We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cromwell Arms

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
+44 1794 519515
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 346: English reviews
Preston
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The maitre de was excellent, he was welcoming and attentive and it was obvious he genuinely wanted all visitors to enjoy their food. The menu choice was good with a specials board offering extra dishes. All food served looked and tasted very good, we ate duck, steak pie and fish. Lovely cosy setting with excellent service. Worth a visit if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blue B
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my wife went for lunch, had the 3 course for £15 lunch menu. The food was superb. Really well cooked. Service was very efficient and attentive. It's a cozy pub with a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely be back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank David S
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi David S, Thank you for your review of our new lunchtime set menu, we're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Hannah Slattery. More 

Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice food but service can be slow sometimes. We ran out of time and gave up the idea of desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Kathrina G
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi Kathrina G, Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts from your recent visit to us here on Tripadvisor. I'm pleased you enjoyed the food but concerned that you considered the service to be slow, i'll definitely be looking into this. Thanks again, Hannah Slattery. More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a table of 11 at the Cromwell for their New Years Eve party night and we all had a fantastic time. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the disco which enabled us to kick off 2017 in good fashion. The service was impeccable and all staff were efficient, fun and friendly. Many thanks to Hannah, Claire... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi Claire D, Thank you so much for your review! It was lovely to see you all and I'm so pleased you had such an enjoyable experience. See you soon, Hannah. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited here before Christmas for our staff Christmas meal and had requested gluten-free, dairy-free options at the time of booking. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and my requirements were catered for with the minimum of fuss. Before each course, the waiter explained to me what had been changed in my choice of dish to make it... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlestaffie
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi littlestaffie, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We take all dietary requirements seriously and every member of my team understands the processes in place to keep our guests safe from potential allergens. I'm pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your experience without worrying! Looking forward to seeing you again soon, Hannah Slattery. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute booking for a meal for four in the restaurant.Despite being only four days before Christmas they got us in. Obviously very busy with parties etc. But still managed to serve a very nice meal without undue delay. Good service and nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank 976tony
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi 976tony, We're so pleased we were able to find your space in the restaurant and you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again, Hannah Slattery. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

I enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Cromwell Arms last night. The food, service and entertainment ( live music) were outstanding. The staff could not have been more accommodating and I will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Horkana
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi Horkana, Thank you for your review of your dining experience over the Christmas period. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Hopefully see you again soon, Hannah Slattery. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

There is a sign outside the Cromwell Arms saying Breakfast 8-10am, so I decided to try it, what a great disappointment. I arrived at 9am, and was seated in the bar area, I was the only person. The server was pleasant and took my breakfast order which involved the normal English Breakfast. When it arrived it was awful, overcooked hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonip1966
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi jonip1966, Thank you for your review. We tried to cater to your request of everything on the full English breakfast being well done which we did check with you twice to make sure that this was the case. I'm sorry if it ended up being a bit more cooked than you would have preferred a well done breakfast to... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

Eat here as well as staying in the rooms. Staff were very helpful and attentive, all the food we saw being sent to other customers looked very well prepared and certainly smelt good. In relation to my own meal, whilst it was only the burger, it was well cooked and presented, tasty and not your typical processed frozen example. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Unclebuz
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi Unclebuz, Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience. I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy our restaurant and the fresh food we serve, definitely not food that we reheat in a microwave! We're looking forward to welcoming back for another enjoyable stay. Thanks again, Hannah Slattery. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Yes this is quite a nice pub, clean and tidy and the staff are very helpful. I had a vegetarian meal which consisted of beetroot, squash and lentils, mozorello cheese and mixed leaves. It tasted nice but some of the leaves looked old and a bit yellow. My partner had a game pie with chips and veg which looked very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill N
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jill N, Thank you for your review of your recent visit one lunchtime. I'm pleased my team were able to help you with everything you needed but I am sorry that our food missed the mark and wasn't up to our normal standards. Hopefully this hasn't put you off visiting us in the future. Hannah Slattery. More 

Travellers who viewed The Cromwell Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Romsey
  • Phone Number: +44 1794 519515

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cromwell Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?