We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
+44 1442 213594
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 507: English reviews
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

have visited three times - the first two visits we congratulated ourselves on a good find - however our visit in January has stopped us going again. The waiter was rude, the food disappointing and it was obvious the staff - who seemed to be a different team - where more engaged with a management visit who were taking photos... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snoutybird
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Snoutybird Thank you for taking the time to write a review, since your visit in January we've had a bit of a shake up with a new head chef and new management team. We can only apologise that your previous visit wasn't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. The new team here would love to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have to start by saying that I am not one for writing a review, but after my experience at the Red Lion I thought I just had to! It was fantastic from start to finish! What a beautiful pub/restaurant, with a lovely space outside perfect for summer. The open kitchen was great, the place felt fresh and the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank LottieAndrews34
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear LottieAndrews34 Thank you so much for your lovely review! Phil is obviously thrilled that you enjoyed his service, we're looking forward to seeing you again in the pub soon Best wishes Emily & The Red Lion Team More 

UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location and reasonable ambience - but poor lighting. Overall the place looks tired. Waiting staff do their best, but drink take too long to bring to the table Excellent soup of the day, and sour dough bread. raw materials in the caprese, Pizza mediocre - really expect better at the price. Will not visit again.

Helpful?
Thank PPPPPPPP
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear PPPPPP We're sorry to read you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We'd love to know a little more about your experience with us, at your convenience please could you email us at theredlion@oakmaninns.co.uk Looking forward to hearing from you Best wishes Emily More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a nice place to relax, eat, drink and enjoy great service! Plenty of free parking, good outside dinning area and a nice indoor restaurant. The food is excellent and the timing of service, was spot-on! Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Davidiboard
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Davidiboard, We're so glad to hear you loved your experience here with us! Make sure you say hi next time you're in Looking forward to seeing you soon Emily & The Red Lion Team More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We used to eat here quite a lot until the prices went through the roof so decided to pop in for a coffee on a sunny morning, after a long wait(apparently there's a coffee que?) we were served a cappuccino and a latte which were amazing, in fact we ordered two more as it was such a lovely day, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank FloydOnForever
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi FloydOnForever, We're thrilled you love our coffee, as do our other regulars hence the queue! While there team set up for service there if sometimes a bit of noise, sorry if it was a bit off putting for you Looking forward to seeing you in the pub soon Best wishes Emily & The Red Lion Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hard to know where to start ! We were a party of 7, - our starters - which were incredibly overpriced consisted of 3 tiny prawns for £7.50, a tiny portion of calamari for a similar price (and at the bottom of mine was a cooked chip!) & tomato bruschetta which was basically a slice of bread with a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasper1993
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Jasper1993, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we take all feedback on board as we continuously strive to offer the best service. As our floor team explained on Friday, we can only apologise you found a chip in you calamari, this is obviously not to our usual standard and is something that Chef is reviewing.... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely Pub, restaurant Staff amazingly friendly. Food very good. Atmosphere fab. Beautiful garden with assorted seating and tables. Large outside BBQ area. Very SUNNY SPOT when the sun is shining. Will be back soon

Helpful?
Thank Lulu Amelia D
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the glowing review; when the sun is out, there's nowhere better, but we're also pretty good when the weather is grim too! We look forward to having you back with us again soon. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was great, just the right balance between poncy and stodgy. There was a fair wait between the starter and main but to be honest that's no bad thing, so many restaurants chuck food at you to get you out within 2 hours, it's nice to relax. Also i have no idea how people can say this is over priced,... More 

Helpful?
Thank GWH83
OISite, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review, I will share the great feedback with our staff. We pride ourselves on having delicious, locally sourced fresh produce and all our food is cooked to order, so glad you felt relaxed in our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your first visit and look forward to welcoming you back again... More 

UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This used to be a good place. Now, it is very expensive, but doesn't have the service or quality of food to match the prices. Most recently, our (certainly last) visit involved all four of us having problems with the main courses, some of which had elements missing entirely, The arrogant waiter was told about the issues and did exactly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PDgooner
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hello PDgooner Thanks for getting in touch. All feedback is welcomed by us as we use it as a means to improve ourselves. We regret it seems your last visit to us was not a true representation of how we do things. We will bring your comments to the attention of the team. We apologise for the fact that you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was a lot better before it started speciallsing in pizzas but I still eat here occasionally. Last night I ordered fish and chips at £13 which is hardly cheap. For this I got what I can only describe as a child-sized portion of fish with a commensurate amount of chips. To make matters worse, the waitress spilled about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hello Christopher S Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry to hear you feel your meal was small and apologise that the waitress did not replace the spilt chips. However, we'ew pleased to hear you enjoyed your food. We prepare all meals from fresh ingredients and consequently the price reflects this. We hope this... More 

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 213594

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Lion and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?