We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

$$ - $$$
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
441582764624
Website
Today
09:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 09:00 - 23:00
Thu 09:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

8 of us visited for brunch last Sunday. One of the worst restaurant experiences- slow slow service and terrible food. The breakfasts were stone cold, the poached eggs were more like boiled eggs, the toast wasn't even toasted! Just lightly grilled. Drinks took ages to come out, staff forgot our requests for sauces. A friend ordered a burger and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SofiaIqbal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the slug for the first time since it's been done up. Place inside looks nice but the service was so slow! It took us over half and hour to get a drink at the bar and I got there I was told I couldn't even have the drink I wanted to order. Looked like there were only 3 or... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhiteS95
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to us. To be able to investigate this matter further could you please contact us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com with the date and time you visited, Also state what drink you were trying to order. Kind regards Micah Taffurelli Deputy Manager More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an total waste of a refurb. We waited for bloody ages to be served and was ignored persistently by a staff member putting glasses away. This left one staff member hurriedly trying to serve everyone - She deserves 5* for Trying her best in difficult circumstances. We ordered 2 burgers a Double G&T (BOGOF on gin) coke and some... More 

Helpful?
Thank James D
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi James, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to us. If you would please email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com Informing us the date and time you last visited, I can go fourth and investigate in house and find out why the service you received was so poor. Also investigate why the food was at such... More 

Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love the slug and lettuce in Harpenden, whether I'm going for a meal or just some drinks. I come here quite often. The food is always very good quality and the menu has a wide range of dishes. Attentive and speedy service. The cocktails are always really tasty and beautifully presented, they are also buy one get one free,... More 

Helpful?
Thank geocxm
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We really do value all our feedback from customers and do all we can to keep this venue up to standard. We are glad you enjoy your visits to us and our cocktails. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The Slug team More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped into the Slug for a cuppa this morning nice catch with my niece home from uni and the smell seeping out around the toilet area was diabolical. Me thinking this isn't right I mean it's a scruffy old place at the best of times ....needs a deep clean. Told the manager and his answer was " well it's better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gina S
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Gina, We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your last visit to us at The Slug and Lettuce, Harpenden. In regards to the smell, we have had contractors out to rectify the problem but unfortunately it is a drainage problem with our next door neighbour. Hopefully they will get it sorted very soon. The answer... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Visited the pub on Saturday night at 6pm before going to a show at the Public Halls. We only had the choice of seats at the very back of the restaurant as all the other empty tables had reserved signs on them. Long wait at the bar to get served only two staff, but only one seemed to be serving.... More 

Helpful?
Thank butterfly40_10
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit on Saturday night. Unfortunately the tables and chairs do get moved around and stored away on Fridays and Saturdays as we have a DJ that plays every weekend and we have to make room for them as well as creating a mini dance floor. I understand... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Came for a catch up drink with a friend, haven't been to this slug since moving away and was thoroughly satisfied. The revamp is great and really brings the place to life and the staff were fantastic! The barman in particular, Ashley was incredibly charming and catered to our every need (not to mention easy on the eye). I am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgie M
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Jorgie, Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. I am very pleased that the staff made you feel welcome and done everything to make your visit here unforgettable. We hope to see you again soon. Micah Taffurelli Deputy Manager More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly but we were kept waiting to place our order. Hot chocolate took ages to arrive and had a very chemical taste. The table could have done with a good wipe. The toilets were disgraceful. Two ladies cubicles, one toilet had no seat and the floor was wet. In the other there was mould around the sink and on... More 

Helpful?
Thank jever-01
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Jever, I am extremely sorry for the experience you had on your last visit to us here at The Slug and Lettuce,Harpenden. On the day in question we were extremely short staffed due to illnesses and there was also a farmers market on in Harpenden which always gets extremely busy, we usually have enough staff to compensate the amount... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Went in for lunch and immediately noticed all the staff sitting around at the back of the restaurant. They were having a very nice time chatting to each other. I sat down with my fiend and waited for them to serve us. This never happened so I had to go and ask them to help. They told me that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Addabr
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Addabr I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience with us, please can you let me know the date and time of your visit so that I can investigate this with the team that was working at the time? Our email is: slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com Kind Regards Heather More 

Kingswinford
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Staff really don't seem too bothered about customers in the slightest. Huge wait for the food to actually come out, no cutlery OR Condiments bought out, had to go and ask for them, asked for vinegar twice and still not bought over, ended up going and fetching it myself from the unit where the staff fetch the condiments. food itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank JakeOrangeST
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Jake, Thank you for your feedback, as always it is very much appreciated. We would like to apologise for the staff shortage we are experiencing at present. We are currently in the process of employing more staff members and will hopefully have an adequate level as soon as possible. Unfortunately our 50% stopped around 6 months ago, but we... More 

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 441582764624

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?