We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
126 Hamlet Court Road | Westcliff on Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7LP, England
+44 1702 331666
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 99: English reviews
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We went for Teppenyaki for Sunday lunch, taking our two young children to try authentic Japanese food for the first time. We had the restaurant to ourselves, the staff were very warm and friendly, and we all enjoyed the chicken, beef, and seafood Teppenyaki, miso soup and some lovely sushi. Yes it's not particularly cheap but Teppenyaki is a great... More 

Thank Trevor V
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

I took 3 Korean engineers and another English engineer here this week. The Koreans have had difficulties finding good quality Asian food and Fujiyama has been their highlight. The food was excellent with a good selection of sushi which was beautifully presented. The tepanyaki was good fun also with the chefs flicking small pieces into our mouths of the hotplate.... More 

Thank Rob T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome experience of Japanese food. My boyfriend and I had teppanyaki on Saturday night 14th of January. Chicken Teriyaki and beef stake are juicy and fantastic. We also ordered some sushi and sashimi which is truly fresh and tasty. Nice stuff, fair price. We did enjoy that lovely diner.

Thank lianqian
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

Highly recommended! A perfect restaurant for all! The sushi starter was absolutely tasty! We had a teppanyaki and ordered chicken and salmon. The food was excellent! The staff were wonderful! Just tastes like Japan! Definitely will come back for the special occasion!

Thank abe C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Used to come here a lot, though under new management this place has really gone down hill. Firstly, the sushi we had for starters was pretty tasty but apart from that the meal was really disappointing. We came in for a teppanyaki as a family and ordered individual set menu dishes, the food was underdone and unprofessionally cooked, the chef... More 

2 Thank JJRo14
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

I only ever write reviews or exceptional meals or awful meals and unfortunately this was the latter. My parents have been coming to FujiYama for nearly 20 years we always have high expectations, unfortunately this was not met on my visit this evening. The sushi plates were quite good (apart from the 3 things they forgot) but the teppanyaki dishes... More 

4 Thank Jade R
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

I rarely write reviews but felt like I needed to warn potential customers. I used to come here quite often and I know it is under new management. Of course I didn’t expect everything to be the same but let me assure you – it is DEFINITELY not authentic anymore. They now have Korean items on the menu and even... More 

5 Thank mr-foodie1975
Management response:

Since all members of our team have more than 15 years experience of running Japanese restaurant, we really know how to manage a successful restaurant and what we are doing. Our Sushi chef is in top range of England and kitchen chefs not only can provide outstanding quality Japanese cuisine but also some Korean taste to customers. I am so... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016

The food on the whole was disgusting, the katsu currys were horrific smelling and even worst tasting. Moreover the prawns were not even cooked. I could no even tell the difference between the two types of gyoza. DO NOT EAT HERE OR ORDER

3 Thank Matthew J
Management response:

For a collection order from Justeat we really don't know what happened after you leaving our restaurant. I don't even understand what means "prawns were not even cooked?" You mean we gave you raw prawn? Our foods were served freshly. Why didn't you complain with us but put this kind of rumor everywhere if you really think our foods were... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Please be aware this is now under new management and is nowhere near as good as the original. We tried to order takeaway and JustEat called 20mins later to say they can't deliver as they haven't got time to make our food(!!)

3 Thank Michael H
Management response:

To be honest according to our 15 years of restaurant managing experience, definitely, to provide qualified food and good service we would control the volume of customer both on booking table and taking takeaway order. Since you were never our customer of neither from our restaurant or Justeat, how you can say we are not good as before? We never... More 

Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Highly recommended.Visited here few days ago and it was lovely. The restaurant was under new management ,the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered fujiyama sushi set and dragon roll,which got a very decent taste,the prices were reasonable and i must said it was the best sushi i had ever had.We booked teppanyaki at next saturday and couldn't wait... More 

Thank Ann W

Travellers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Brentwood, Essex

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 126 Hamlet Court Road | Westcliff on Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 331666

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from FujiYama staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?