We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnolia Lounge

The Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu New Forest Hampshire SO42 7ZL, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
+44 1590 612324
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good29%
  • Average21%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu New Forest Hampshire SO42 7ZL, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018

Afternoon tea Thursday 3rd May. High expectations having heard good reviews. Started with an amuse-bouche?! Why? and the selection of sandwiches. Usual traditional selection. Coronation Chicken, Salmon, Egg, and Cucumber. Tasted alright but nothing to write home about. After the sandwiches, the scones and cakes...More

1  Thank bart0nb0y
Andrew N, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments concerning your afternoon tea on Thursday 3rd May. I am a strong believer that feedback is so important for any business and we are always looking for ways to improve. I would like to address a few of...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Dire from start to finish I will start by saying that I am extremely cautious about writing a bad review as I know how damaging it can be but I wish that someone had done it before I paid £55 for two 'Festive' Afternoon Teas....More

Thank Vendue2
Andrew N, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I must add that we find comments, suggestions and opinions from our guests very helpful. Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your recent visit for a Festive Afternoon Tea....More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

It was very traditional so traditional it was uninteresting. The sandwiches were ok filling very nothing of note. cucumber - ham- smoked salmon and egg! The cakes consisted of a dry macaroon, a small cream eclair and a piece of carrot cake ! ( not...More

Thank UKsom
Andrew N, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Guest I was rather saddened when I read your review following your recent visit. Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you found the experience disappointing. As a long-established and historic hotel, we try hard to reflect this in our Traditional...More

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We were a party of four our friends having visited the Terrace Restaurant in the past. Our initial welcome was warm and friendly. Unfortuately the level of service by the younger members of staff was poor, we had to request fresh plates and had to...More

Thank maggierizz1
Andrew N, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies to you and your friends for the disappointment you recently experienced during your visit for afternoon tea. Whilst I was pleased that you were warmly welcomed and found the cakes to be ‘very nice’,...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Having spent a lovely day at the car museum and walked miles we had a stroll round the village and finished off about 6pm at the Montague Arms Hotel for a drink and relax in their pleasant gardens, the staff are polite , but their...More

Thank graypower2015
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We didn't actually stay here, we just popped in for a cup of tea and what a very nice place it was too. Fabulous gardens in which to sit in or there was plenty of room inside in the oak panelled roomsMore

Thank Tony B
SunilKanjanghat, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Guest Many thanks for your time to write and post your review to this website; it is very much appreciated by us all. I was so pleased to read that you found the Montagu Arms Hotel ‘very nice, with fabulous gardens’. Our gardens are...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I visited here in late April as part of a day cycling around the New Forest. We stopped here for lunch. The menu was limited and my food - soup - wasn't great. It wasn't very hot and it lacked in flavour. The pub garden...More

Thank Antony_of_Surrey
SunilKanjanghat, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stop for lunch, I hope you enjoyed a wonderful day of cycling. I am so sorry that you felt the menu was limited and found the soup not to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, you haven’t indicated if you brought...More

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Attentive staff, beautiful and faultless food to start with an amuse bouche followed by a lovely variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes, and accompanied with champagne. Whilst being local, it is always a treat to come here.More

1  Thank Debo V
SunilKanjanghat, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Guest Many thanks for finding the time to write and post your review and awarding us five stars following your visit for afternoon tea. I cannot help but agree with your remark that cream tea should not be reserved just for the summer! We...More

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Hi we booked this as a Diamond Wedding Anniversary treat for my parents,although the welcome was warm, the staff were not attentive , not once did anyone ask if the food was ok the staff seemed to be more interested in the other guests who...More

Thank Liz B
SunilKanjanghat, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Guest Since your review, I am so pleased that my Food and Beverage Manager, Pierre has been able to personally get in touch with you via email. Please again accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt following your visit for Afternoon Tea....More

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I have a tradition of going out for afternoon tea just before Christmas, we like to go to different venues near us in the New Forest. We visited the Montagu Arms on a rainy afternoon, the welcome was very warm from our...More

Thank Tracey D
SunilKanjanghat, General Manager at Magnolia Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for sparing the time to write and post your review following your visit for afternoon tea before Christmas. I was delighted to read that you received a warm welcome from Paul and found the lounge ‘very comfortable’, the service ‘very good’...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Magnolia Lounge staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Montagu Arms Hotel Beaulieu New Forest Hampshire SO42 7ZL, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Brockenhurst  >  Beaulieu
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 612324
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing