We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
403 London Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7HU, England
+44 1702 300540
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon 18:00 - 23:00
Tue - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 389: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely family run restaurant . Good value for money. Not exactly Michelin starred but lovely nevertheless .

Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've had dinner twice here before shows at the Palace and both times had good value freshly cooked food. The restaurant is long and thin and a bit quirky - loved the mackerel!

Helpful?
Thank deerstop
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued custom and review :) More 

Southend, Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spend a lot of time in my apartment on the Algarve and was looking forward to trying O Picado. However, although the restaurant is very unusual I was disappointed with the service, the food was ok but I was charged for a bottle of red wine when I had only had one glass. When I pointed this out to... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulinejknight
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to read about your unsatisfaction . We specialise in traditional Madeira cuisine, we cater some of the most traditional Madeira/Portuguese dishes e.g.skewers, picados, feijoada, polvo vinagrete,grilled limpets,mackerel mollo vilhao,espada com banana/cebolado etc , bacalhau/ sundried cod a bras/ cozido/grelhado , chicken piri-piri, chargrilled chicken , grilled sardines etc etc etc . Don't... More 

Basildon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided to have a quick meal before visiting the Palace Theatre and didn't know where to eat. We hadn't booked and just walked in around 6.45pm. No problem for 3 of us. Ordered the house wine in red and a glass of rose - no complaints. I had the tomato soup to start. I can honestly say I've never had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne W
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valued custom and review :) More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Went here with some friends who were visiting and it was lovely. The place is charming and the staff very friendly. We had a bit of a wait for our starters to come out, but were quite happy making our way through the Sangria options on the menu. They were mostly very nice, but the Red Wine and Stout Sangria... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbstans
Level Contributor
268 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We had past this restaurant lots of times in the past but never been in, mentioned to some friends that we would like to try it and they said the same so off we went. Very rustic/quirky inside and being quite busy their was a good atmosphere with what I'm assuming was traditional Portuguese music playing in the background. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinLoS
Swarzedz, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

I love drinking sangria and this place has the best that I've ever had outside of Spain ;) Staff is very attentive, although one waiter had some issues with taking orders from us - he only got it from me and forgot my friends. Food is nice as well, big portions. One thing - it's really chilly in winter.

Helpful?
Thank evusick
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

A great little restaurant, full of character. The food is always good and reasonable priced. Great for families, party's and couples.

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued custom and review More 

Westcliff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

First time I have been to this Portuguese restaurant and was very impressed. Went for an unplanned lunch with a friend who has been there on a number of occasions. She recommended I tried the £5 lunch selection which was excellent. That and a very acceptable bottle of white wine was a great way to spend a lunchtime. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackrider
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Thank you for your prestigious custom and valued review More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We had an 8:30 reservation and at 10:15 they served our starters due to being overly busy with some large parties. They seem to have forgotten our order and they did not seem to get three people sat and not having been served any food. Given a free drink but maybe olives would have been better. As we were somewhat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin W
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this review

Hi Colin Here to apologise for your not so great experience with us last Saturday but also to thank you for your valued review. We treasure every review and use them as tools for further improvement to better business. I would kindly ask you and hope that this hasn't put you off from visiting us again as this isn't the... More 

Travellers who viewed O Picado also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to O Picado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 403 London Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 300540
Description
Traditional fresh cooked dishes of portuguese madeira island

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of O Picado and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from O Picado staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?