We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cromwell Arms

$$ - $$$, British,
Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
+44 1794 519515
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
“sea bass” (5 reviews)
“chicken” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

In a nutshell - Nice pub, good food, great service. Good selection of roast options including chicken, pork or beef and a butternut squash and feta Wellington for veggies. One of our party opted for the chicken and was a bit disappointed that there wasn't...More

Thank Diane_Jan_2014
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Diane_Jan_2014, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit, we will definitely look into the possibility of adding stuffing to our chicken roast. Hopefully see you again soon, Hannah Slattery.

Reviewed 4 days ago

We were booked in as a family treat but our table was late being ready. The waiter was rushing about and the drinks service at the bar was slow. Even after we were seated it took ages to take our order. The food was very...More

1  Thank Malcybabe
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Malcybabe, Please contact me directly via email on cromwellarms@fullers.co.uk to speak about your experience further. Many thanks, Hannah Slattery

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This was our 4 visit and probably our last. The place has been taken over by Fullers and now ranks below a Toby in our opinion. The serving staff were great, helpful and pleasant but the quality of food has gone to an all time...More

Thank KitKat1207
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi KitKat1207, I'm sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. Please contact me directly via email on cromwellarms@fullers.co.uk to speak about the issues you have raised further. Many thanks, Hannah Slattery

Reviewed 6 days ago

The service was very good, however the food left alot to be desired. The chips were over cooked. The batter on the fish very fatty also plate swimming in fat. The mushy peas were mashed peas. There seems to be a pattern when pubs convert...More

Thank angela t
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi angela t, I'm sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. Please contact me directly via email on cromwellarms@fullers.co.uk to speak about the issues you have raised further. Many thanks, Hannah Slattery

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Cromwell arms on a Sunday, very hot sunny day so made use of thier lovely garden area. Garden isn't as big as photos lead you to believe, but is very pleasant. We checked into our room and were absolutely amazed, the room...More

Thank Charmayne J
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Charmayne J, Thank you for your great feedback, we're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Hannah Slattery, General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Catered for a big table last Friday , pub was busy , great staff very pleasant, lovly food , very good service , a great night

Thank Gilly B
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Gilly B, Thank you for your review! See you soon, Hannah Slattery.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, hoping to celebrate our anniversary with a lovely meal. The food needs a lot of improvement with presentation and taste. The beds need new mattresses, we felt that they were a bit lumpy and the duvets were rather heavy. Will not...More

Thank johnangie25
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi johnangie25, Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. Please contact me directly via email on cromwellarms@fullers.co.uk so that I can speak to you further about the problems you encountered. Hannah Slattery.

Reviewed 12 August 2017

What a cock up. From arrival to walking out of breakfast after waiting to be served for 20 mins. We made our feeling clear. Our starter was burnt, both mains inedible, saving grace ice cream.More

Thank Sandra N
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Sandra N, Thank you for accepting my offer for you to return with your friends at another opportunity when we communicated via email earlier in the week. It's a shame that you are still feeling disappointed and unfortunate that you have decided not to...More

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Another visit, this time the few little niggles were put to rest. Great service, interesting specials board, good portions overall good value for money. The meals were very tasty. Nothing negative to say at all :)

Thank mswep
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi mswep, Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon! Hannah Slattery.

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Nice pub staff very friendly but had a long wait for food if we didn't have to wait so long would have given 5stars would go again as hope it was a a bad night.Didnt stay at hotel as live in Romsely but loooks niceMore

Thank christine w
Cromwell m, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Christine W, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. Our volume has increased significantly over the past few weeks and we're currently working on ways to help reduce waiting times on food. Constructive feedback such as yours helps us to pin point...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Suan Thai Restaurant
246 reviews
.64 km away
Three Tuns
387 reviews
.29 km away
La Parisienne
427 reviews
.61 km away
The White Horse Brasserie
219 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Romsey Abbey
261 reviews
.74 km away
King John's House & Heritage Centre
79 reviews
.79 km away
Rum's Eg Gallery
38 reviews
.60 km away
Romsey Rapids Sports Complex
315 reviews
1.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cromwell Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Romsey
  • Phone Number: +44 1794 519515
  • E-mail
Description
A truly special place to drink, dine and stay at the edge of the picturesque market town of Romsey. The Cromwell Arms boasts locally-sourced specialties, a host of perfectly-stored ales and wines, and a fabulous marquee. It’s the perfect place to rest a while on the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing