We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Head

Hight Street, North Weald, England
+44 1992 525001
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“wagyu burger” (3 reviews)
“sea bass” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hight Street, North Weald, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch yesterday , lovely pub , amazing and friendly staff . Food was delicious. Would highly recommend.More

Thank Marianne T
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Marianne, Its great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch yesterday at the Kings Head and that you would recommend us. I will pass along your kind comments to the team, who will be pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and ambience of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t normally leave reviews however after finding this gem I feel I had to. First what a beautiful old building and clearly well looked after! The service was outstanding, was there to help with any questions yet wasn’t intrusive at all. As for the...More

Thank Charmaine W
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Charmaine, Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are so pleased to hear that you recieved outstanding service from our team & enjoyed the food - we agree that the lamb duo is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us went there for lunch (5 June 2018). Two of us ordered burgers, one had the fishcakes and my wife ordered a rump steak. She tried eating her steak but pushed it away. Due to the fact that she has quite advanced vascular...More

Thank Raymond P
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Raymond, Firstly I would like to apologise that your recent visit to us did not meet our usual high standards. It is disheartening to hear that the issues you encountered with the quality of the meals were not rectified on the day. After reading...More

Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Great night in the kings head. Food,music and dancing. Great pub, but too convenient, I keep going back.More

Thank Stephen W
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Stephen, We are so glad you had a great visit for a messy night1 Thank you for coming to our Royal Wedding reception and supporting your local pub though I do apologise that it is too convenient for you, unfortunately you will have to...More

Reviewed 17 May 2018

appalingly overpriced food of a dismal nature. The so called coconut and sweet potato curry was a minuscule helping of white rice squashed in a bowl with a desert spoon full of a curry sauce over it. No svegetables in the sauce with three sweet...More

1  Thank Jackie M
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would like to apologise you felt that the dish that you ordered was not up to the expected standard, this is the specification for the dish however we would be happy to...More

Reviewed 16 May 2018

Went to the Kings Head this evening for dinner. My husband had a steak and mushroom pie and I had the salmon fish cakes. Both meals were very tasty with lovely fresh vegetables. We then shared a raspberry milkshake cheesecake which was delicious. The two...More

Thank Sandra J
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, We love to get great feedback especially about our great service and tasty meals. If your husband enjoyed the Steak and Mushroom Pie then you should 100% come and try our pie...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Just been charged £9.60 for 2 drinks that usually cost £7.60! Full of herself barmaid, apparently in charge while Emma is away. 12 ounce glass with spirit and loads of ice charged for 12 ounces of diet Pepsi!!! Seriously she needs training!!!More

1  Thank Ann H
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hi Ann, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your concerns over pricing. Whilst I appreciate previously you have been charged a certain amount unfortunately this is n longer the correct sum of money. This change is due...More

Reviewed 20 April 2018

Booked a table for four on on sunday Had to Queue to get are drink at the bar. The bar the bar was very busy at that time..There was only one barmaid trying to serve us .In the restaurant there was only one waitress trying...More

1  Thank David M
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi David, I would like to apologise if you experienced a long wait on your visit and assure you that this isn't our usual standard of service at the Kings Head. I am glad however, that you enjoyed the food & would reccomend us. Thank...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018

Popped in for lunch at 13:30 on Thursday, car park was busy and restaurant full, but plenty of table in the bar which were nice, and the open fire was welcoming. Only 2 staff on which was a shame as it meant bit of a...More

Thank Rick E
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Rick, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us - is is good to hear that you enjoyed the food & atmopshere on the day. I will pass your comments along to the team who will be pleased to know...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Booked table for 8 on a rainy Monday lunchtime and was surprised how busy the restaurant was. Delicious mushroom starter and garlic sticks. Proper thick ham with eggs and chips, cod and chips with mushy peas deemed to be yummy. Good selection of puds and...More

Thank winchmoren21
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit here and hope you will be back soon. It is always good to receive feedback on where we can improve as we continually aim to provide excellent service. Regards, The Kings Head

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all North Weald Hotels
Elmcroft Guest House
55 reviews
.03 km away
Harlow North Weald
9 reviews
.56 km away
The Bell Hotel Epping
439 reviews
5.23 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
681 reviews
5.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cinnamon Restaurant
272 reviews
.26 km away
Naafi Restaurant &The Squadron Mess Bar
41 reviews
1.27 km away
The Kings Head
41 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Car Limits
149 reviews
.56 km away
North Weald Airfield Museum
12 reviews
.59 km away
Chigwell Tours and Visits
25 reviews
.22 km away
Hover Limits
10 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Becca R
5 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Phil E | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I dont have a dog so cant say , suggest you give them a call
0
Votes
Loulou240987
8 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Chickie68 | Reviewed this property |
I think many people feel the same way. What was once a great village pub, great food, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere. Is now the total opposite. It's filthy! There is an awful smell coming From around the end of... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hight Street, North Weald, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  North Weald
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 525001
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;