We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paper Mill

) #9 of 139 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead $$ - $$$ , British,
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good39%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (7 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The paper mill has a selection of sandwiches available on their lunch money and also scampi and chips. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch though the fries with the sandwich were a bit skinny and soggy. The scampi came with proper chips so was much better. It's...More

Thank cheekyface27
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for leaving us such a nice review, We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A hungry cyclist, my son, needing refuelling and this pub/restaurant was perfect. Quick service, excellent pricing. Seating indoors and outdoors. Great range of drinks. Parking too.

Thank Caroline B
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Caroline, Glad we could be of assistance for a tasty pit stop, We hope to see you again soon! Many thanks for such a positive review!

Reviewed 6 days ago

We ate at The Papermill a couple of years ago and regretted very much that we chose to try another restaurant the second night of our stay..instead of just going back to this one.. so with this in mind we booked here looking forward to...More

Thank Anniversarycouple210
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us, I just wish you had let us know when you had visited us so we could fix what ever the problem was. Hopefully we will see you again, Kind regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We regularly visit after work - we like the atmosphere and the view while sitting outside next to the canal. We always used to order the nachos as they were so delicious but they seem to have changed and definitely for the worse sadly! Why...More

Thank shortsinallweather
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you letting us know your thoughts, I will gladly pass on your comments to our suppliers and equally to our chefs, I will also pass on your compliments to Katie, Kind regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten at the Paper Mill on several occasions and have always found the food to be fantastic and the staff friendly and helpful

Thank Margaret G
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for such a great review, We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated on the bank of the Grand Union canal, the Paper Mill is a lovely two-storey pub that serves bar food and has a restaurant on the upper floor, with a balcony overlooking the canal and surrounding area. We went there for an evening meal...More

Thank Lee D
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lee, Thanks for taking the time to write to us and letting us know that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Many thanks again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Were staying across the parking lot at the Holiday Inn Express so came over for dinner after a day at Harry Potter Studio Tour. Have to admit we were exhausted - service was good, but dinner was average. A few of the specials were sold...More

Thank Kara H
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kara, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Apologies of some of our specials not being available when you visited us. We do everything fresh so sadly sometimes during busy services the specials do sell out due to popularity. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was recommended it as staying in a Premier Inn nearby because we went to the Harry Potter studio Tour. Great location, quite busy but very helpful on phone when I called to ask if worth popping in as a lovely summer evening and knew it...More

Thank bohogirl
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts, I will pass on your comments to the team. Thanks again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a good meal, and good staff, everything was good, yet the food was lacking considering the price.

Thank Ben M
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ben, Thank you for taking the time to write to us, I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the chefs. Thanks again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the restaurant here for a birthday celebration so had to book. Excellent food and great location by the canal. Would definitely be going there again.

Thank Denise G
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Denise for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Street Cafe
6 reviews
.68 km away
K2 Balti House
386 reviews
1.26 km away
Bull Rodizio
273 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Snow Centre
1,460 reviews
1.28 km away
Frogmore Paper Mill - The Paper Trail
70 reviews
.74 km away
Planet Ice - Ice Rink
52 reviews
1.23 km away
XC
47 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vickykaur
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from furryhamster | Reviewed this property |
Yes, a car park. Leave your reg at the bar. Also very close to Apsley rail station and canal. Nice to cycle too along the canal.
1
Vote
Anne P
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
You need to get in touch with the Restraunt direct I can't help you sorry
0
Votes
Ian C
5 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maura J | Reviewed this property |
Suggest if you have allergic or dislike of pepper that you contact the Paper Mill direct. I have never experienced an issue with excessive seasoning.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing