We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
+44 1582 713817
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed Sunday Lunch, even though it was Mothers Day and exceptionally busy the staff made us very welcome, the food was great and was served nice & hot, Great Menu and price, well done The Fox as Always

Helpful?
Thank maddiebee2017
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to the Fox for Mothers day lunch and it was fab. All the staff were very welcoming and the service was very efficent and attentive. We had the set 3 course menu and it really was worth every penny of the 25 pound per head. Thank you to all the staff for making it a Mothers day to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Debbie B, I'm absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a great Mothers Day lunch here at the Fox. I will pass on your comments to the entire team who worked on the day, and we all are looking forward to seeing you back at the Fox over the coming months. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

First but certainly not last visit to The Fox. Always looked busy so treated my mum to lunch there. Strongly advise booking because it was packed so glad I phoned ahead, you can also book a table online which is good. Fantastic choice on the menu and daily specials looked very tempting. The food does take a while to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Many thanks for your very kind review. This past weekend was an extremely busy and testing one for the whole team, and reading reviews such as yours really do make it worthwhile. I would like to once again apologise for the errors that affected your orders, and I'm very thankful you allowed us to rectify the situation and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

On a rare date night we couldn't be bothered to venture too far so opted for a guaranteed winner and the Fox delivered as usual. Chateaubriand with a good Malbec and super service (didn't get his name but young lad who wAs excellent all night). We will be back and can wholeheartedly heartedly recommend it!!!

Helpful?
Thank SteveBalham
Michael R, Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Many thanks for your review following your visit this past Wednesday! I am so glad that you enjoyed our Chateaubriand and especially happy to hear you like our Argentinian Malbec! A fine pairing for dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fox very soon as the weather improves. Kind regards Kieran More 

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located between harpenden and luton the fox is a lovely pub/restaurant and is well worth a visit. In winter the log fire is lovely. In summer the outside space is brilliant to while away an afternoon in. A meal there is also very tasty. Gastro pub.

Helpful?
Thank PSeathP
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi PSeathP, Many thanks for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Fox over the coming months More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never fails to disappoint with its great food and service. Brilliant for all occasions. Staff are very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank cathyhalloran
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Cathyhalloran, Many thanks for your very kind review. Its great to hear you have enjoyed your visits to the Fox. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for lunch with two friends. Service impeccable and the crab and lobster fish cakes are not to be missed! Car park can be a bit muddy though, needs resurfacing. That was the only negative thing though. Great place to take a friend to lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm delighted that you were so happy with the service and food. Our new Lobster Fish cakes have really gone down well with all our guests. In regards to the car park, we are currently in the process of getting the whole thing resurfaced,... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We prebooked our table but on arrival had to wait to be seated. My daughter had the vegetarian pie which I do not like so the waiter suggested I would be able to an abundance of vegetables, but what I actually got was green cabbage, cauliflower cheese and some roast potatoes at a charge of £12.95, oh but not forgetting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne F
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Yvonne F, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to the Fox. I'm extremely disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to the standards you have come to expect from us here at the Fox. In regards to the service, we are continually training and retraining our staff, as... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant many times! Tonight ordered Chateau Briande..... awful! Manager was not in any way accommodating! £100 for rubbish meat. Bad move - "Fox -Harpenden'

Helpful?
1 Thank sj-60-Hank
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi sj-60-Hank, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to us here at the Fox. I'm extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the quality of your Chateaubriand on this occasion. As said at the time, we will be certainly taking all the points you mentioned on board, and forwarding... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well chosen menu, not your average pub food. High quality, fresh produce.. sitting area outside and very pleasant sitting area next to the fireplace

Helpful?
Thank Ana B
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this review

Hi Ana B, Thank you very much for your very kind review. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$57 - US$57
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 713817

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fox and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?