We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waters Edge Cafe

9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
+44 1702 353331
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good24%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“latkes” (17 reviews)
“salt beef” (30 reviews)
“salad” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Do a brilliant fish and chips! Right on the waterfront so lovely setting and view good prices can't knock it!

Thank suzyjazzc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This little cafe is located amongst a group along the esplanade. We both had the salt beef lunch, nicely presented, very tasty. Good bottle of wine, nice coffee, friendly service. Great location. Will do again.More

Thank Ronald D
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing to review us, we welcome all comments. The Salt Beef is an homage to my Mother (she is still alive), had we not taken all the knowledge she has and incorporated it into our menu, those skills would probably have been...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Following our positive experience and review in September 2016 we have, as promised, been back twice so far this year. Despite an excellent enjoyable meal (only issue was I was too full to have dessert!) and perfect service the first time I told the friendly...More

Thank Jacqal
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you again for such a glowing review. You are completely correct, any eatery is only as good as the last meal it serves. We always strive to provide the same (or better) level of service as when we started the business 12 years again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us went on Thursday,we had Beautifully fried fish My wife had an omelette with salmon absolutely delicious Steve and his staff could not be more accommodating I have had their Saltbeef in the past,also fantastic . Excellent all round. We will back soon...More

Thank Bryan G
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bryan thank you so much for the glowing review, to keep up this standard is always a challenge, but a welcome one. I buy only the best quality products available, this seems to be justified by the number of clients returning time after time to...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

We went for an early walk just after 8 am and thought we would try somewhere for breakfast on the seafront. This was one of the few places open and ready to serve. We were the only ones in there to begin with but more...More

Thank Jphfitz
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review our cafe. Its great when we get such positive feedback, makes all the effort worthwhile. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing food and friendly staff. I'd heard so many good things about this restaurant and all of them proved to be true. The salt beef and latkes were fantastic (great job Steve's mum!!) and the gourmet burgers equally so. This will be my "go to"...More

Thank Pinky_081973
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

'Pinky' thanks so much for the glowing review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your meal with us, its brilliant when customers appreciate the effort we put in. Hopefully see you all again soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this cafe a month ago and returned today. On both occasions we had a lovely breakfast. The sausages are of a good quality, the bacon isn't fatty and the bread/toast is proper crusty bakers bread. The coffee was lovely too. The staff...More

Thank Royalnette
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you continue to enjoy the experience. A cafe is only as good as the last meal they produce, so we are delighted to have such a long list of satisfied customers...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Unsociable, they won't serve you for just drinks you have to order food as well, the man was very rude, the worst place I've ever been to for a drink and completely gutted with the service provided.More

1  Thank Elliot A
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

I remember you from Sunday, you came in and were given menu's, if you just wanted drinks, why accept them, we were very busy when you arrived, NONE of the cafes in the line would accept drinks only on Mothering Sunday. Had you mentioned on...More

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Mum and I popped here after a dog walk with my two dogs so nice to find a dog friendly place to eat inside in the warm! A great menu offering lots of choice, jacket potato, beans and salad was really good and mum really...More

Thank thirtyHerts
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you so much for the review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

In laws enjoyed our breakfast outing last month so much, we booked for birthday lunch. Wow, fantastic! Great food (great Salt Beef). Great staff and service. A real must, certainly coming back.More

Thank essexbrowny26
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Its great when people appreciate our efforts. We do work hard at the customer service side of the business, and you already know how good the food is, so we will continue to try and make...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Padrino
402 reviews
.02 km away
Coastal Bite
225 reviews
.05 km away
Flying Pasta
397 reviews
.02 km away
Piccolo Italian Restaurant
387 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Genting Casino
117 reviews
.64 km away
Westcliff Beach
62 reviews
.70 km away
Cliffs Pavilion Theatre
608 reviews
.25 km away
Argosy Toys
18 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jamie O
Do you allow dogs outside to eat?
2 October 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Justaski | Reviewed this property |
Have seen dogs both inside and out. Obviously to be inside, they have to be very well behaved and not cause other customers annoyance. So, go and enjoy x
0
Votes
Wendy K
Hi, My husband has asked me to renew our wedding vows at Leigh wharf next August after we cancelled this year due to the death of my father. We are hoping to do it early morning on a Saturday and wanted to come to yours for a "wedding breakfast" and as I will be in my wedding dress, it certainly would be!! Would this be convenient to you and your staff as we do not know what time you open in the summer. There will be about 7-10 max of us. We do know you generally do Christmas day and are hoping you will this year as we would love to come down. Had to miss last year due my dad being ill. Thankyou for taking the time to read and respond.
29 August 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Steve H | Property representative |
Wendy of course we would be delighted to host your wedding breakfast. We are flexible as regards opening, i am sure we can be available when you need us to be. We are always open by 8 am Saturdays and Sundays throughout the... More
0
Votes
Carol P
Can we bring our own alcohol?
17 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Steve H | Property representative |
Carol, we are licensed, but our choice is limited to 1 white, 1 rose and 1 red wine, becks, stella, bulmers and Pimms. We dont stop customers bringing their own alcohol, but would rather they use ours. Thanks for asking... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Delivery
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 353331
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing