the venue would solely be the base and that individual attendees could separately order and pay for their own...More

Thank JackcomebackDawson
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food, nothing too fancy, good atmosphere and good deals on the drinks and meals, frequent quite a lot with friends, good selection on tap, always clean and have a large selection of board games as well as plenty of tv's showing several different matches

1  Thank tomcof
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Tomcof, thank you so much for the positive review! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 11 August 2017

The pub seems a little dark inside, but appeared clean, and the tables were cleared quickly. We had two meals for £9.50, crazy price, very well cooked and quick service. There is a seating area out the back too for us smokers. The toilets were...More

1  Thank essexrainman
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Is Very good restaurant with a very good fish and chips.. is very tasty and also the price is good...

1  Thank Vivian M
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks Vivian for your great review we really appreciate you taking the time to leave this and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 10 August 2017

The Plough is my favourite place. The small yard on the back is very beautiful with tables that you may drink your beer and smoke. The best fish and chips !!!!!!

1  Thank Peny59
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Peny, thank you so much for the positive review! It's always great to receive such great feedback and will pass on your comments to my team. Hope to see you very soon.

Reviewed 7 August 2017

I love this pub its friendly clean and serves good food at normal prices and pours a really good pint of Guinness. I had the Italian chicken with sweet potato fries and it was absolutely delicious.

1  Thank Talia B
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Talia , we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Plough! Thanks for leaving us such a great review see you soon

Reviewed 29 July 2017

A nice pub with good value food. Main side has many TVs for sports fans. The reason for the poor rating is the poor service I received the other week here. Got off my train after day at work in London and fancied a beer...More

1  Thank crath121
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I have looked into this matter and have fully briefed my team as to practises with regards...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

To start food was good,there was four of us and food came out together,then met up with some work collegues was having a lovely time then a couple of other friends turned up so myself and hubby sat with them,now heres the strange bit the...More

2  Thank Sarah B
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Sarah, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I am looking into this and it would be great if you could provide me with some more info. Could you please call me on 01245 250145 many thanks Suzanne Manager

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Went here last night for dinner and had a really nice dinner! It was great value for money and the food was really nice. We had the nachos grande with BBQ pulled pork, which could have done with a bit more cheese but was really...More

2  Thank Jessica S
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hello Jessica, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Plough! , We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. The skillets have returned recently on our new menu and are extremely popular so it is great to hear you...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Went around lunchtime wasn't too packed clean tidy... Staff were nice enough... Had highchairs food was lovely really enjoyed it

1  Thank gennywenny
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you so much for your high rating! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Gurkha Restaurant
802 reviews
.19 km away
Il Palazzo
139 reviews
.12 km away
Zorba the Greek Taverna
338 reviews
.11 km away
Livedosa
276 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
189 reviews
.33 km away
Civic Theatre
38 reviews
.13 km away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
26 reviews
.38 km away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
18 reviews
.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 250145
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing