We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
+44 1594 562189
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good37%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ice cream” (8 reviews)
“beef curry” (3 reviews)
“pie” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We spent a very pleasant weekend in Parkend visiting the Diesel Gala and used the Fountain as a local for drinks and meals. What a lovely comfortable place. Really nice friendly staff, great choice of beers and we enjoyed a delicious carvery on Sunday (only...More

Thank Cardiff_Jet_Setter
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed spending time with us and hope to see you again one day. Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 3 days ago

We ate at the Fountain Inn and I had the best fruity Lamb curry I have ever had in a pub. Lovely atmosphere and dog friendly in the bar area.

Thank 110margyw
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for reviewing your meal with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the curry and we'll be sure to pass your comments on to the chef. Regards, Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I agree with the previous favourable reviews. It was recommended to me by a local, who told me how popular in the area the food of The Fountain.

Thank Silas C
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal here and we hope to see you again soon. Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pre book as it's very popular. Good value. Tonnes of lovely veg including cauliflower cheese. Staff were lovely and so pleasant and helpful. Lovely fire roaring I could imagine if you were there in winter it would be lovely. Nice area outside by woods and...More

Thank fozzy1997
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this lovely review. We will pass on your comments about the staff and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with another couple as we were touring around the area. Had the two course set menu and couldn't fault it. Plenty of choice, with delicious options. Our party opted for fish, (three) and one pie of the day. All the food was fresh and...More

Thank Cherryannreece
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meals here and look forward to seeing you again. I'm afraid we could find no evidence of a smell in the stairwell, but we will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely lunch, very busy but service was very good. Everyone enjoyed their food. No problem with vegitarian and glutten intolerant, one of our party is and can cause problems in lots of restaurants. We will certainly be back.

Thank jeane12017
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to cater for your friends dietary requirements and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with friends for a birthday meal. Our food was fantastic three of us has the vegetarian option and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful even singing happy birthday to me. Special thank you to Ellie. We will definitely be...More

Thank Tessa B
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tessa, Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and will pass your comments on to Ellie. Regards, Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't recommend this place enough. We had a lovely warm welcome, amazing food, great service and my daughter had so much fun in the garden. We will defiantly be back!! Picture my daughter enjoying her ice cream

1  Thank hooksie89
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Two plus two dogs made welcome. Excellent seafood salad and chicken salad-large portions, very tasty. So popular haven't been able to get back in yet but will certainly do so if we can!

2  Thank Alan R
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Alan, Thank you for taking the time to review your meals here. We're delighted that you enjoyed your salads and look forward to seeing you again soon. Michelle and Alan.

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We were very happy with the food here, a nice menu and everything very well cooked and presented well. Parkend is also a nice village for a stroll around. We brought friends here for lunch and were not disappointed

1  Thank Ann G
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ann. Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. Really pleased that you found everything to be well cooked and well presented.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Miners Arms
460 reviews
1.61 km away
Nags Head
29 reviews
2.78 km away
The Butchers Arms
385 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Go Ape
294 reviews
2.55 km away
Royal Forest of Dean
470 reviews
2.98 km away
The Secret Forest
79 reviews
4.01 km away
Dean Heritage Centre
227 reviews
5.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
michellwhite
27 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Fountain_Inn | Property representative |
Hello, on Sunday Lunches we only offer a two course carvery. The carvery has 3 meats (beef, turkey and pork) and as many vegetables as you want. We also offer nut roast or quorn fillets for vegetarians and can cater for... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Parkend
  • Phone Number: +44 1594 562189
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to our award winning, family run, village inn. We're on a mission to offer the very best pub food in the Forest of Dean and on our menus you'll find a wide choice of quality home-cooked meals - ranging from steaks to curries and seafood. On Sundays, we also run a popular carvery from noon until 3pm. All our meat comes from butchers within 4 miles of Parkend and we support many other producers in the Forest of Dean. At the bar you'll even find local real ales on tap, as well as a wide selection of other beers and wines. We have disabled access and we welcome families, mountain bikers and walkers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing