We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O Picado

403 London Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7HU, England
+44 1702 300540
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (42 reviews)
“meat skewers” (7 reviews)
“tapas” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
403 London Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7HU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

my wife and i decided to eat here pre theatre (Palace) , so was quite early on a Friday evening. we were seated in the 'garden' area, don't worry it's enclosed and warm! such a relaxing atmosphere, staff friendly and efficient, food was wonderful, seafood...More

Thank Jacqueline-T50
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is one of the best restaurants in our area. I cannot recommend it enough. The food is amazing. Low cost for great quality. Also the staff/owners are all so polite and friendly. Great atmosphere too.

Thank Sue P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having visited O Picardo several times previously (and subsequently reviewed it favourably) it was sad to have had such a terrible experience last night. We booked a table for 5 people (3 adults and 2 children) for my birthday. Upon arriving we saw a situation...More

Thank dru25
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer thank you for the alert review , it's with sadness I'm reading it trough , this is not the service we provide as you can see trough our customers reviews , unfortunately we had two members of staff off sick with limited time...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited O Picardo last Saturday evening. I made a reservation and we were greeted with friendly smiles. We shared mussels for a Starter. Delicious and plentiful. For main course we choose two different types of Estopardo Meat Skewers🍢🍢. Absolutely Superb. The...More

Thank eastaroadster
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your valued review and custom :) see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely family evening, made better by the good food and the friendly service. First time we've been here but it won't be the last. Thank you O' Picado :)

Thank Romapama
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your valued custom and review , see you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 October 2017

A relaxed, friendly and comfortably rustic environment with good service and reasonable prices especially as the portion sizes were on the large side. Unfortunately when we visited the garden area (that looked stunning) was out of service due to a toilet malfunction. That said staff...More

Thank C4JBE
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your valued custom and review . See you all again soon hopefully without the toilet malfunction so you all can get to enjoy the magical garden are :) thank you

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Never had a bad meal here. The set up is quite funny, traditional Portuguese uniforms & the decor is in theme. It's definitely not a fancy place but is perfect for a catch up & good food. Thumbs up

Thank 567oliver
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your valued custom and review . See you again soon :)

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Love the garden area, beautifully rustic hidden gem of westcliff. Menu is large, lots to choose from. Fish skewer was delicious, desserts home made. Bread homemade, lovely and warm. Fresh soups made daily. Children's play area is fantastic to keep them occupied while we wait...More

Thank Rodrigues88
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely valued custom and review . See you again soon

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We had a lovely lunch here today. Authentic Portuguese food in a casual and relaxed environment. The value for money for the lunch menu is truly amazing! Friendly welcoming staff too. Loved the kizomba Latin music playing too!

Thank Tanya W
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your valued custom and your lovely very appreciated review :) see you again :)

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely rustic Portuguese restaurant. Very knowledgeable staff who go out of their way to help you if needed explaining dishes on the extensive menu. Food was superb & plentiful. Great atmosphere when restaurant is fairly full. Couple of things that stopped me giving a...More

Thank Gazza S
fatima46, Manager at O Picado, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your valued custom and appreciated review we take every comment into consideration. May I just kindly let you know the 10% service charge goes to all the staff devided equally , (kitchen porter,chef waitress) as an extra reward for there...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Palazzo
335 reviews
.12 km away
Oldham's Fish Restaurant
293 reviews
.09 km away
Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant Westcliff
64 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chalkwell Park
102 reviews
1.20 km away
Genting Casino
134 reviews
1.26 km away
Westcliff Beach
75 reviews
1.01 km away
Argosy Toys
19 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lorna_Claire
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hugo R | Reviewed this property |
yes you can they have had few weddings there also baptism, birthday parties so yes you can
0
Votes
gazza8888
7 March 2016|
Answer
Response from fatima46 | Property representative |
Hi Shaun I don't know what's the problem coz I have answered you email saying yes we are open and confirmed your booking. Thank you
0
Votes
brian k
6 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from fatima46 | Property representative |
Hi there we do have lots of gluten free dishes in the menu e.g. Grilled fish , steaks , skewers , stews , vegetarians etc , but our homemade bread is not gluten free sorry . We accommodate lots of customers who eat gluten... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 403 London Road, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 300540
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional fresh cooked dishes of portuguese madeira island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing